We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Relais Des Deux Rivieres
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had an enjoyable stay here and found very friendly staff on the two occasions we stayed .The hotel was clean. the beds comfortable and the bathroom was tiny but everything was there so no need to grumble other that the fact that the shower cubicle is very small and claustrophobic.
No air conditioning made for a very hot night even with the window open on our first stay and on the second night it had rained so was much cooler and comfortable and we kept the window closed.Breakfast was good in a bright modern restaurant area, and the free wifi was a plus.There are lots of road works in Rouen so it was fortunate that the hotel is in front of the huge hospital as that was signposted from everywhere so much easier to find the hotel. We will definately stay again.We found it good value for money.and just 10 mins walk to the cathedral and loads of restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel en route back to catch our Calais ferry, and enjoyed a night exploring the old city of Rouen which was only a 15 mins walk from this hotel. The young man on reception when we arrived wasn't too interested in us and unfortunately our e-booking made one week earlier) hadn't reached them - good job that we had printed our booking confirmation. The en-suite room was not overly large but suited our needs for one night, and the shower was great. Our TV didn't work. The entire hotel looked and smelled very clean. The Saturday morning receptionist was a lovely lady who was very happy to explain our breakfast options; we ate very well at the buffet breakfast - lots of choice and quantity. Free parking, and free wifi. All good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxicle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I too stayed in this hotel while my husband was recovering in the nearby hospital after a cycling accident.
As everyone says it is basic, but that is reflected in the price. The rooms are perfectly adequate - beds comfortable and sheets and blankets clean, although as someone else said the rooms are a little tired and with the brown coloured counterpane and the dark wooden furniture the rooms have a somewhat dingy appearance, they are kept very clean. Bathrooms are small and towels area a little worn but the shower was good with plenty of hot water. Breakfast- a good continental selection with very large fresh croissants, Pan au Chocolat and bread and the usual jams and cheese.

The location is great for getting to the very beautiful centre of Rouen (5 min walk) but I chose it to be close to the hospital. It is set within the 'campus' of the university hospital so isn't picturesque and the is noise from sirens so not good if you are a light sleeper.

The staff are wonderful, most speak English and those that don't try hard. Once they knew I was alone and my husband was injured they couldn't have been more kind offering to help with translation and phone calls.


Basically you get what you pay for, and if you treat the staff with respect you will be treated likewise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lainey3_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

As many have commented, the hotel is basic--but it met our needs very well. The reception staff proved to be very helpful. We appreciated the offer of some extra time in the car park while we explored the cathedral. We would consider staying here again if we pass through Rouen.

Room Tip: Try to request a reserved parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed one night on the way back from South Brittany to Calais,chose this hotel for free parking.Everything was good for the money and ideal for a stopover.
Happy with our choice
Reception spoke English and were helpful.Five minute walk to town centre,

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stokie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one evening - to explore Rouen. Good value for money - carpets a bit dirty because they need new carpets. The carpets are old and cannot be cleaned. Reception was friendly. We had parking on site - and this was an added bonus for us. We arranged for parking beforehand. We needed boiling water for instant cuppacinos and reception was so kind as to give us boiling water out of the urn in the restaurant. He also gave us a map of Rouen - which helped a lot. The centre of Rouen is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We did some more sightseeing in Rouen the following morning before we left and we were allowed to leave our car in the parking space until we left. That helped a lot! We can actually not complain for the amount of money that we paid to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for reserved parking space prior your arrival. (When you make the booking).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixie1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We picked this hotel as we needed free parking and free wifi. It was a five minute walk into Rouen, but if you are arriving by train, it may be a 20 minute walk. Room was small and a bit grotty (stained bed spread and carpets) but I think housekeeping did its best to keep clean. Free wifi worked fine. Limited parking and no guarantees. One evening we returned to to the last space and someone behind us was told to find something in the neighbourhood.

Only one receptionist which is required to multitask, serving, cleaning up, etc. Not always on the desk so anyone can walk in and go up to rooms. Most staff very pleasant. We had breakfast one morning and actually the quality of the offering was very good.

Although we could smell cigarette smoke in the hallways, we could not really smell it in the room. They seem to keep on top of this.

It is difficult to spot, but once you find it, it is obvious.

Room Tip: There are a lot of ambulance sirens as it is situated next to a hospital, but it didn't disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
1.2 mi away
Kyriad Rouen Centre
Kyriad Rouen Centre
#40 of 52 in Rouen
378 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Rouen Centre Rive Gauche
0.3 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Rouen Petit Quevilly
Ibis Budget Rouen Petit Quevilly
#1 of 1 in Le Petit Quevilly
35 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kyriad Rouen Nord - Mont Saint Aignan
Kyriad Rouen Nord - Mont Saint A...
#1 of 2 in Mont-Saint-Aignan
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Rouen Alba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Des Deux Rivieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Des Deux Rivieres

Address: 33 boulevard Gambetta, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range: £49 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Relais Des Deux Rivieres 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Relais Des Deux Rivieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing