We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel le Cardinal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel le Cardinal
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

The place is perfectly located in the heart of Rouen immediately beside the Cathedral Notre-Dame de Rouen made famous by Claude Monet. The Gros Horloge street begins in front of the Cathedrale and goes all the way to the Jeanne D'arc church and town market. Room were good and the clock tower does not ring at night. Windows are sound proofed and the breakfast (9Euros extra) is delicious.

Room Tip: All rooms can see the Cathedral so then you can choose for size. Upstairs they have suite with small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteeveLavoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    77
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
101
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The location couldn't be better and it was good value for sure. Our room was nothing special but did have an amazing view of the famous cathedral. This was a perk in daylight but turned out to be quite noisy at night since people sit in the restaurants and square below until well after midnight.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in fantastic room overlooking the square in front of the Cathedral the room was small but we could not complain and the fact that the staff were all very pleasant. There are plenty of restaurants in the area and the food was great. The hotel was very clean as was the room and bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BigAl1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed two nights at Hotel le Cardinal in Rouen, which we found in the Rick Steves' France 2011 guide book. We had a small room with a standard double bed. It was pretty warm, and the hotel has no air conditioning. However, we were generally happy with it. Breakfast was good, and the staff was cordial.

One definite concern is that there is no parking anywhere close to this hotel. It is in a pedestrian zone and you will have to walk some distance from your very expensive parking structure (we got extremely lost and ended up parking at Hotel de Ville).

It is very close to central Rouen and the cathedral and is a good base for touring Rouen.

The front desk was never manned - you had to ring for assistance and were provided with the access code to get in. This threw us because we could not get in when we first arrived - the lady came and found us in the cafe while we were trying to decide what to do.

A friendly cat helped manage the breakfast room

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Simple, adequate, clean, tidy, staff happy and helpful, value for money, no complaints
Fantastic location - take your earplugs and blindfold. the cathedral is 50 yards away and the bells are in use + street noise - people live in the city and rooms are above a bar/cafe. The rooms curtains are thin and cut narrow. Fine for one or maybe two nights.
Parking - public - plenty available but check it out before you arrive in the rush hour :o)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We had been touring Normandy and decided to stop in Rouen for the night and were worried that we had nothing booked and it was a French public holiday weekend. We came across the Cardinal by accident and worried that we would't find anything else didn't hesitate when they told us they had a family room for 4 on the top floor. Whilst basic and a little dated the bedding and towels were immaculately clean. Whilst the hotel overlooks the Cathedral and the bells peal every 15 minutes they stop at night and start up again about 8am (I think I counted 152 rings about 8.15am!!). Don't let this put you off, they do not disturb your sleep. The hotel reception staff speak excellent English and are very friendly, they provided us with a free map too. The receptionist let us inspect the room first which was great. Whilst we are not used to budget travelling I would definitely recommend this hotel at on 110 Euros for the 4 of us. We didn't eat breakfast here as the kids wanted to go to a Chocolatiere! Couple of great restaurants either side of the hotel. There is no parking but you can park nearby for 12 Euros for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Top floor is hot. Fan provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EastbourneFamilyFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

This hotel is in the very heart of the historic part of Rouen. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. The room is a good size and the bathroom is large with a shower in a huge bath.The high side of the bath might be a problem for someone with hip or knee problems. However the wardrobe and suitcase storage is in the bathroom too which is rather odd. Our room had a small balcony and from there we had a fantastic view of the towers of the Cathedral. It seemed so close you felt you could reach out and touch it. The breakfast was very good and the rate of 109 € B&B seemed fair for the standard and location of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the hotel must be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#17 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#16 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Cardinal

Property: Hotel le Cardinal
Address: 1 Place de la Cathedrale, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rouen
#4 Business Hotel in Rouen
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Cardinal 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cardinal standing at the heart of old Rouen. The hotel is cozy to make you feel comfortable and simply decorated so as not to detract from the Cathedral opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel le Cardinal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cardinal Hotel
Le Cardinal Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing