We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All mod cons and great breakfast”
Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The room was very cosy, with lovely soft pillows and all the bathroom toiletries anyone could require. A lot of thought and effort has gone into the refurbishment of the rooms, but a bit more simplicity in the wallpaper, tiling and decoration might have been better. Room quite dark and inadequate lighting. Breakfast is extra but it is delicious and varied. Parkig is extra as well, but well worth it in such a central area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is very nice, quiet and comfortable ! Easy to access, not really expensive and the service was very good. The atmosphere is warm even if the wallpaper is not very well stuck! I forgot my toothbrush and luckily there was one in the bathroom!



  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Estelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is cosy and our room was clean and basic. We paid around 65e for the night which I think was quite a lot for this room. There are car parking spaces available (remember to pre-book since there are only 7 spots) and it is a tight squeeze for a car with a steep ramp.
Hosts were helpful and friendly. Our room was located in the 2nd floor and although it was facing towards the road it was very quiet (good triple glazing).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank incaannica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great location to visit Rouen
Friendly staff
Clean and comfortable room - a bit small but that is fair given the very low price
Wifi is free but tended to disconnect often on an iPad
Breakfast a bit expensive

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank padegrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

What a little treasure of a place. The new owners are working hard to update and redecorate this bijou residence with a certain je ne sais quoi. Whilst the rooms might be a little on the small side they are clean, well kept with very comfortable beds and very large pillows! The lady owner is very friendly and helpful, recommending local restaurants and other useful information and the underground car park for a small charge was reasonable. Make sure you stay in the hotel bar for pre-evening drinks and you'll be treated to a tray of nibbles from the kitchen. The breakfast was a real unexpected treat with a wide array of cereal, fruit, cakes, cheese, cold meats, freshly boiled eggs, waffles, pancake and accompanying condiments galore, all washed down with freshly squeezed orange juice and a range of variety of hot drinks to suit all tastes - the best continental breakfast we've ever seen!

Room Tip: Twin double rooms may be slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catarmaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Look this is not a 5* experience. It is a typically quirky French hotel in a somewhat faded glory status. It is clean enough and the rooms we had were had all the facilities working.

It is however in a good location. The Hotel de Ville is 100 metres away and the old town is on your doorstop with access to a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants.

We stayed for 1 night on our way back to Calais and find it an enjoyable stopover.

You can drive your car up to the front door and the hotel has an interesting underground car park: not for the faint hearted or for a large car!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnS1049747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had not researched before-hand, and this was the first we spotted where we could park in the road outside. The lady on the reception was helpful, spoke reasonable English, and gave us a map & marked the 'must see' places for us. We had room 11 which had been redecorated, wasn't huge but was clean & the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very good with space enough to put our things & an excellent shower (not suffering the boil/freeze habits experienced in other places).
Did not have breakfast there, just took coffee up to our room. Underground parking available, but the ramp was very steep, OK for small cars but not for ours...the road-side was free anyway.
Street noise might be a problem, but the hotel itself was fine - just the odd door-slam.
You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank GrumpyOldWoman_0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.2 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.4 mi away
Inter Hotel Notre Dame
Inter Hotel Notre Dame
#28 of 52 in Rouen
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Address: 3 rue Jean Lecanuet, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range: £42 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bonaparte 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Versan Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing