We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good French food but slightly overpriced”

Restaurant Le Rouennais
Ranked #32 of 669 Restaurants in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good French food but slightly overpriced”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Located in teh center, this restaurant is classical in its design as well as in the food which is served. So overall ok, but nothing exceptional.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominik125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    138
    36
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We highly recommend this restaurant. The food and service were excellent. We both chose the 39 euro fixed price menu and were amazed by the quality of the many courses.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A really lovely way to spend the last night of our holiday!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stopped off at Rouen on the way back from the Dordogne. We were staying at the Suite Novotel and so walked into Rouen to find a restaurant. We came across this one - firstly it wasn't busy (although they were turning people away within half an hour!) and it was central, but not right in the square. We sat outside as it was so hot.

The children's menu was a real improvement on the standard Steak Hache and Frites - with a choice of fish (salmon) or chicken, both with the most delicious mashed potato ever! Be warned, both came with sauces which my children didn't like - but they were proper grown-up meals - and in general a great hit.

We both had the same thing (steak) which was beautifully cooked and served. The service was outstanding - very friendly and the waitress was lovely. Beautiful meal in a lovely setting.

Highly recommended (though it's not very cheap - our bill was €135 for 4 but that included a bottle of St Emilion wine!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Locutus2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Wonderful Welcoming Service”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Excellent daily special and set meals. The staff were friendly and always welcoming. They were also so accomodating and willing to try to speak English. The food was excellent, and fresh, and delicious. Try the oysters. Fabulous! Enjoyed this restaurant so much that we went back 3 times. Way friendlier service than many other restaurants near by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dem6806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
693 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Top marks”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My first excellent mark this year. Top service and great food in good surroundings make for a combination hard to match. Good French food without the prevention or tiny portions.
Watty

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Watty5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Le Rouennais also viewed

Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Restaurant Le Rouennais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing