We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I had to move to this hotel from another fantastic hotel in Rouen and perhaps that was why I felt a bit let down.
I stayed in the older part of the hotel, the room was very large, but felt slightly dated & sad. There was renovation/construction happening next door and this woke me up very early one morning.
The location is fantastic as I could walk to a number of great restaurants in the vicinity.
The breakfast started a bit late and I had to leave for work early every day so I could not experience that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancoisK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear FrancoisK71,

We would like to thank you for this comment on Tripadvisor and we hope to see you soon in our establishment.
Best regards.
C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

A very smart, modern, clean and tastefully decorated hotel, but, oh! What a difficult place to find! Rouen is a mass of one way streets, bus lanes and pedestrian zones. You need a very good map to get there - don't rely on your GPS.

Once there, however, you are right in the shadow of the cathedral and ideally located for sightseeing, shopping and eating out. The hotel has its own underground parking and you get a coffee machine in your room. My only other criticism is that neither room service nor bar were available between 29 December and 6 January, something I think the hotel should have notified us about in advance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SherwoodSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear SherwoodSal,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.
According the hotel access, we know it can be difficult and we are sorry about that. We are completely dependent on the city council. We asked for more road sign but it seems impossible. So, the only solution we have found is to send a detailed map to guest or to guid you by phone until the hotel when you arrived in the city center. We really apologize and please, be sure that we try to do our best to solve the problem.

For future guests, please, do not hesitate to indicate the "Rue des Arsins" on your Satnav to facilitate your arrival.



The staff and I wish you a very nice day.

Best regards.

C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

excellent location. very confortable room; nice bed and breakfast (not included in rate). There was a problem to find the hotel, because it's impossible to find by GPS. We have to stop the car and find the hotel walking. We also have to pay to park the car inside the hotel (not included in rate), remembering it's impossible to park in the streets at least three blocks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Rodrigo,
We would like to thank you for this comment on Tripadvisor.
We know that the hotel access can be quite difficult and we are very sorry about that. The staff tries to do his best to facilitate your arrival by phone if necessary.
We hope to see you soon in our establishment.
Best regards.
C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel might be hard to find by car - we were walked to the hotel by our tour guide. It is quite close to the big Cathedrale, and located near all the shops and restaurants. Rooms were good sized, bathrooms were also. Lots of hot water - very clean and quiet. I did not have a great view out the window, but who cares - I was never in my room except to sleep and shower. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't have a chance to eat at the restaurant.

Room Tip: I had a room towards the cathedral, but there was another building in front of it. While the view w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LALKCMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear LALKCMO,

We thank you very much for this comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and I will share your satisfaction with my staff as soon as possible.
We hope to see you again at the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale.
Have a nice day.
Best regards.
C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank HawksMan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed here Christmas Eve and it is a very nice comfortable hotel. It is however very hard to find if driving. The hotel has a private underground car park so instead of putting in the hotel street name into your sat nav you should put in Rue Des Arsins. This will take you through some very small narrow back streets and you'll probably question whether cars should be going done here. You'll eventually come across a very small pink sign saying mercure, the car park entrance is also small. We spent about an hour going around the one way streets trying to find it, stressful to say the least. The hotel itself is very nice though. I agree with some of the other reviews that the decor is a bit tired but it didn't bother us as it was spotlessly clean.
We booked a suite and was given room 306. This is a corner room with split level with a very big comfortable king size bed and a double sofa bed. Sofa bed was a bit creaky and not overly comfortable and would prob be suited more to children than adults but it was fine for one night. The room overlooked the cathedral and where the Christmas market was.
We were given robes and slippers and bathroom products. There was also a coffee machine, kettle, hair dryer and minibar with soft drinks in.
As it was Christmas Eve the hotel bar was closed and there was no catering either which was disappointing but I think the hotel was very quiet so prob not much demand for it.
If coming to Rouen for Christmas I would advise booking dinner for Christmas Eve as most places shut. We found an Indian restaurant which more than suited us but if you want something more traditional then you must prebook and be prepared to pay set prices which ranged from €70 to €379.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cattarzipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is a good hotel. It's a pain to access as you either have to walk through a cobbled, pedestrianised area, or find it in a car through a one way system. However once arrived it is worth it, as you are smack in the middle of all the lovely shops and restaurants Rouen has, whilst having almost no traffic noise. The breakfast is excellent - massive selection. Rooms not massive but OK, bathroom fine. The only criticism was that the hotel is looking tired - carpets, wallpapers etc bit soiled. The staff were generally good, in particular those at breakfast, although the housekeeping manager was rude when I complained that my bedspread was soiled with what looked like old blood stains - it was. Accor/Mercure managers - invest a but more in this hotel please.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Iris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.5 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.3 mi away
Hotel De L'Europe
Hotel De L'Europe
#12 of 52 in Rouen
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel

Address: 7 rue Croix de Fer, 76000, Rouen, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rouen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
#5 Family Hotel in Rouen
Price Range: £78 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of Rouen, at the foot of one of the most beautiful cathedrals in France, the Mercure Rouen Centre is an ideal hotel for exploring the attractions of this medieval city including the Old Market Square and the Gros Horloge clock tower.The hotel features 125 soundproof, airconditioned rooms, including 4 suites, WiFi in all areas, bar, room service and meeting facilities. Ideal location, not far from the station, in the peaceful pedestrian area of Rouen. Private pay car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel Rouen
Accor Rouen Centre Cathedrale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing