We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and clean, but not a warm environment”
Review of Hotel De L'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De L'Europe
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013

If your idea of a great living environment is a contemporary art museum, then you would like this hotel. The atmosphere of the hotel was sterile and I found the staff to be cold and not terribly helpful. I felt like I was troubling them in the few interactions that I had, and they did not extend themselves to me in any way. When I read the reviews on TripAdvisor, I had expected much better customer service, so maybe I just stayed at a bad time. The breakfast was expensive for the selection offered. The room was clean but fairly small and had no comfortable place to sit other than the bed. The location was excellent and the views out the window were great, but other hotels in Rouen offer the same. I cut my stay short and would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: In warm weather, the Atelier room's terrace would be very nice to enjoy. In cold weather, payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedalmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
road76, Propriétaire at Hotel De L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

thank's for leaving us, this review. you reserved a room in a three star hotel by booking.com and we accommodate you the best we can. i don't think other hotel offer you a vue and a private garden roof of 50 meter square as we offer you. However we are sorry to hear you disappointment, next time check our own website you will find cheaper offer and the right room for the right time; thank you again for this comment
regards

Georges andré Piat
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Europe Hotel and would recommend the Hotel for both business and leisure travel. The staff at the Hotel are quite wonderful and ensure a warm and welcoming atmosphere on arrival. All amenities in place and you will be knocked out by the food and in particular a more than superior breakfast! Ideally located in the heart of the old town with everything on your doorstep. Thank you for a lovely and pleasant stay!

Room Tip: For a really special stay choose one of the themed rooms to add a bit extra to a romantic visit or j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
road76, Propriétaire at Hotel De L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

hi , the first comment for the new year, thanks for these lovely and honest words . Everything works properly now, in order, elevator carpet done, looks like a brand new hotel , thanks again and hope to welcome you again before the end of the year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Easy to find it, if you arrive by car. No problem to stop at the entrance so to get the luggage out of the car. A low cost Public underground garage is within 40mt. The staff is very helpful. The room was rather small but very comfortable, modern and clean. The bathroom was very clean and well equipped. The heating was optimum.The front street has no traffic. The location is ideal. We happily stayed two nights. We shall go again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goumaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Located in the heart of the beautiful and historic city, the hotel very much, clean, convenient, сomfortable bathroom, English- and German-speaking staff, all attractions nearby. Thanks for quality service. All recommend

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVGENYMoscowRussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the backstage room at this hotel on Sept 22-23. The room was unusually decorated like a rock star backstage with a guitar and acoustic equipment--why I have no idea. B.t.a.i.m., we had a minor flood when the shower failed to drain probably. Since no one was available to fix it, the young lady at the front desk had us change rooms. When we finally checked out, I told the manager about the incident, but I made no demands for a refund. He was very concerned and immediately offered to reduce our bill by 80 euros. I told him that he could not be any fairer. That is the reason that I am giving this hotel 5 stars, it is convenient and well managed. The only caveat is an elevator that can only hold 2 people without luggage or 1 person with only 1 piece of luggage. We did not have the breakfast. BTW, a T/A post mentioned that food is strictly prohibited in the rooms. I never saw any sign like this in either room, moreover, there was a mini-bar with various snacks for sale, so I wouldn't be concerned about this.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gil014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed as part of a battlefield tour in late July this year (booked ourselves direct for this hotel). We arrived later than expected and were still able to park right outside. We had booked 2 rooms to accomodate our large (4 adults, 3 children) group, but when we arrived they gave us a free upgrade to 3 rooms!
All of the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Some street noise but if you dont want noise dont stay in a city hotel!
We had a slight problem with a leak of water in the bathroom, and they could not have been more helpful, providing fresh towels and apologising.
The breakfast was great, good value and set us up for the day.
in all highly recommended
The Andrews Clan, Bar Hill England!

Room Tip: rooms facing the street give great views, we did not have any that faced away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The room was decorated modern and slightly Pre-school but never the less it was impressive to look at... There was a parking space available directly outside the hotel but not sure if that was a fluke or timing. Its positioned near the market square which was nice for the evening.
The only upset we had and it really was (horrible) was there was only one window that you could open (all the rest had been covered and sealed with perspex) .... i rarely bother commenting or complaining but although the weather was nice and clear, it was pretty fresh outside but in the room it was unbearably hot....We went down and told the receptionist who later found an old fan in the basement. So not a total drama but not what you expect for 150 euros for one night (room only)
The shower was glorious but the overall experience was horrid and there was not even a hint of an apology from the lady who i believe was the manageress or owner.
I would never go there again as it was my first ever night in France and was certainly the only part of our break which marred our experience of a truly gorgeous country.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first... wish i had
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woolgather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georges-André d, Propriétaire at Hotel De L'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear sir.
Thank you very much for your comment and taking time to fill the form. , but since your came, I thought about why we had a problem of heat inside a brand new room !. Finally I found the cause, when we refurnished the whole room , we changed the window for a soundproof and acoustic comfort one. But our achitect choose the wrong one without the air exchange and we have remedied since you left. thanks to remind us this problem. if one day you decide to return to our lovely region do not hesitate to contact me personally, i will do my best to fix you the valuable rate for the period.

Your Faithfully
Georges André Piat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#19 of 52 in Rouen
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De L'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De L'Europe

Address: 87 rue aux Ours, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rouen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rouen
Price Range: £78 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De L'Europe 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Europe is the right choice for customers who want to combine the charm and tranquility in a convenient location for exploring the town. It is a cozy little hotel, with a careful and personalized service offered to customers by the Piat family and his team, always available for any requests.The hotel has five floors with elevator. On the ground floor, in addition to the reception, you will find a cozy bar where you can sit and have a drink in peace and eat a delicious "salad gourmand" if you do not want to get out for dinner.The rooms are located in all floors and count 3 deluxe roos the last one "Atelier" opens in a lovely terrace or solarium, and its "inhabitants" can enjoy an incredible view of the cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel De L'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing