We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, room and breakfasts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, room and breakfasts!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Hotel de la Cathedrale faces the side of the Rouen Cathedrale on a walking street. The hotel is built around a cute little courtyard which our room faced onto. The room was well done in French country style and was clean and sufficient in size. The room was quiet from street noise, but not from the halls, so it was fortunate that the other guests were quiet. Be sure to breakfast there! The breakfast buffet is wonderful and the breakfast room is lined with windows overlooking the flower-filled courtyard. A great way to start the day. Everything that we wanted to see in Rouen was within easy walking distance from the hotel which is good because driving in this town, with it's one way streets can be a trial.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    162
    78
    29
    17
See reviews for
67
172
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Personally I expected a little more from Rouen on our family trip to the area of Normandy. For me the attractions of Rouen can be seen quite easily in a day and there are far more beautiful places around worth the time with better accommodation options. If you are travelling with family the options in Rouen are limited or far from the city centre. If I could plan the trip over again I would stay somewhere else and visit Rouen on a day trip. This hotel is very tired and probably the most basic I have ever stayed in. A large bolster was placed on my daughters bed without a pillow slip and it was covered in stains it remained like that for our two night stay. The breakfast dining room is quaint and I have to say when they replenished the food choices the breakfast was of good quality with excellent coffee. Shabby chic this hotel is not its desperately in need of up grading and new flooring.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kizzy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Nice hotel, next to the cathedral. Quirky rooms. We had a double with an extra bed, it was very specious. Extra seat in the room. Bathroom needed some maintenance, loose tilles. Very "french" decorated. And in the bathroom we had Japanese art..... :-)
Funny breakfast area with hotel cat. Just an authentic hotel not everything is perfect, but that's the charme. If you want spotless perfection go to one of the big chains like Marriot.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabGNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had a room overlooking the pretty courtyard. So had minimal noise from the outside. The disturbance came during late evening and the night when you can hear people in the corridor and in the adjoining room....VERY clearly! So we had disturbed nights all through our stay. Otherwise it's a great little hotel, almost in the shadows of the Rouen cathedral. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby and near the central shopping area. (Ladies, Rouen is a great place for shoes and handbags!) We did not have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on that but the staff was friendly and helpful. Their wifi was on the blink when we first arrived but they got it sorted by the next day. Signal strength in the room is not great but adequate for simple searches and emails. Our room was quite small and the bathroom was a long, narrow affair with a shower at one end. Needless to say it was just too small to have a bath. Housekeeping was a bit erratic. One day they came really late, while we were having our early afternoon rest. They just offered us some fresh towels and left. When we got back that evening, we found that they did not make up our room. Not impressed.

Room Tip: Very poor sound proofing......pack your ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zimbazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We went just recently to Rouen for a two night break with friends.My friend had booked the hotel and I must say it was not my first choice as there was no on site parking.However,this didn't prove to be too much of a problem.
She chose the hotel for its proximity to the cathedrale and centre ville.
Now, the hotel is typically French,rather old fashioned and quirky.There was some wear and tear and many fixtures and fittings were well in need of updating but our room was perfectly clean and presentable.
We had basic double rooms.Ours was at the rear and overlooked the little courtyard,our friends had a room in the front overlooking the narrow street.As we were there on a Friday and Saturday night they said that there was street noise well into the early hours. Our room was quiet apart from the noise of the lift.
The bedroom itself was not large,but had a good size comfortable bed with clean linens.There was a single cupboard a dressing unit and a console with flat screen t.v. on.We had one chair but no table.
The shower room was rather a mixture.I think the wash basin and unit had obviously been replaced.This had plenty of shelving and a cupboard and drawers below.The shower cubicle itself was dated.with a plastic curtain.The shower,however was adjustable and the water temperature was fine.We had two hand towels and two small bath towels but no mat.
The lavatory was awkward.It was outside the shower room and had been fitted into a cupboard with two doors to open to access.It was a tight squeeze.
The wifi was good.
Downstairs,the breakfast room was lovely.Each table was set out with pretty table cloths and large cups and saucers. There was a good selection of cold things like cheese,ham,boiled eggs, Yogurts,cereal,bread,mini croissants etc. Several fresh fruits were available.I really liked the fact that they had a container of oranges for you to squeeze your own juice. I thought it was worth the 9.50 euros.
The location of this hotel is great.When you exit and leave rue St.Romain you have a direct route to the right along rue du Gros Horloge to Place du Vieux Marche with its many bars and restaurants. Going up the other way on rue de la Republique you have the underground car park within 5 mins and nearby is another area with many little local restaurants.
I would return here if I needed to stay in the city centre but would possibly upgrade to a larger room.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor overlooking the courtyard rather than the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummygaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We arrived here after a long trip by bus and train from Etretat. We booked based on location and price - of course.
The hotel is certainly well located and in a very interesting lane-way full of boutique shops and historical alley-ways.
It is also well-located to the Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Rouen, Jeanne d'Arc Church- monument.

We were unimpressed with the room-location - again we scored the stairs! I am not sure if it is because we book via booking sites as opposed to direct with the hotel but we seem to find ourselves with the lesser-type-rooms in doing so.

There is an elevator but we were stuck on the top floor which did not have elevators and right on the alley-way which was noisy - rooms 25 and 24. Room 25 had the smallest entry I have ever seen, if you are over 5 feet 7 inches beware.

In saying all of the above, the room was clean, warm and the service so far very pleasant and friendly. Again, the location and price is unbeatable. The breakfast area was quaint and over-looked a courtyard.

Room Tip: There is an elevator but we were stuck on the top floor which did not have elevators and right on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I agree with the earlier review that the hotel has a "shabby-chic" vibe. For instance, the wallpaper above the bed was clearly worn where the former head-board had rubbed against the wall. The room was clean otherwise so the wallpaper issue just seemed to add character. The bathroom was surprisingly large.

The staff was very helpful especially since I arrived later than expected.

Room Tip: Garden views are lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shtina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#18 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
1.0 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.2 mi away
Le Vieux Carre
Le Vieux Carre
#13 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cathedrale

Property: Hotel de la Cathedrale
Address: 12 rue Saint Romain, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Cathedrale 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cathedrale Rouen
De La Cathedrale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing