We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, very good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western De Dieppe
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were pleased with our stay at the Hotel de Dieppe Rouen. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet and, although not spacious, met our needs for the two-night stay. A good breakfast was provided and the staff members were courteous and friendly and always willing to give assistance, when required. The hotel is very convenient for arriving by train, there is a good patisserie around the corner and the starting point for the walking tour described in Lonely Planet is nearby. The town centre is just a short stroll away. We ate at the hotel’s Bar and Grill both nights and had a beautiful meal on both occasions (we had the two course special which was really good value); the service was excellent. We would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ElizaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Direction_TripA, Responsable relations clients at Best Western De Dieppe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Eliza,

Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor regarding your experience at BEST WESTERN Hôtel De Dieppe.

We really appreciate that you had a nice stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your diners a our bar « Le Dieppe » and found the whole staff professional and attentive. This is very important to us.

We will be pleased to welcome you again during your next holiday in Rouen.

Yours sincerely,

Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

I chose this hotel because of how close it was to the train station. We were arriving from Paris after an overnight plane flight from the States and then an hour & a half train ride. I knew we would be exhausted and this would be a very short walk from the train. But this hotel was more than that. The room was roomy and looked recently renovated. The bed was very comfortable. Our room faced the train station & it got a bit noisy at night, but not terrible. The bar & grill downstairs in the lobby (odd, but it worked) served an excellent Prix Fix menu that was so good we ate there both nights. The sights in Rouen were an easy walk from the hotel, 10-15 min and then taking our next train was a minute walk across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekejdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Easy to find as it's right next to the sncf train station. Parking is tricky. The hotel has a deal with the car park opposite where you can pay 7 euros for a 24H stay. If not parking in the street is 50cts for half an hour. The hotel has been painted a hideous pink/purple colour on the outside ground floor so it looks more like a nail bar than a hotel. The Inside is a typical old style French hotel complete with concertina and mesh outer lift. The lift wasn't working when we arrived which was OK for us as we got upgraded to a better room ( on the 4the floor!)If you are in a wheelchair then be warned - no lift - no room (!!) as there are no rooms on the ground floor so check before you go if you're going in the next week or so to this hotel.
The room itself was all in black, red and silver which was OK. The design of the shower isn't great as the water ends up going all over the floor no matter how you stand. The matress was excellent and we slept very well.
The breakfast is a buffet with bread croissants cold meats, cheese and all the regular stuff.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the old historical part of Rouen which is really lovely.
A convenient location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Check that the lift is working if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davbratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I was only going to spend one night in Rouen as part of a roadtrip throughout Normandy. I found the hotel to be good value for money and the rooms were modern and clean. The bathroom was especially nice. The area is a little shady at night but by no means I felt scared or anything. During the day you are close to all the tourist attractions, no more than 15 minutes walk.
The hotel's restaurant seemed to be very well known by locals as it was full of them. In summary if you just need somewhere to stay for a couple of days in Rouen without frills this place does the job.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fgrajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

There are many things that you would enjoy when they are described as hot and noisy. However, a hotel room is not one of those things. In defence of Hotel De Dieppe, we chose it for 2 reasons 1) it was easy to find and 2) it was dog friendly. Arriving as we did in the early hours of Saturday morning, we had an interesting drive to the hotel because as I peered from the car window looking for the turning, I attracted a lot of attention from the many 'ladies of the night' plying their trade. While the hotel has parking, there are only about 10 spaces so we had to look for a side street in a neighbourhood in which I was nervous about walking the dog. We had a friendly welcome and while the lift was out of order, since it appeared to be a prize exhibit from an antique lift museum, we were happy to take the stairs. The room appeared to have a slope away from the door and because it had no ac we had to leave the window open and had constant noise from this busy spot near the railway station. When we left the next day, after a very bad sleep, I observed to the reception staff that the room was very noisy. She agreed but said that it was the result of its location. True, I suppose.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benedick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The convenient location led us to BW Hotel de Dieppe (across from the rail station). The desk staff was so helpful to us. They stored our luggage since we ended up with some time for extra sightseeing but would have had to carry our luggage through the city and it was raining. We are so grateful for how they helped us and made sure that we had a beautiful time in this quaint city. Merci to the BW Hotel de Dieppe!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JROFinCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We chose this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. It is very handy to the railway station (just across the road) and also very handy to access all of the city of Rouen.

Reception staff were always friendly and helpful and spoke English well. I only speak a little French. Our room was on the second floor and whilst a little dated, it was comfortable and clean. There is a small elevator next to reception to take your bags up. It is very small and really can only fit one or 2 suitcases and 1 person.

The bathroom for our room was quite large. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. Wasn't a big fan of the small bathroom hair and body wash provided and a better quality product could be chosen. We travel with our own products for this exact reason.

Yes, there were some imperfections with the room, however it was comfortable and clean. This is not a 5 star hotel and if that is what you prefer then I would suggest you look elsewhere.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and the breakfasts were excellent. A good selection of cereals, meats, cheeses, yoguhts, croissants, baguettes, jams, etc etc were provided. Also served with nice coffee etc. The lady who was on duty at breakfast time during our staff was friendly and efficient.

The restaurant in the bar area of the hotel is excellent and serves lovely food for dinner. They hotel also has a more formal restaurant, however we did not eat there. It looked lovely and is apparently well known in Rouen for its excellent food.

The room was also very quiet to outside traffic noises. The windows are double glazed and we didn't notice any traffic noise.

The hotel also offers free wifi. We used it regularly and it was excellent.
All in all, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curfew156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel De L'Europe
Hotel De L'Europe
#15 of 52 in Rouen
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
1 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western De Dieppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western De Dieppe

Address: Place Bernard Tissot, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range: £67 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western De Dieppe 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Managed since 1880 by the Gueret Family.The restaurant "Le 4 Saisons" famous for the "duckling press". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western De Dieppe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rouen
Best Western Hotel Rouen
Rouen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing