We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks service and character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We selected this hotel from a Tour organised by Riviera Travel to take in Bayeux, Honfleur and Arromanche and which gave a choice of a 3 star and a 4 star hotel. We chose the 4 star.
The Tour was terrific value for money and very interesting and informative. The Hotel was disappointing and certainly not what I would have expected for a 4 star accomodation.
When we arrived the whole of the reception area was in the process of being renovated. Whilst I appreciate this is necessary , we were not informed and were not given the option of moving elsewhere.
There was no mini bar nor safe in the room, which otherwise was of comfortable proportions although the A/C struggled to keep the temperature down to reasonable level especially during the warm nights.
We were supplied with paper cups for the tea/coffee facilities and the glasses were those horrible thin gauge plastic variety. RE-supply of coffee was sketchy. The bar steward was very helpful with a proper supply of containers and also copious quantities of ice (to keep the water cool of course!).
We ate dinner once in the dining room as on the Plat du Jour menu there was only a choice from 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 desserts. The menu changed every 2 nights.The Maitre D' had forgotten cheese was an option ( there were of course many restaurants in Rouen providing excellent fare at reasonable prices and within a 15-20 minute walk).
The swipe card room entry ran out of activation 1 day before we left and just added to the many small inconveniences that together relegated this hotel to no more than a 3 star in my estimation.
A footnote for the good folk of Rouen. Please sort your taxi service out. Euro 6.86 minimum fare is not acceptable, nor is the fact that in the evening, taxis are rarely to be seen anywhere near the one taxi rank in the town centre, necessitating in a walk back to the restaurant for them to call one out.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeCee817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thanks for your comments , usefull for us

JL Hossin
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel as part of a group. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel was not as close to the town as we had been led to believe, and with mobility issues this proved a little difficult. The reception area is still being refurbished (we had the impression the decorators were quite slow!) but the newly decorated bar was pleasant and relaxing. Breakfast was adequate but up imaginative - very limited choices and an antiquated toaster which took at least 10 minutes to turn bread into toast.... The room was large and beds comfortable. The service staff left us either tea bags or milk, but not both on the same day - not a big problem but disconcerting. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times, the food and service were excellent. Overall this is a good hotel, but because of the distance from the town we would probably use the more central Mercure if visiting Rouen again.

Room Tip: Our room at the back had a nice view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014
Google Translation

Notre hall est actuellment en rénovation encore pour quelques jours.
Le centre ville est à 10 minutes à pied de l'hôtel où vous pouvez laisser votre voiture au parking en toute tranquillité.
JL Hossin
Directeur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

When a hotel is remodeling its lobby, it might consider doing something a little extra for guests. Arriving at the hotel, noone was to be found at the make-shift concierge desk tucked away in a corner. I finally found the concierge on duty, and he was courteous, friendly and genuinely tried to make the one night stop over a pleasant experience by pointing out the 'son et lumiere' show at the cathedral at 10 p.m. Nice touch. In the morning, I had the bad luck of getting a concierge at check out who clearly struggles with the levels of courtesy one would expect at a hotel. Somehow the fact I was given an invalid exit ticket for the car park was my fault. That noone answered the buzzer was my fault also. To top it off, her explanations of how to get onto the Calais route (I probably was not the first one ever to ask for a map) were so inadequate that I spent half an hour navigating the Rouen one-way system to get onto the road to the Channel. For the hotel really simple: employ staff that want to be in the people business. And for the traveler - probably better save the odd Euro, book next door in the Ibis, run by the same group, and don't endure a building site with surly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the Champ du Mars. They're away from the main city road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sol500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

You always know what to expect with a Mercure and this delivered it. It was easy to find and had a large underground car park. Despite the hotel lobby being re-developed around them, the front of house staff were friendly, helpful, and polite. The room was spotlessly clean and had a lovely view out the back of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmg513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

we are pleased you spend a good time in our hotel

JL Hossin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Mercure Rouen Champs de Mars suffers from one unfortunately fact - its location is terrible. The front of the hotel faces a busy street with little parking and difficult access. The back is on a park which is lovely. It is quite a distance from the old part of the city which wouldn't be bad but for the endless cobblestones which makes walking difficult.

The hotel itself is nice, even with the current renovations going on in the lobby. The rooms are a decent size with good storage (closet space and shelving). For a change, it was nice to find a hair dryer that works exceptionally well. It is a bit difficult to get into and out of the tub in the double rooms, however.

Only two compliants. There was an employee in the bar who spoke not a word of English. I speak decent French, but she could not understand what we needed. When we hit an impasse, she simply walked away. It was the only downside to the visit. Secondly, we had to log into the wifi over and over and over again. It said it was good for 24 hours, but we had to log in everytime we opened the phone. It was an annoyance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back, facing the park. Enter and exit by the rear into the park for quicker ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Your comment is very usefull for us

many thamks

JL Hossin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Haven't stayed at a Mercure before, but on this basis of this one, would certainly use them again; for a mid-range chain, it was good.

There are 2 Mercure hotels in Rouen; we picked this one as it is not right in the heart of the town but is within easy walking distance. We stayed for 2 nights & the purpose of our visit was to explore Rouen.

We had a "Privilege Room", which was very spacious, with a sitting area & facilities for making tea/coffee. The decor was fine. Big comfortable bed. Nicely fitted-out bathroom. The bedroom was at the back & I would recommend that because it is quieter - there is a busy road in the front of the hotel.

Large spacious dining room, nicely decorated/furnished. We also had dinner at the hotel on the 2nights we were there & I must say that I was impressed - on both nights we opted for the daily-changing menu, which had a good choice & the food was well presented & well cooked. I don't know what the standard of cooking is usually like in Mercure Hotels, but the chef at this one can certainly cook! Breakfast was fine - all the usual things.

The hotel was undergoing some work in the reception area when we stayed, so a room was not in use; not sure if this room was the the bar or what, but anyway, whilst we were there the bar was in a sort of add-on conservatory, which was ok but a bit basic. The reception area is somewhat drab, but hopefully this will be improved as part of the refurbishment.

Staff were helpful, although I would just mention that there was no-one on reception when we arrived & it took a while to get someone; that doesn't create a good first impression & I would say to any hotel: Never leave your reception un-manned.

Underground parking is available; not the easiest to navigate & some spaces are a bit tight, but it's secure & on-site, which is good. It's not cheap though!

Lots of business people were staying & they all seemed satisfied with the hotel.

Overall, we were happy with this hotel - not a lot of character, but it fitted the bill for what we wanted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

many thanks for your comments

JL Hossin
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We selected this hotel when visiting Rouen because we needed secure parking with a large, classic car and were concerned about access comments on Trip Advisor regarding the city centre hotels. Access to the underground car park was tricky here too but it was quite empty on this, a Sunday afternoon so we managed fine and it wouldn't be a problem for an average vehicle and is certainly secure!

However, on entering the hotel we felt we'd gone back in time to the 1980s and not in a good way! This Mercure is the worst of the many we've stayed in and is undergoing a refurbishment programme in the foyer which is clearly too little, too late. We had not been told about this in advance.
The room was spacious and clean but tired, in poor decorative order and the room service was unavailable on this Sunday afternoon despite the room service menu saying otherwise! The restaurant was closed until the Monday evening so no refreshment of any type was available! If you've ever been in France on a Sunday afternoon then you'll be aware that there are no restaurants open! We were aware of this which is why we chose the Mercure over the Ibis which shares the building! The irony was that the receptionist offered us a pre-wrapped, processed sandwich or suggested the vending machines in the Ibis next door!! We didn't check this out but ate the food we had left in the car and took a nap!

We then set out on the 15 minute walk into Rouen old town, as lovely as I remembered it to be but still a 'ghost town' until 1900 when some of the bars and restaurants started to open and we were able to eat and drink happily.

We slept well but with the only option for breakfast next door in the Ibis which was really crowded (or the same two sandwiches we'd been offered the day before!) so we checked out and walked into town again to a 'Paul' bakery (always good).

The car park is charged hourly, which we did know, so we were able to leave it there and return later to collect it.

With hindsight the Ibis would have provided us with the same car park, no building work or builders on Monday morning, better facilities and probably better rooms all for less money!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjmutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Louis H, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Our restaurant is open EVERY nights during summer and breackast serve until 11 AM every morning

JL Hossin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
1.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
1.2 mi away
Ibis Rouen Centre Rive Droite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel

Address: 12 avenue Aristide Briand, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range: £71 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 minute walk from the historic city centre with all shops nearby. Hotel with 139 quiet, spacious and airconditioned rooms. Restaurant and bar. Meeting facilities. Rooms for guests with limited mobility. WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Champ De Mars Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing