We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel le Cardinal
Nearby Hotels
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$125
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$164
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Morand(Rouen)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars(Rouen)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$84
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$69
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
87
83
15
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
83
15
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral squarefloor roomrick steves recommendationsound and light showgreat cathedralhotel offerswalking distance to everythingtop floorsmall elevatorbalcony overlookingtwo nightshotel facesperfect locationsmall hotelwould recommend this hotel to anyonerecommend staying herewi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed two nights at Hotel le Cardinal. We hadn't done enough research to figure out before-hand that the parking was a few blocks away but were happy to find out that the hotel offers a voucher that cuts the price of parking way down and it is within an easy walk of the hotel.

The hotel is located right next to the Cathedral and we were on the top floor with the large corner balcony with an incredible view of the Cathedral. We loved sitting out there sipping wine and eating bread and cheeses. The bells were incredibly loud but they don't ring all night long and the windows are thick enough to shut out all the street sounds. At 7PM each night we were treated to the sight of all the birds flocking to the cluster of trees of front of the hotel. Huge flocks of birds apparently roost there and the sky is filled with them for about 45 minutes while they work to settle in and then they chirp until the sun goes down. Quite a sight and quite loud but not in an annoying way. The sleeping area was a little tight but pretty standard by European standards. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The bathroom was a good size though and we were happy that we had a small fridge. We did not try the breakfast.

Overall we really liked this hotel. It was a perfect location, good value, great view, clean, and quiet. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This hotel is in a great location. Walking distance to train station. Right on the plaza across from the cathedral.
However, we had the room with a balcony on the 4th floor. Each time we walked into the room we were hit with a musty smell. The bathroom had ceiling marked with mold or old water marks. No air conditioning, tiny table fan in room. However, wonderful large windows in corner room. However, do not, I repeat, do not leave windows open during the night unless you want a cat to enter the room which happened to us. The management never warned us this was possible. However, in other hotels we stayed at we warned to keep windows closed at night. We were on the 4th floor, no other building real close by...who would have guessed!
Parking is in garage around corner. Make sure you have a very small car, otherwise navigating is impossible.
Breakfast was fine, tho meager.
I listened to one guest ask the front desk for directions as to how to get on highway, the very kind man did not have a clue. Moral of that story, travel with a GPS.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkfCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We only got to spend 1 night here, but wish more hotels were like this. The room was a decent size for European hotels. It was modern, updated, and clean. The location was great at it was right across from the cathedral and in the center of town. The only problem with the location is that its on a pedestrian only street, so parking is about 2-3 blocks away (but with a large parking garage). Also, we had the windows opened at night to cool the room down and there was some noise w/ people being noisy around the cathedral around 4AM. But thats certainly not the hotel's fault.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rouen.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisWG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayedt there for two nights, although Rouen is worth at least 2 more - but it was the end of our holidyas.
Hotels is set in the best location possible - just overlooking the cathedral - we had our room on the 4th floor with awesome balcony.
Yes the rooms are on the small side - but for this price and location I wouldn't expect anything else. Modern bathroom, fridge, nice furniture pastel colours, all new, very clean and well kept. Comfortable beds, I slept like a baby, although my man complained that it was a bit short for him - he is about 190 cm tall.

There are lovely brasseries downstairs whre you can have lovely breakfast - including little boulangerie around a corner where we hade it at about 5 euros for 2 people.

I can't really find any major faults. Yest the bells ring at 7:45 on sunday - but you have chosen the hotel next to the church, so this was predictable, and there is no parking just in front of it - again - you are in the middle of the old town.
Parking is available withing 5 minutes walk from the hotel - make sure you will pick up the voucher from the reception as it is 30% cheaper this way. Also suggestion - there is very dungeon like part underground with very narrow spaces, bad lighting and a little space to navigate - we had the car scratched there. It is much better to park upstairs - no roof but much easier to park.

All together - really nice place to stay in Rouen.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Agatesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

This a very straightforward two-star hotel with fairly ordinary facilities -- BUT -- it is across the square from Rouen cathedral -- with a small balcony -- and a BIG VIEW! The room was small but clean and convenient; the bathroom was a good size. The front desk were cheerful and helpful. But -- it was the view of the cathedral that made this hotel a remarkable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews