We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location , location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Location, location , location.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed only one night here on a visit to Rouen. The hotel was very welcoming and the room was clean and modern. The carpet was a a bit old and faded but pther than that no complaints. The breakfast was very good. One word of warning if you plan to stay here. It is extremely difficult to find if travelling by car. Also the underground catr park is quite a challenge if your car is larger than the average. Things to be aware of but overlal a good value hotel.

Room Tip: A privilege room may have a balcony looking out to the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear StuartLiverpool,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay.
According the hotel access, we know it can be difficult and we are sorry about that.
We are completely dependent on the city council. We asked for more road sign but it seems impossible. So, the only solution we have found is to send a detailed map to guest or to guid you by phone until the hotel when you arrived in the city center.
We really apologize and please, be sure that we try to do our best to solve the problem.
For future guests, please, do not hesitate to indicate the "Rue des Arsins" on your Satnav to facilitate your arrival.
The staff and I wish you a very nice day.
Best regards.
C.POMAREDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    715
    258
    69
    36
See reviews for
203
724
74
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel located in a very nice and comfortable area that have all you need as shopping , a , supermarket, and a lot of restaurants, cafe , and more. the hotel is right near the cathedral.

Our room was very nice with a view.
The hotel is very clean and modern,
The staff is very professional and very very nice and helpful .
the hotel parking is very comfortable and cost 15 eur a day.
The WiFi is free in the public area and in the room.
We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 85Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear 85Danny,

Thank you for this comment on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome again at the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathédrale.
We wish you a very nice day.
Best regards.
C.POMAREDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed a total of 4 nights, 3 in a suite snd 1 night in a prestige room. Both rooms were spacious, clean and with the little additions of toiletries, robes and a good coffee machine. The breakfast is extensive and worth the price. The staff were all wonderful and so helpful. The hotel is in the best location for exploring Rouen, shopping or dining and is about a 5 minute taxi ride from the station. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Tip for travellers -ask for a prestige room on the 5 floor with access to the roof balcony area, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Elizabeth C,
We would like to thank you for this comment on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you had a good stay in the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale and I will share your satisfaction with my staff as soon as possible.
We hope to see you soon in our establishment.
Best regards.
C.POMAREDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

While on business our first choice had no room. We chose to stay at Mercure Rouen Centre allowing us the opportunity to find some place to have supper late at night walking distance. Well located within the centre of Rouen, as a tourist, you have the opportunity to walk or use public transport to see the town. A beautiful town from Medieval Europe where Joan of Arc was executed in 1431. Many buildings were destroyed during WWII. The town has been rebuilt and it is interesting to see the buildings from various centuries.

The hotel:
make sure you get well acquainted with the streets before you set out. Have a physical map, it will help, because Rouen has changed many streets (directions and bus only routes) making it a real nightmare to get around by car. the hotel is located within an area which has limited car access. You need to drive up to a lane. You will see a silver post with a yellow or red light. The lane is blocked with steel posts which go up/down to control local traffic. if light is red you cannot pass. press the button, when the light turns yellow the steel pylons should go down allowing you to drive up the lane. be careful as another car may try to get through and there are always bikes and pedestrians.
The Cathedral is a good landmark to help you find the hotel
the hotel had not yet switched to air conditioning as the French still find it cold (overnight of 9 C and daytime of 16-18 Celsius) but not for most Canadians or northern state Americans. An old building that heats up very quickly with sunshine and body heat. I was unable to get a good night sleep. I had the hotel replace the bed covers with simple linens and had them leave my windows open during the day.
The carpets need to be replaced.
The rooms and hotel are very clean.
Good toiletries provided (soap, shampoo, etc.)
Room is small which is quite normal in European hotels but well laid out
The shower has limited water pressure with some days almost none.
The bed was on the firm side but comfortable for me
Breakfast at 16-18 Euro (from what I recall is expensive) but fortunately lots of bakeries within walking distance as of 7h00 am
Most front desk personnel are very friendly
French or English communication is simple. One of the benefits of Europe, getting access to service in several languages is usually not a problem (particularly larger towns).
Make sure you do not have a large car. Parking is a challenge. An underground garage below the hotel with a very steep slope. You need to get close to the garage door to press a buttun to get in. To get out, you need to take the garage code to open it. DON'T FORGET IT each morning....it changes believe it or not!!!!! If you forget it you will be stuck on a slope, unable to open the car doors in the tight passage. You will need to let car roll back one level to get out and go up to the lobby....INSANE process!!!!!! Lucky for one gentleman, I had the code and ran up to put it in. We were 3 cars lined up with nowhere to go.
For the price this would not be my first choice. For visiting the town it is a good choice but beware of access to the hotel and INTO the hotel garage. parking in local streets is difficult and metered.
Great access to restaurants and shopping
Lots to see historically

Room Tip: I prefer a room away from street side to avoid sound of car traffic. One of my colleagues who had s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canadians_who_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Canadians_who_travel,

Thank you very much for the time you take to post this comment on Tripadvisor.
We hope to see you soon in our establishment and we wish you a very pleasant day.
Best regards.

C.POMAREDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domremy-la-Pucelle, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Posh, clean and streamlined, but no heart - and no soul.
I hate it when I get the feeling that as a guest, I am only a necessary evil in order for the hotel to make money. It started when I booked the room and the guy who made the reservation sounded like a tape recorder, speaking fast and technical about all the details of the reservation. Hard to keep track of it all, and impossible to make him slow down. Quite annoying. Later it also became very evident was that he failed to answer the one question that really mattered to me: How do I get there?

Rouen is quite complicated traffic wise with plenty of dead ends and one way streets. I was told to simply plot the address on my GPS, but neither of the addresses listed on the website worked on either of my two devices. Thus, I kept driving in circles for 20 minutes in the middle of the night, and couldn't get in touch with the hotel for directions, either. No answer on the phone. Great...

The address that worked was Rue Arsins and in the end, and I got help from resources outside the hotel to get there. The hotel have parking in the basement (13 E pr night). The breakfast was the most expensive I've had on me week long trip in France, it was nothing more than average.

The view from my room was the upside of the visit, overlooking parts of the cathedral.
If visit Rouen again, I'll be sleeping somewhere else...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiveNorwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear LiveNorwegian,
Thank you for this comment on Tripadvisor. We are sorry if you did not enjoy your stay and we take your remarks into account in order to improve our services.
I will tell the call center manager about your booking.
According the hotel access, we know it can be difficult and we are sorry about that. We are completely dependent on the city council. We asked for more road sign but it seems impossible. So, the only solution we have found is to send a detailed map to guest or to guid you by phone until the hotel when you arrived in the city center.

For future guests : please do not hesitate to ask for a map prior to arrival or indicate the "Rue des Arsins" on your satnav. With this information, it would be easier.

We hope that we will be able to regain your confidence during a futur stay.
C.POMAREDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a second time when travelling down to Spain for Christmas 2013. Hotel has a great location in centre of Rouen and there was lots going on in the town when we stayed. Parking is easy, although quite tight, but we have a large estate car with a roof-box and still managed to park easily enough. Rooms are very clean and of a good standard, and reception staff are friendly and helpful. The receptionist was happy to recommend a local restaurant for dinner, and this turned out to be very nice. There was a Christmas market on in the town centre, and we enjoyed looking around this and having the odd glass of Gluevine!

Overall I would rate the hotel as excellent and we would definitely stay again.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank City_Diner_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for this comment posted on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your second stay at the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale. It is a pleasure for receptionnists to guid you to the best places and the best restaurants of the town. And, as you said, the Christmas market is very nice for guest who visit Rouen in December.

We hope to welcome you for a third stay in Normandy so, do not hesitate to contact them if you plan a new trip.

We wish you a very pleasant day.

Best regards.

C.POMAREDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Very clean rooms and friendly staff. Nice to have a kettle in the bedroom, often not the case in France. Good breakfast which was included in our offer, otherwise you would have to eat an awful lot for it to be worth 17€... We slept badly both nights during our stay, as our room looked out onto the rue Croix de Fer, and the windows were very poorly soundproofed- we could even hear people walking down the street, not to mention the drunks shouting throughout the night! We were not informed that there was a charge for the car park beforehand, so this came as a nasty shock on leaving...

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Fran W,

We thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry if you did not enjoy your stay and we hope that we will be able to regain your confidence during a futur stay.
Best regards.
C.POMAREDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.5 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.3 mi away
Hotel De L'Europe
Hotel De L'Europe
#14 of 51 in Rouen
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel

Property: Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
Address: 7 rue Croix de Fer, 76000, Rouen, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rouen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
#5 Family Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of Rouen, at the foot of one of the most beautiful cathedrals in France, the Mercure Rouen Centre is an ideal hotel for exploring the attractions of this medieval city including the Old Market Square and the Gros Horloge clock tower.The hotel features 125 soundproof, airconditioned rooms, including 4 suites, WiFi in all areas, bar, room service and meeting facilities. Ideal location, not far from the station, in the peaceful pedestrian area of Rouen. Private pay car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel Rouen
Accor Rouen Centre Cathedrale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing