We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location although frustrating to locate on GPS.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in privilege room on 4 th floor with terrace and view of Cathedral. Small but adequate well equipped with good air con and nespresso machine etc. Bed good. Breakfast surpassed our expectation and was very good. Parking car a nightmare as very small and not for the nervous!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D1DBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear D1DBH,

Thank you for this comment on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay, your room and the breakfast.
We hope to see you soon in our establishment.
Have a nice day.
Best regards.
C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had a little difficult finding the hotel but when we did it was worth it! We have a large car but it fitted into the car park beneath the hotel. Fabulous central location close to the Cathedral and all the shops and restaurants. Very comfortable room and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We have a room on 4th floor with balcony and view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear linwik,

Thank you very much for this nice comment on Tripadvisor. We would be pleased to welcome you again.

Best regards.
C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is so centrally located! It is a bit confusing to get to the hotel if you don't have a GPS. If you are also unfamiliar with navigating European streets it can be difficult. It's a lot of narrow alley ways and little streets. But once you find it, there is a parking garage underground and you can just park and leave your car alone until your ready to leave the city. The cathedrale is a 2 minute walk away. It also opens into a quaint shopping street and across the alleyway there is a mall and more shopping. My room was quiet and clean. The air conditioning was a little weak but we got a fan from the front desk and we were fine.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globe_trotter818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear globe_trotter818,

Thank you for this comment on Tripadvisor.
As you said, the location of the hotel is very nice because it is closed to all the activities of the city. Guests of the Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale can enjoy theit stay without a car.
We hope to welcome you again in our establishment and we wish you a very pleasant day.
Best regards.
C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It is worth researching the route on Google street view before driving to this hotel,put in Rue des Arsins, once you find this its straight forward. The car park is a challenge, ensure you go to the right level either for large or small vehicles, mine is a VW Tiguan and was no problem, worth the 14€ per night. Reception staff were helpful. We didn't use any of the hotels facilities but they looked OK. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the hotel entrance. The a/c wasn't at all effective necessitating opening the windows. The noise at night was quite intrusive. The local vagrants seem to congregate in the cathedral graveyard close by and make the ocassional commotion, not the hotels fault but still a bit of a pain. Driving from the hotel towards Calais is quick and easy.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Leigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Leigh O ,
We would like to thank you for this comment on Tripadvisor.
We hope to see you soon in our establishment.
Best regards.
C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is literally round the corner from the cathedral and is perfect for exploring Rouen. Our room was big with plenty of room for all of our luggage. However, the air conditioning barely worked, disappointing considering it was the hottest day (and therefore muggiest night!) of the year up to that point in France. The rooms are a bit 'tired' and grubby, particularly the bathrooms. One thing that struck us was the lack of decent lighting. Only one side of the bed had any controls for the lights which were themselves few and far between. The room was therefore rather gloomy and pokey, not helped by the view from the window of a rooftop and 3 walls of other buildings. The bar area is comfortable and the barman we met on our first night was incredibly helpful, telling us about the light and sound show at the cathedral (a must-see) and generally being friendly and chatty. The staff at breakfast were excellent too (as was the breakfast itself. Really impressive) but we found other staff to be rather officious and unwelcoming. The main problem with the hotel is finding it. The address given will not get you there using GPS. We spent an hour driving round and round Rouen with our sat-nav trying to send us down many one-way or blocked off streets. In the end, I rang the hotel and during a conversation with a rather rude receptionist we were given another address. She was less than helpful with explaining the parking which involves driving down a very steep slope into a very narrow garage. There are different sections for large and small cars but it's tricky to get round. However, the fact that there IS parking in the centre of the city is amazing! Not too pricey either. Overall, the hotel is reasonably priced considering its fantastic location and the breakfast on offer, and for that reason we would recommend it, but there are definitely some improvements to be made.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Baggage16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Baggage16,
Thank you for this comment on Tripadvisor. We are sorry if you did not enjoy your stay and we take your remarks into account in order to improve our services.
We hope that we will be able to regain your confidence during a futur stay.
Best regards.
C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

When I first visited this hotel some years ago, it was a lowly 2 stars. It now makes claim to be a four star establishment. I am straining to understand how it reached that status. Ah! The smell of of mothballs when I get out of the elevator! I suspect that it's the tatty carpets that give it a strange aroma. Our room was at the far end of the corridor on the second floor in what appears to be a (connected) annex to the main building. Our room, on a corner overlooked the side of the cathedral. This is very quaint, and, from the outside, I can see that this part of the hotel is indeed, a half-timbered appearance. In the actual room of none of the windows can actually be opened. This is a problem, as, on the night we visited, it was a very warm evening, and the "air conditioner" did nothing more than lamely recirculate the air with its fan. A dividing panel in the centre of the room, split off the (large and v. comfortable) double bed, and a sofa. The centre panel housed a large tv which swiveled according to your preference: the bedroom, or the sofa. Housed below this was a mini bar fridge. I turned the fridge off as the condenser was only adding to the heat of the room. In an L-shaped configuration, the bedroom leads off from the living room area to a very gloomily lit bathroom. The shower arrangement is one of those slide up and down a pole jobs which one can never get quite right for a proper shower. OK, let's talk about THE biggest problem. It is the garage. it was obviously built in an era when cars were about 30cm narrower and 60cm shorter than many are today. In order to get it into AND out of the hotel's underground car park you will need: nerves of steel, and an ability to negotiate a space of less than a centimetre when turning corners within the spaces. If you own a 4x4 don't even THINK about bringing it into the car park! it'll never happen. Also, most satnav instructions practically give up trying to tell you how to get to the hotel. I would give this establishment a miss unless you are coming by train and hauling your own luggage. Also, be sure to get to the breakfast room well before their cutoff time of 10 am otherwise there'll be a Gallic shrug. If this SHOULD happen to you, turn left out of the hotel, walk up 10 metres to the intersection of Rue de Croix De Fer and on the opposite corner on the right is delightful little boulanger where they do the most fab croissantes and hot coffee. All for 4 Euros! Magnifique! I would be more inclined to grade this as a three star aspiring to BE a four star job.

Room Tip: Overlooking the cathedral, although all are quiet at night as it is a pedestrainised zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Michael F,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are sorry if you did not enjoy your stay and we take your remarks into account in order to improve our services.
According the hotel access, we know it can be difficult and we are sorry about that.
We are completely dependent on the city council. We asked for more road sign but it seems impossible. So, the only solution we have found is to send a detailed map to guest or to guid you by phone until the hotel when you arrived in the city center.
We really apologize and please, be sure that we try to do our best to solve the problem.

For future guests, please, do not hesitate to indicate the "Rue des Arsins" on your Satnav to facilitate your arrival.

The staff and I wish you a very nice day.

Best regards.

C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, good value hotel overlooking the Rouen cathedral. Lovely to hear the bells ringing each morning. Easy to walk from the Gare SNCF, but also has a parking garage right underneath. Lots of restaurants & shopping nearby so skip the expensive breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Mattgabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe P, Directeur général at Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Mattgabe,
We would like to thank you for this comment on Tripadvisor and we hope to see you soon in our estblishment.
Best regards.
C.POMAREDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.5 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.3 mi away
Hotel De L'Europe
Hotel De L'Europe
#13 of 52 in Rouen
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel

Address: 7 rue Croix de Fer, 76000, Rouen, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rouen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
#5 Family Hotel in Rouen
Price Range: £77 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of Rouen, at the foot of one of the most beautiful cathedrals in France, the Mercure Rouen Centre is an ideal hotel for exploring the attractions of this medieval city including the Old Market Square and the Gros Horloge clock tower.The hotel features 125 soundproof, airconditioned rooms, including 4 suites, WiFi in all areas, bar, room service and meeting facilities. Ideal location, not far from the station, in the peaceful pedestrian area of Rouen. Private pay car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel Rouen
Accor Rouen Centre Cathedrale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing