We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Ended up staying there after the hotel I booked made a mistake and did not have enough rooms. I may not have booked this hotel at first, but it ended up being great. Excellent location, close to the pedestrianized area of the town. The room was clean and staff was nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower, otherwise you will get a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nade644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    51
    42
    23
    18
See reviews for
36
63
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel de Paris in Rouen is situated very close to the main shopping area and the cathedral making it superbly placed for a flying visit. The hotel is 2 stars and represents excellent value for money. Reception closes after 9 pm every day. Breakfast was good with nice fresh bread, croissants, ham cheese and hard boiled eggs. Coffee was hot. Expect to pay when you arrive. Parking is available at a public car park near by which opens at 7 am and closes at 9 pm. Cars can be left overnight. We paid about 9 euros for a stay of about 17 hours. The staff were very polite and offered us a free map o the city pointing out all of the main attraction. The bill for two people for one night with breakfast was approx. 90 euros, including taxes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked a room for 6 through booking.com and were promised a large family room with two doubles and two singles. When we arrived at the hotel we were shown to three separate,independent rooms,each sleeping two people and they denied having a 'family' room. We were very tired after a day of traveling with fractious unwell kids and they were horribly unhelpful. We explained that our kids were not old enough to sleep alone and they simply shrugged! We had no choice but to cancel the room and spend the next hour frantically driving around the city to find an alternative hotel. As we left Hotel de Paris we were promised a refund by the end of the weekend- to cut a long and very boring story short it took 4 weeks to get a full refund, and this was only after my wife complained about booking.com publicly on twitter! The hotel continually denied our complaint and it was booking.com who refunded us.
The hotel was clean but shabby and boiling hot with no air con, so I guess we had a lucky escape, despite the stress it involved.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked a family room at this hotel, purely on price and location, to break up a long drive back to the channel ferry, and had no great expectations of it. It is situated just across a wide road to the river, and a short walk the other way to the cathedral and central main square of Rouen. The area is a maze of streets and I was glad of satnav to find it, though it is well signposted from about a quarter of a mile away. Parking is on street, and has to be paid for, but as we arrived on a Sunday there was plenty available and it appeared to be free, as no cars were showing a ticket. The family accommodation slept four in two double beds, in two separate rooms, and was clean, comfortable and well-presented. Breakfast was ok, if a little sparse, though very overpriced at Euro 8.50 each. Rouen is a beautiful city and we enjoyed the sights and the hotel, and would stay there again for a night or two, if no more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HadrianOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Fantastic location for the old town and river
Very reasonably priced, clean and good breakfast
Thats the positives.
The rooms ( we had two doubles) were small and very hot with no air con
The room at the front of the hotel overlooked a busy road the one at the back an equally busy courtyard.
So the choice is to lay awake all night with the heat or lay awake all night with the noise
On arrival we were told the was no underground parking, even though it is mentioned on the website and we saw people coming in and out of it
Were told to park on the street. Luckly there was a place right outside the door and as it was Saturday evening we didnt need to pay overnight \ Sunday parking charges
Having said all that Rouen is beautiful with plenty of more upmarket, more expensive hotels.
At the end of the day you get what you pay for - and thats exactly what we got

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilB_and_KarenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in the Hotel de Paris. Upon arrival I reserved parking place in their garage, with Kia Soul we were left with no choice but use public parking as the hotel's garage entrance was way to small. Stuff was very friendly and met expectations to fullest. Room we got had nothing to do with any of the photos from hotel's official website. It was very clean but very old and not maintained. Bathroom is very tiny and shower has plastic curtain (not hygiene-friendly in my opinion), with no place to hang your clothes or towels. This all falls back into the back scene once you get to lie down into the bed -> if you are taller than 175, your feet are hanging over the bed edge, however that also can be parked aside once you realize that walls are not thicker than a sheet of paper, every word can be heard, tv channel and love sharing. Its simply not worth the money...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The hotel is super central,and easy walk to all the sites,the staff where friendly and helpful. Our room was on the small side but ok to move around,the smell of new paint was over whelming,we let the staff know and they offered to move us,no argument . The rooms needed a little "TLC" but where clean and comfortable. We only stayed 1 night and went out for breakfast,if you are looking for a cute,clean,central hotel,I recommend this one. It loses a star because single bed was very small in width and the street can be noisy..

Room Tip: Not on the main street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppetfoofoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#17 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Dandy
Hotel Le Dandy
#21 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#13 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inter Hotel Notre Dame
Inter Hotel Notre Dame
#28 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De L'Europe
Hotel De L'Europe
#10 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Rouen Alba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Property: Hotel de Paris
Address: 12 rue de la Champmesle, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well located in the centre of Rouen, the hotel is near museums, cinemas, banks, stores and restaurants. The rooms are accessible by lift, confortable with double-glazed windows and bath or shower, hairdryer, direct line telephone and cable tv. L'Hôtel de Paris is open every day, all year and the reception open till 10 pm. You can enjoy the hotel’s lovely lounge-bar for relaxation, and can also be used as a meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing