We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Vieux Carre
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$357
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars(Rouen)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Morand(Rouen)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
34
95
38
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
95
38
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely courtyardpalais de justicestairs are steepunpretentious hotelcute hotelold towntop floorcroissantspedestrian streetpretty courtyardno liftheavy luggagetrain stationtwo night stayperfect locationcontinental breakfastnice breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

read good reviews about it before i booked it. the walk from the train station to the hotel was not too difficult but is quite a distance if you are dragging luggage and not a youth. we got a room on an upper floor and without lifts, was quite a struggle. the staff is reasonably welcoming but one gets the feeling that they are not comfortable or something with Asian travellers; we seldom had such feelings at most places we have stayed at, which is probably in the dozens.
their restaurant downstairs is pretty nice, and they have a nice courtyard (which was what attracted me when I booked it) but a pity that they are not open in the evening.
the location of the hotel is very good, since it is in the middle of a rather "happening" street and very close to the old city centre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WengKeeLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We discovered this quaint hotel in the old part of Rouen. There is no lift but you only have to get your bags up and down the stairs once so that was no problem. We did not have a booking but managed to get a room overlooking the courtyard. Everything was clean and the staff were friendly. Downstairs there is a restaurant that serves a really great lunch at reasonable cost. We were on the first floor and wifi worked fine there. We wanted a second night and the owners were kind enough to accommodated us. This time we were in a room on the top floor. The owners said that they would transfer own bags to the top floor and they attended to that for us even though I was happy to do that.

There is a friendly resident cat which sat on my lap one evening. Wifi reception on the top floor did not work. Must have been a long way from the router. Not a problem as I could use wifi in the lobby were it worked just fine.

The building is old so don't expect lots of power outlets (I did say old part of town).The rooms were of a reasonable size and the bathrooms were too. The water was hot. There was no aircon but the weather was not hot. Anyway the windows could be opened and that would help in the warmer months. The hotel faces a pedestrian street so it is very quiet even with the window open in the room. You cannot really drive up to the front of the hotel but there is an underground public carpark just around the corner which cost 14 Euro per 24 hrs or per exit. The carpark had a lift to get you and your bags to street level.

I would certainly stay again if I ever visit that part of the world again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HAE4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for 2nights in August, and chose it specifically because we wanted something a little more authentic rather than a more modern hotel.

The location was great, the service friendly enough (if a little sparse, but then it is more of a tea rooms with a place to sleep) and the room was comfortable and clean. The range of teas/coffees available when the cafe area is 'open' is wonderful.

Be warned though, once the tea rooms close to the public one has to access via an electronic gate. This is itself is no problem to use, however it has the most annoying buzzing noise whenever it's used that it can wake you up if you're sleeping when someone uses it!! Sadly, the family room we had was on the top floor and there is no lift. I have trouble with my limbs, and the stairs are steep so I struggled with access and would be unable to stay again, although I would certainly visit to sit in the lovely courtyard with a nice tea!

Room Tip: Avoid higher floors if you struggle with stairs. I thought I would be ok given that it was only a few flights, but they are really quite difficult!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKTraveller8210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

this hotel is in the centre of town, very handy location. around the corner tehre is a public parking lot if you are coming by car. Lots of places to walk around and restaurants to eat, if you decide not to try the hotel's one , with is simple but good enough. fresh food and all. I could walk to the main atractions and it is good way to visit the city. Ther is a court yard that makes you want to sit there and drink local wine. the rooms are cosy and clean, but decoration is regional and could be remodeled.

Room Tip: Avoid the aisle near the entrancy.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This no entry for the restaurant part of this hotel, and this review is about the restaurant. They do < 15€ lunchtime formula (starter & main, or main & dessert), which is simple, quiches, crumbles, omelettes with salad, etc including a galss of wine. It's great value for money, there's a small courtyard which is very pleasant and the inside is like going back 80 years. Cosy, & quirky, service is quick.

A way to get away from hustle and bustle.

Higly recommended

Room Tip: ONly a food review, sorry!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stopeter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews