We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky & unique” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Cathedrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Cheshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quirky & unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here for one night recently and would definitely recommend it. This hotel has its own character, is in a great central location and had a very comfy bed! The room was decorated in a traditional style with some modern facilities - was clean and spacious. The staff were polite and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buzbyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    153
    75
    27
    17
See reviews for
67
162
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hotel is in a great location near the Cathedral but a little difficult to find. It is down a little street behind the Cathedral and not particularly well signed. I would suggest that people wanting to stay there use Google Street view to find it first. There are lots of great restaurants close by and the breakfast served in the hotel is very good value for the money. In fact it is probably one of the better 'petite dejeuners' we enjoyed in France. A wonderful garden lounge to enjoy a cool drink in the gardens. Parking is a bit of an issue until you get the swing of it. We used an underground public parking lot and walked the 2 blocks back to the hotel. It was fine as you don't need a car to get around Rouen.

Great hotel , very friendly staff, good prices , the only thing missing was Air conditioning.

Room Tip: Try to get on the upper floor as the rooms seem to be a little bigger, at least ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed for one night. The location is great and the building itself has such potential. Unfortunately, our room wasn't up to much and wasn't particularly clean.
Most frustrating however, was the attitude of the staff. I don't expect to be treated like royalty, but we felt like unwelcome guests and an inconvenience to the staff. Reception closes at 9pm, and the staff member explained this to us at 8:55, whilst turning off the lights around us.
A smile costs nothing, but this really wasn't worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penfoldbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rouen hotels

Seattle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in late July. Good location behind the Cathedral. Quiet room. Very nice courtyard. Helpful staff. Did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food. Unfortunately, the floor of our room had not been cleaned and there was a dirty towel lying in the hallway overnight. Don't miss the cathedral light show starting at 11PM!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MikefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was in my opinion not worth the money. Room was very dated and can't access easily by car. Breakfast was very good. Would have preferred a Mercure with a more modern bed. Pillows were awful. I am a pillow snob and they had these long round things they tuck under the sheet with no pillow case. Yuk. Beds very small. I always travel with my own pillow and was thanking God on this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bearflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here two nights during a quick getaway from Paris. I chose it for its location, it is right next to the cathedral and within walking distance of all the attractions and the train station.
I thought it a bit overpriced for the minimal comforts. A fresh breakfast buffet costs extra. There is a tiny inner courtyard that is nice for relaxing and reading. They do speak some English at the front desk.
The room had the basics but it never felt clean. I'd see a hair on the covers and genuinely question whether it was one of ours. The blankets had that recently slept in smell on our first night. And the hallways stink of dust and mildew. It's such a charming little hotel, but it could use a nice dowse of bleach.

Room Tip: If possible request a room on a higher floor. It can get noisy next to the street and courtyard. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pacislander81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We chose to stay in Rouen as we were visiting a French friend. We chose the Hotel de la Cathedrale for its location in the centre of town. It was fairly easy to find after a few wrong turns and it pays to study a map in advance and locate a nearby carpark.The hotel is in keeping with the old part of the town and our room was at the top of some narrow stairs, so having light lugggage helps! There is a pretty courtyard on the ground floor but it was too cold to use even in June! The wifi worked fine. Our room was a superior one and was quiet, clean and comfortable. The decor was typically french. We had breakfast the following morning which was buffet style. It was adequate but nothing out of the ordinary. It was a little more expensive than all the other hotels on our trip.

Room Tip: Choose a superior one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosita061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#14 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.2 mi away
Le Vieux Carre
Le Vieux Carre
#13 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cathedrale

Property: Hotel de la Cathedrale
Address: 12 rue Saint Romain, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Cathedrale 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cathedrale Rouen
De La Cathedrale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing