We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value; Great Location”
Review of Hotel De L'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De L'Europe
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed at the Hotel De L'Europe one night. Good 2 to 3 star hotel. Has a lift. Room size decent for Europe. The room was very clean. The bedroom was a little worn, but the bathroom was totally renovated. Great Shower. The location may be the best in Rouen. Very close to the historic center, very short walks to the Vieux Marche and the Cathedral. Friendly and helpful staff. I booked fairly early and got a superior (not theme) room for 90 euro - a bargain. Underground pay parking only a block away for about 10 euro.
Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RScharfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed in the Atelier room. It's clear that this hotel is not a luxury location, however, they have obviously tried to do something different with their two themed rooms. The Atelier room was clean and very light with amazing views. The terrace is the reason you stay in this room, get breakfast delivered to your room and enjoy it on the terrace with views of the cathedral...heaven!

Room Tip: The Atelier room is definitely the room to stay in for the terrace and amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parisiantraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Excellent location, close to historic center.
Room was good as was bathroom.
Didn't take breakfast, so can't say anything about it, but 12 euro is more than in other places.
1-day cancellation was important thing for the long trip.

When we entered the hotel we were said that it is strictly forbidden to eat in the room. I didn't hear about such a thing in other places in France or around the world. You can't go to patisserie and bring all this small cookies to hotel?
Hotel is a little bit expensive. In addition you should pay for parking not 7 euro as it was written, but about 9 euro per day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We were a group of 4 mature adults with 3 rooms for 2 nights. The terrace of the Atelier Room is heavenly with a magnificent view of the cathedral. The hotel's location is excellent, parking in the nearby public lot was a breeze even with a huge Ford Galaxy, This was our first stop on a 2 week tour of Normandy and Brittany and it set the bar, only a few other places measured up. Breakfast was acceptable and many, many nearby restaurants to choose from since the hotel restaurant is closed. The elevator is small but it works. Bathrooms nicely updated and spacious, beds comfortable and rooms are clean. We would stay again, but only in the Attelier Room. Only caveat is the fun decor didn't allow any place to open our luggage convenently.

Room Tip: Weekend special of 1 euro for the 2nd night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marythomas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

This hotel totally fits the bill: centrally located, nice and large room (they have two type of rooms, either 2* or 3* room - I stayed in a 3* room), very efficient and quick wireless service, pleasant breakfast. But, above all, the hotel staff, including the very friendly manager Georges, are there to make your stay a pleasant one. Rarely will you be welcomed in such a hospitable, friendly and smiley way. I would definitely recommend it.
Ideal for a business trip or a short stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

This hotel is ok if you are only staying one night but any longer is not recommended unless you're on a budget.The decor is in need of a facelift,the carpet in the shower room was stained from the shower continually leaking and to get in and out of the shower was dangerous due to the high step and limited space.On the positive side the location is excellent,right in the centre of town and the people were very friendly and helpful.
Rouen itself is a nice town but not recommended as a holiday base-more a one night stop on the way to nicer areas of France.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bryan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

We spent three days in Rouen and despite the bad weather had a great time. Hotel de l'Europe is clean and comfortable, would be a 3* if it had direct phone line in the room but otherwise was really spot on. The location is great, a few minutes walk from the cathedral and the place du Vieux Marché with its many restaurants. The staff speak English, and breakfast is a large selection of freshly baked croissants, bread, fruit, cereal, yogurts and cold meats. The first day I was woken up by the smell of fresh baking in the morning, which was lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClogsAshfordKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.6 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#19 of 52 in Rouen
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De L'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De L'Europe

Address: 87 rue aux Ours, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rouen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rouen
Price Range: £78 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De L'Europe 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Europe is the right choice for customers who want to combine the charm and tranquility in a convenient location for exploring the town. It is a cozy little hotel, with a careful and personalized service offered to customers by the Piat family and his team, always available for any requests.The hotel has five floors with elevator. On the ground floor, in addition to the reception, you will find a cozy bar where you can sit and have a drink in peace and eat a delicious "salad gourmand" if you do not want to get out for dinner.The rooms are located in all floors and count 3 deluxe roos the last one "Atelier" opens in a lovely terrace or solarium, and its "inhabitants" can enjoy an incredible view of the cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel De L'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing