We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but central and clean”
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simple but central and clean”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Saying this hotel is central and clean are its best features. Bedrooms are very simply furnished, bathroom was clean but old with hilarious 1970s style tiles. Our room was extremely hot (think Spain in August but this was late October in northern France) with no way of turning the heating down. Breakfast was very simple. The hotel's promotional pictures do not reflect reality, reality is a lot more shabby. However it is five minutes walk from the centre of Rouen with secure car parking nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    51
    42
    23
    18
See reviews for
36
63
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2012

we very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel de paris… excellent location at the historic city center of Rouen...rooms comfortable and cosy and staff very helpful...we enjoyed very much and we will be back on next year

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youssef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas Area
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Located just a few blocks from the cathedral and central square, this place is the perfect location for budget travel within Rouen. The rooms are small (think Paris...), but if you are a tourist, you probably won't be spending much time in your room.

Wi Fi access was easy, and overnight parking is about 3 blocks away. Still, for the price, I consider it to be a great value.

Room Tip: Overnight parking is surface parking - but, no problems...just know that it is 3 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I read the reviews for this hotel before booking and did wonder, as they all seemed fairly mediocre? .... However, I can tell you that this is a pleasant family operated Hotel situated an easy 5 minute stroll into the heart of Rouen. The people that run/own it are incredibly helpful and polite - they even went to the trouble to provide us with 'Boiling' hot water, so that we could make tea with our breakfast, when we asked for it (Oh, les anglais abroad, eh? lol)!
Let's get to the nitty gritty - this is a 'just off the centre' hotel, therefore it sits on a side street that has traffic passing it's frontage & also it is near to the main road along the river - this may well be the source of any noise for 'light' sleepers as it is a busy through road to/from Le Havre, etc. It didn't disturb me at all and I liked the fact that I had an easy way out of town during our little jollies out around Normandy.

Whilst on the subject of cars - parking is a simple affair so long as you don't try to park on the street! There is an underground car park in very close proximity where overnight parking costs just 5 Euros with a note from the Hotel reception (up till 10am). Present your note to the accueil along with the entry ticket and they will give you your exit ticket... it's that simple - ba boom!

Yes, the rooms are compact & bijou and maybe the decor is a little tired, but at the price they charge for an en-suite room that is soo-oo close to the city centre and cathedral .. why complain?

Guys, if you want 5 star luxury - this ain't the place for you! But if you want value for money, close to the heart of Rouen (which is a great place to visit btw) in a quaint traditional french hotel, then you will love it - we will definitely use it again!

Room Tip: Hard to say as bookings are through 'Booking.com' - I suppose you could ask to see the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthofTheWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Myself, my wife and our two year old daughter arrived late and were very grateful for the welcome that we received from the receptionist who was very polite and convivial.

Our room, which was a reasonable size, was on the top floor at the back of the hotel overlooking the courtyard and although in need of a refurbishment was clean. Unusually the toilet was separate from the bathroom which was equipped with a shower. There was also a small lift to the top floor which was very useful.

The location was great as it is very close to the river and the cathedral as well as the old town.

All in all for what we paid for the room, this hotel was very reasonable and we most certainly could have done far worse. We would have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Arrived late very helpful receptionist and polite, The room was very small and the shower room was very humorous. Hotel looked very tired and could do with a total refurbishment. I agree with the earlier comments of noise from the street. I too was awoken a few times by noisy party revellers albiet a Saturday night. Also could here neighbour snoring and talking. Sorry Hotel de Paris but you need to take these comments on board.

Room Tip: The only comment I can make is I believe there are rooms to the rear of the Hotel. We stayed overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tudor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Adequate hotel but the room and bed was very small.Not a very nice area

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkKing_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#17 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Dandy
Hotel Le Dandy
#21 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#13 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inter Hotel Notre Dame
Inter Hotel Notre Dame
#28 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De L'Europe
Hotel De L'Europe
#10 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Rouen Alba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Property: Hotel de Paris
Address: 12 rue de la Champmesle, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well located in the centre of Rouen, the hotel is near museums, cinemas, banks, stores and restaurants. The rooms are accessible by lift, confortable with double-glazed windows and bath or shower, hairdryer, direct line telephone and cable tv. L'Hôtel de Paris is open every day, all year and the reception open till 10 pm. You can enjoy the hotel’s lovely lounge-bar for relaxation, and can also be used as a meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing