We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking tour”

Rue du Gros-Horloge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$569.66*
and up
Private Tour Rouen Bayeux and Falaise Day Trip from Rouen
Ranked #3 of 75 things to do in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Carlinville, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Walking tour”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

When visiting Rouen, you will most likely walk by this clock tower. All of Rouen is a very interesting place with charming cobble-stone streets and medieval architecture. We walked around from the Cathedral area back towards the Joan of Arc monument/church and also to the cemetery of the plague victims. Some might say we were roaming around lost, but we did get to see a good bit of this historic and beautiful city!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bglenn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    568
    100
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
207 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely medieval town”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The town centre is really lovely to walk round and the Rue du Gros-Horloge is especially attractive. True, the shops are mainly modern looking, but the cobble stones, no cars, and the buildings themselves being old, lends a very medieval atmosphere to the scene. There is a lot to see in old Rouen.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tobique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stroll the cobblestones from Middle Ages to Modern Day”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a perfect example of the European streets that North American's see in travel brochures and hope to experience.

If you have only a limited time to wander the streets this is the one to choose.

This street will take you from the huge Gothic Cathedral that dominates the skyline, through the ornately carved stone gateway that houses the huge clock (Gros-Horloge) for which this street is named, through about a 6 block journey through the Middle Ages, to the ultra modern Eglise Sainte-Jeanne d'Arc (church of St. Joan of Arc).

At street level there are a mix of modern day stores, boutiques and picturesque flower stalls. As it is a high tourist traffic area don't expect the prices to be cheap, but you will find consumer temptations if that is what you desire. No cars to impede the beauty of the well preserved ancient site and your freedom to roam.

Looking up you will see the exposed timbers and plaster exteriors of buildings from the Middle Ages that were expanded and constructed in a gravity defying manner, that seem to gain support by leaning into each. Painted in a variety of colours, and decorated with stone and wood carvings and ancient timbers, their beauty is only matched by their longevity and perseverance through wars, and the ravages of time.

There are smaller ancient churches along the way, so I by-passed the large Cathedral for another visit. My visit was on an off-season Saturday morning, so I avoided a lot of wait times.

The clock itself (about 2 blocks from the big Cathedral) allows an up-close view of the detailed stone carving that dominates many of the ancient buildings of Rouen.

This visit to Rouen was limited to 3 hours and I was able to take in the Joan of Arc tower and Museum, wander the streets to the Cathedral, down Rue du Gros-Horloge to the Eglise Sainte-Jeanne d'Arc and back to the train station, with plenty of time for a shopping and a cafe stop for people watching. That covered an area of about 6 blocks on each side of the triangle.

I wander & let the adventure unfold, but would advise a street map of the centre of Rouen as streets are at odd angles. It is easy to lose your way among the tall old buildings.

Don't forget your camera. Flat, comfortable shoes are highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NMH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
214 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Ornate One Armed Clock”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is a masterwork & amazing how they purposely only used 1 arm on the clock for the hour. Just our luck that the clock was closed while we were there so we were unable to go inside and climb up for what we were told was a great view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ekejdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for Teens”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was a great street that mixed old with new and kept my teen interested all day. Was fun to be bale to visit the cathedrale and some of the other sites but mix in a little shopping as well. Great Chocolate stores.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JourneywithChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rue du Gros-Horloge also viewed

 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Rue du Gros-Horloge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing