We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great room, great hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel le Cardinal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rouen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel le Cardinal
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, great room, great hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed one night in a corner room next to the breakfast room. The spotless room exceeded expectations! Huge by French standards, modern, bright, cable tv, large bath and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was delightful and filling. (The owner's friendly cat visited when beckoned, but was not a pest. Loved it!) Nearby parking was under ground at a nominal fee. The owner's were engaging and helpful. The hotel is at the centre of the sight seeing action in Rouen and would stay again. Close to shops and restaurants. Excellent value for money. Look no further when staying in Rouen!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Old Hessian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    76
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
100
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here. We actually thought it was a 3 star hotel and were surprised upon our arrival to learn it was a 2 star. The proprieter upgraded us to a larger room( the lift goes as far as the 4th floor and there were some steps to the 5th but it was easy.) We were helped with our luggage so there were no difficulties. Our room was large, bright, spotlessly clean with a large renovated bathroom with a walk-in shower. We had a partial view of the beautiful cathedral and large windows with rooftop views. The owners went out of their way for us: making dinner reservations, giving directions, and generally being alert to our needs. It was ideally located to see the major Rouen sights and experience the energy of the City. We recommend it. In every way it was equal to most 3 star hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: If you don't mind some steps the loft like room on the 5th floor is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallon, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We couldn't get enough of the view! We also loved hearing the bells every hour! (they do stop at 10:00 pm) Hotel was very clean and our room, I think it was room 10, was roomy. The bathrooms have been updated and were very nice. It was a bit frustrating when we arrived at 1:30 pm and the hotel was locked with a note that they would return at 1:00. We decided to eat next door while we waited and had to figure out what to do with our luggage. Other than that, we had a great stay! We would definantly stay again, and again, and again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Parking is located close by, approx 10 euros for overnight in an underground carpark. We were able to locate the hotel easily as it is situated just in front of the Cathedral in the main square. The sign as you go in states 2 stars so I wasn't expecting very much. The rate was 160 euros a night excluding breakfast, more than I would normally pay for one night, however we were last minute in finding accommodation for the night. We were placed on the 4th floor. As you enter the room it does have a 'wow' factor, it's clean, wooden floors, TV, shower, two balconies with exceptional views over the square/cathedral. It has the look and feel of an apartment. There are table/chairs and deck chairs on the balcony which is great if you want to bring along your own food/drink. (Just remember a bottle opener as all French wines are still corks). The only let down was breakfast in the morning based on the first floor. The spread laid on is very basic and then a grey cat walked out across the breakfast area. This really put me off my breakfast and I find it unacceptable to have an animal in the eating area unsupervised. Breakfast is also 9 euros a head. At Midnight there was a Cathedral light/music show which was very cool to watch and see whilst sitting in bed. If you don't like loud noises, the cathedral bells ring often and the music played for at least 2 hours, then this place is not for you. The windows did block most of the sound though.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th Floor, worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellersunme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is a lovely, wonderful, newly renovated hotel that is spotlessly clean and has beautiful bedlinens. The bed was also new and very comfortable. Unfortunately, it is in Rouen, a city that is worth skipping if you are sightseeing in France. And don't try to go on a Friday afternoon in rush hour. If you can locate the street, (even with GPS) you can drive up to the front and drop off your luggage. My advice is that you park at the Hotel de Ville municipal parking garage and walk about 10-15 minutes down towards the hotel. Herve, the owner, is very low key and friendly. The petit dejeuner was also lovely in a small room on the first floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Hotel le Cardinal is a little gem. I was on the 4th floor, with a view of the cathedral that made me laugh out loud, it was so beautiful. M. and Mme. Waroquet, the innkeepers, were gracious and helpful. The funny little elevator was much appreciated (funny in that it is tiny, and one enters by one door and exits by another). The hotel is not fancy, but it was scrupulously clean and fresh and a very good value for the money. The cafe downstairs, apparently a favorite of Simone de Beauvoir, was also excellent. I wasn't sure how far the hotel was going to be from the train station, so I took a cab, which was totally unnecessary. I walked back the next day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utahtexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was a lovely place to stay in Rouen. It's seems very safe and our room was clean and adequate for the price. The best thing about the hotel is the location. Our room overlooked the Cathedral Square (a spectacular view of the church painted by Monet), and was walking distance to shopping and dining. I had a little trouble finding a place to park. We parked in a deck a couple of blocks away and lugged our luggage to the hotel, but this was as much my fault as anything. The streets are very old, small, and usually one way. It was a little hard to navigate...even with a GPS! That said, Rouen is certainly worth the stop and this hotel is a great option.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRTSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#20 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#14 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Cardinal

Property: Hotel le Cardinal
Address: 1 Place de la Cathedrale, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rouen
#4 Business Hotel in Rouen
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Cardinal 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cardinal standing at the heart of old Rouen. The hotel is cozy to make you feel comfortable and simply decorated so as not to detract from the Cathedral opposite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Cardinal Hotel
Le Cardinal Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing