We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is amazing!”
Review of Hotel le Cardinal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel le Cardinal
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Fallon, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The view is amazing!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We couldn't get enough of the view! We also loved hearing the bells every hour! (they do stop at 10:00 pm) Hotel was very clean and our room, I think it was room 10, was roomy. The bathrooms have been updated and were very nice. It was a bit frustrating when we arrived at 1:30 pm and the hotel was locked with a note that they would return at 1:00. We decided to eat next door while we waited and had to figure out what to do with our luggage. Other than that, we had a great stay! We would definantly stay again, and again, and again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    77
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
16
104
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Parking is located close by, approx 10 euros for overnight in an underground carpark. We were able to locate the hotel easily as it is situated just in front of the Cathedral in the main square. The sign as you go in states 2 stars so I wasn't expecting very much. The rate was 160 euros a night excluding breakfast, more than I would normally pay for one night, however we were last minute in finding accommodation for the night. We were placed on the 4th floor. As you enter the room it does have a 'wow' factor, it's clean, wooden floors, TV, shower, two balconies with exceptional views over the square/cathedral. It has the look and feel of an apartment. There are table/chairs and deck chairs on the balcony which is great if you want to bring along your own food/drink. (Just remember a bottle opener as all French wines are still corks). The only let down was breakfast in the morning based on the first floor. The spread laid on is very basic and then a grey cat walked out across the breakfast area. This really put me off my breakfast and I find it unacceptable to have an animal in the eating area unsupervised. Breakfast is also 9 euros a head. At Midnight there was a Cathedral light/music show which was very cool to watch and see whilst sitting in bed. If you don't like loud noises, the cathedral bells ring often and the music played for at least 2 hours, then this place is not for you. The windows did block most of the sound though.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th Floor, worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellersunme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is a lovely, wonderful, newly renovated hotel that is spotlessly clean and has beautiful bedlinens. The bed was also new and very comfortable. Unfortunately, it is in Rouen, a city that is worth skipping if you are sightseeing in France. And don't try to go on a Friday afternoon in rush hour. If you can locate the street, (even with GPS) you can drive up to the front and drop off your luggage. My advice is that you park at the Hotel de Ville municipal parking garage and walk about 10-15 minutes down towards the hotel. Herve, the owner, is very low key and friendly. The petit dejeuner was also lovely in a small room on the first floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Hotel le Cardinal is a little gem. I was on the 4th floor, with a view of the cathedral that made me laugh out loud, it was so beautiful. M. and Mme. Waroquet, the innkeepers, were gracious and helpful. The funny little elevator was much appreciated (funny in that it is tiny, and one enters by one door and exits by another). The hotel is not fancy, but it was scrupulously clean and fresh and a very good value for the money. The cafe downstairs, apparently a favorite of Simone de Beauvoir, was also excellent. I wasn't sure how far the hotel was going to be from the train station, so I took a cab, which was totally unnecessary. I walked back the next day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utahtexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was a lovely place to stay in Rouen. It's seems very safe and our room was clean and adequate for the price. The best thing about the hotel is the location. Our room overlooked the Cathedral Square (a spectacular view of the church painted by Monet), and was walking distance to shopping and dining. I had a little trouble finding a place to park. We parked in a deck a couple of blocks away and lugged our luggage to the hotel, but this was as much my fault as anything. The streets are very old, small, and usually one way. It was a little hard to navigate...even with a GPS! That said, Rouen is certainly worth the stop and this hotel is a great option.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRTSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Ideally situated in the cathedral square, there was a very warm welcome from Herve and Nathalie Waroquet.

The suite, on the 4th floor, with terrace, afforded excellent, elegant and very reasonably-priced accommodation and the most stunning views from its double aspect windows.

Probably the best-kept hotel I have stayed in.

All the attractive parts of the old city were within walking distance as well as very adjacent eateries of high quality. (On one side of the entrance was the Paul brasserie, on the other two first-rate eateries.)

A great city to explore; a first-rate hotel from which to do it.

Top marks, Herve and Nathalie!!

Tim Allen

Room Tip: The suite!! Stunningly attractive, double-aspect balconies to use in clement months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunmow
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

When we arrived all seemed ok but then only 1 pillow each no tea facilities and rooms very basic for 95 euro the owners woke us at 08.00 telling us to bring the seat in off the balcony or they woukd charge us
Hardly slept room was hot and blinds did not work avoid avoid avoid

Room Tip: Dont go hear
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scottmicrolights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herve w, Propriétaire at Hotel le Cardinal, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Bonjour Monsieur,

First of all , on arrival we always propose to see the room before check in, and that's what we did.
You told me that the room was very nice ..., at this time i never oblige you to take the room !
You also can have extra pillows and tea on request !
Blinds works very well , every thing in the room was new, the very comfortable bed too.

But the real problem is that , for you it's very normal and usual to put under the rain ( it have been raining all night long), and expensive leather chair !!!! (witch have been damage)
Will you did that at home ? i am note very sure !
That's what you call french arrogance ?
For me its french "savoir vivre" !! and i am sure that you do not have any !

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#17 of 51 in Rouen
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.5 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.2 mi away
Hotel De L'Europe
Hotel De L'Europe
#12 of 51 in Rouen
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Cardinal

Property: Hotel le Cardinal
Address: 1 Place de la Cathedrale, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rouen
#4 Business Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Cardinal 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cardinal standing at the heart of old Rouen. The hotel is cozy to make you feel comfortable and simply decorated so as not to detract from the Cathedral opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel le Cardinal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cardinal Hotel
Le Cardinal Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing