We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JEANNE D'ARC WAS HERE”

Place du Vieux-Marche
Ranked #7 of 75 things to do in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Blangy-sur-Bresle, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“JEANNE D'ARC WAS HERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Nice place - very touristic and animated in ROUEN
There is a strange and modern Church and also a statue of JEANNE D'ARC

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PORCHER N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    284
    101
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
576 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“historically noteworthy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Place du Vieux-Marche is historically noteworthy. The old market place is surrounded by picturesque, centuries-old, famous timber houses. The market itself featured fresh fish, meats and produce with the accompanying interesting smells. We found it enchanting.
This open market place also was the site of Joan of Arc's immolation in May 1431. A small garden and church constructed in the '70's commemorate the Catholic saint. I found its dull, oversized, modern construction-effort smack in the middle of ages-old, storied historical structures incongruent, unappealing and rather gauche. One small nugget of consolation however was learned during the visit. The church's stain glass was obtained from another church in Rouen destroyed during WWII.
Though a few beggars were present in the area, we did not engage them and so, we were not disturbed.
We continued on our way down tiny, narrow, stone streets and found good chocolate at Auzou, a Normandy chocolatier. In the afternoon we stopped at a nearby, inexpensive bar within Place de la Pucelle for a bit of baguette and Normand butter, coffee and the tasty, seasonal Vin Chaud, to ease the November chill.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
215 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Historic Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The square is where Joan of Arc was burned at the stake. Many half-timbered buildings line it with many stores and restaurants and an outdoor market of flowers, cheese, fruit, seafood etc that curves around under the Church of Joan of Arc. A very picturesque place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ekejdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasdon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go for the architecture only.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Eglise St. Jeanne d'Arc is an interesting building, incorporating a replacement for the old market. Shame it attracts drunks to its precincts. I even had (non French) beggars approach me directly, which I find uncommon in France.

There are the remains of a church in the Place, but there's no information about it, which is a shame.

The restaurant row is a tourist trap, but that's usually OK in France if you're prepared to pay. However, my partner and I (and several other parties) had a terrible experience at one of them.

Go for the church architecture, but be on your guard and don't eat or drink there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Lovely6 square, the location was about 15min walk from the train station, turn down Jean D'arc road at Rue Gros Horloge with the clock tower and all the shops on that street. There are many bakeries around the square and also a decent sized supermarket and a lovely restaurant Le Maupassant. The small market operating there is also very nice, flowers, fruits, cheeses, seafood and some cooked food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shasha189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Place du Vieux-Marche also viewed

 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Place du Vieux-Marche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing