We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a break on the way to normandy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Cathedrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a break on the way to normandy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

travelled with friends and fortunately the hotel map was first class, so hotel easy to find. at first it seemed it would be in a noisy part, but no bells and quiet during night. receptionist very helpful. the only drawback was our room was on the 3rd floor, and being pensioners it was very difficult to carry bags up winding stairs. room adequate, pleasant courtyard garden to relax. couldn't be nearer cathedral and hotel advised on a very good restaurant l,auberge.
good value for money all round. but check room position before booking. the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: avoid having to take luggage up flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcwwta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    153
    75
    27
    17
See reviews for
67
162
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We aksed for a triple room wich was nice even if the third bed was not an excellent one for a young adult. The hotel is located in a quite street and very near to the catedral and center of the city which is very convenient. Nice breakfast but wifi was not relaible in our room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dominik125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We came across this charming little French hotel when exploring Rouen's medieval streets. From the outside the Hotel de la Cathedrale is located on a cobbled narrow historic street and has lovely grand wooden doors at the entrance. We went in to ask the room rates for the night, not having looked the hotel up on Trip Advisor (!) and were told they had a small or a large double available. We opted for the small and it was ideal; filled with a combination of traditional French furniture (dressing table) and modern amenities (flatscreen tv). The double bed was large and comfortable, I experienced no noise during the night, only the church bells around 8am.
The bathroom is fairly basic but everything we needed. There were also tea and coffee making facilities which was a bonus. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located very centrally and there are lovely restaurants and shops within minutes' walk.
Had I read the reviews of this hotel before staying here, I may have been put off, however I would highly recommend this as a base from which to explore what this beautiful city has to offer.

Room Tip: We were in room 12a and experienced no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
402 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our recent experience with this hotel was a disaster. The street looks like a war zone with all the construction underway for the Abbey (workers start early so there is no sleep in), staff were very unhelpful, the location of the hotel is in the seedier part of Rouen with the main hotel doors locked at 9pm, the Wifi was not working - even though we complained server times and was assured by reception staff "it is only because everyone is using Wifi at this time" the hotel is very hard to find with GPS due to the streets being vehicle free, the nearest parking is approx 300 metres away and finally the bed was very uncomfortable.

Sorry to say I could not find one thing good to say about this hotel. PS It is very unusual to give a negative review especially considering that I have provided over 80 review previously - so it must be bad.

Room Tip: Yes - try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SydneyTraveller_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rouen hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We arrived late in the evening and found the hotel easily thanks to the directions given by the hotel, we parked at the local car park which was only a short walk from the hotel.

Upon entering through the fantastic large wooden doors we were welcomed by a warm and homely foyer. Up to our room and we couldn't have been happier. a spacious double room with plenty of character and wonderful large windows! (we were staying in a Superior Double and it certainly was worth the little extra money asked!).

The room was warm and homely and the location of the hotel is second to none! a stones throw from the nearby Church of Saint-Maclou and opposite the beautiful Notre-Dame of Rouen Cathedral.

The hotel staff were incredibly welcoming and warm and we couldn't have asked for more from our stay! Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrob1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This very old fashioned little hotel is bang in the middle of beautiful Rouen town centre - walking distance to all the little bars shops and restuarants - very shabby chic - helpful staff - Loved relaxing in the little courtyard - Such a frenchy feel to the hotel - Just loved the chic quirkiness of the place - expensive breakfast though - would return again.

Room Tip: In the summer bring an electric fan - No air conditioning !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyCanvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We booked really late when we got caught by the rain. The employees kindly arranged out late arrival.

The room was clean, we had a beautiful view on the rooftops of the city.

One weird thing: the room starts with a corridor, then the bath, the room itself being after...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#13 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.2 mi away
Le Vieux Carre
Le Vieux Carre
#15 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cathedrale

Property: Hotel de la Cathedrale
Address: 12 rue Saint Romain, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Cathedrale 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de la Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cathedrale Rouen
De La Cathedrale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing