We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Recently stayed here as part of organized tour of Rouen and other places in Normandy and arrived as part of group of about 30 people. Was allocated Room 308 , and had to queue with others to wait for small lift to 3rd floor. Room was quiet, and first impression was that it was clean and comfortable, with clean bathroom with many extras. It was supplied with soap dispenser near sink, and similar near the shower/ bath. It was a mixer shower with very powerful shower head .Bathroom also had hairdryer, tissues, bath and hand towels. Towels were not thick and fluffy, but very adequate.

Room had kettle and small supply of coffee and tea bags, though some people might prefer to take along own supply of stronger tea .There is a well stocked supermarket about two minutes walk away.

Bed was very comfortable, and there were good reading lights just above the bed.

Downside was that walls were decorated with muddy brown paper that made room seem dark and dismal during the evening. Not a good colour choice.

Breakfast was self service with wide choice available- cereals, fresh fruit salad, bread, croissants, jams, honey, cheeses, ham . There were scrambled eggs and sausages though did not enjoy these.

One evening looked at bar prices- small glass of wine was 6 euros, so went round corner to local bar and bought one for 3 euros, but expect this is normal for hotel bar prices.

If you don't want to keep using the lift, there is a winding staircase to use.

Overall, I had a good experience of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I haven't even arrived to stay in this hotel and I absolutely hate it!
I rang to see if space was available in the garage and when this was confirmed I tried to make a reservation - but the receptionist could not or would not match the price available online.
So I made my reservation at a better price (and including breakfast)with Trivago.
I immediately received an email confirmation from the hotel so rang back to reserve a parking space in the hotel car park.
The same receptionist refused to reserve a place in parking for me saying that she had not received any details of a booking in my name. Rather than offering to be in any way helpful she told me to ring back in the morning to see if they had received my booking.
She knew that the story had started with me telephoning to say that I was only making a hotel reservation if space was available in the garage.
Why would I ring up and (attempt) to reserve a parking space if I hadn't already made a reservation?
Apparently no manager was available to pass me over to - and she wasn't giving her name - so there endeth the lesson in turning a customer off the Best Western brand for life?!
Peter

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The location of this hotel makes up for the drawbacks. It is simply right smack in the middle of historic Rouen. So if it is location you're looking for at the cost of comfort, go for it. The hotel needs an update. The front desk is back from the 70's, but the rooms are clean (though small). They are a bit dark though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kricac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked into this hotel for two nights as it was central and looked good from photos. Thought we'd treat ourselves to a proper hotel as we usually stay in motels like Ibis and Ace hotels. The whole place was shabby and the room was painted dark brown and was so small it felt like being in a coffin. It was very hot in the room but there is no a/c and they could not provide a desk fan. We asked for another room but non available. We slept with the window open (which opened over the bed) and listened to the noise from the drunks well into the early hours. All in all a horrible place. We decided to lose our money and moved out after one night and booked into an Ibis motel with air conditioning, satellite tv and bright, clean, large rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JaneL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. We had pre-booked a courtyard room with a private balcony (I think room 108), which was very nice. Our room was also in a sort of separate area of the hotel, with an entrance off the courtyard leading to just a few rooms. The room was fully renovated, and had a good bed, a really nice big shower in the bathroom, and separate WC. The location of the hotel is very convenient - the main shopping street is right out the front door. The Old Market and the location where Joan of Arc was burned at the stake are also just steps away. There are many restaurants and cafes very close by, so there are plenty of options for meals.

It seemed like the hotel wasn't very busy, but in the morning the courtyard had a lot of people in it, waiting for their day tour. The front desk said they hotel was fully booked for the night! We had no idea, as we hardly saw anyone else while we were there. And even though the balcony looked out onto the courtyard, we didn't feel like people could see in. There were also two layers of curtains (one being sheers) that helped for privacy.

We were driving when we arrived at the hotel, which proved to be a little tricky. The GPS got us to where we needed to be, but finding our way from the final turn to the actual hotel was not very intuitive. There was a bollard or two in the street, and it seemed like we couldn't go any farther, until we saw that there was a post with a little button on it to the left. We pushed the button, and told the receptionist that we were there for the Best Western, and the bollards were retracted into the street and we were able to drive right into the street and to the front door of the hotel. After checking in we were instructed to drive into the courtyard, where we were allowed to park for the night. It was nice to have our rental car so close by.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berdine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here four nights in early June. The hotel is very difficult to drive to, but once you figure it out, there is no problem. Parking is very cramped, and do not drive a large car. The location is very, very good - easy walking distance to great restaurants, and tourist destinations in old Rouen. The rooms are okay at best, small and so-so on cleanliness. There was no soap in the bathroom at all, so I just went out and bought some nearby.
The help at the front desk were typically French and rather vague about directions - not friendly at all. The breakfast was good.
If I came back to Rouen I would probably not stay here, but it is not a horrible hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rijeki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location of the hotel is superb, situated right in the market area of the old town centre. A variety of restaurants are just a stone's throw from the hotel, from pub-style to fancy French cuisine. A 10 minute walk from the train station.

The room itself was clean and comfortable, and as expected in Europe, tight for size. The beds and dark room colours provided a good night's sleep. Unfortunately the darker colours left the place seeming pretty drab during the day and I needed a flashlight to get a decent look inside my suitcase. We stayed for 6 nights….a stay of 1 or 2 nights would have been more suited for this hotel, or at least the room we stayed in. There was no A/C in the room (not a problem for us as nights were cool), but there was a large window that opened wide.

Staff were very responsive and service was impeccable. We did not have the breakfast as there were so many restaurants nearby (including a well stocked grocery store) and it appeared to be overpriced based on other in-hotel breakfasts we have had in Europe. There was no restaurant in the hotel, but they did have 24hr bar (no food).

Room Tip: Based on proximity to the market area, a room overlooking the parking area/courtyard would be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hildy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Europe
Hotel De L'Europe
#13 of 52 in Rouen
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert

Address: 33 rue du Vieux Palais, 76000, Rouen, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel Du Vieux Marche)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
Price Range: £75 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, ideally located in the historic center of Rouen, close to the place du Vieux- Marché, the literary hotel, Gustave Flaubert, pays tribute to the writer in the city where he was born and where he spent the major part of his life. Modernity and comfort, punctuated by a few literary notes, provide the guests the time to dream or read. Just 10 minutes from the cathedral Notre Dame of Rouen, the Hotel Gustave Flaubert shares with us his passion for the author of Madame Bovary and Salammbô. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rouen
Best Western Rouen
Rouen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing