We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Basic hotel/hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astrid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Astrid Hotel
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very Basic hotel/hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Let's start with location. This place can not get any closer to the train station which may or may not be good depending on your view. It is literally across the street from the train station making it easy to get to the rouen metro and connect to all train stations. we were using it as a layover from a late train arrival coming from CDG airport. there are plenty of shops/restaurants/banks nearby.

This is a very very basic hotel. The room consists of a queen size bed, one desk, a tiny closet and a tiny LCD screen tv 13-14" if that size. We did not use the TV so can not comment on it. The bathroom is very tiny as well, an extremely tiny shower , sink, and separate toilet. Look, this is as basic as it gets otherwise you're talking about hostels. If you're used to hostels this is luxury if you are used to hotels this is as basic as it gets. There are 5-6 floors on the hotel, we had a higher floor 5th floor so noise issue was not a big deal but i did need to wear ear plugs as the walls were thin and being close to the train station. look, you get what you pay for- to find a room on shoulder season for 62 euros/night with this close proximity is a bargain. there are other hotels nearby hotel anderson as well as a best western - they charge higher rates - we initially were booked with hotel anderson but they did not accept guests after 9pm which did not work given our late train arrival.

on a bright note, the internet is free wifi - very fast connection - surprising given this type of hotel. i probably would say it was as fast as my home connection in the states. if you're looking for a no frills, just a step above a hostel type of hotel with an en-suite bathroom, this is the place for you. if you need something more than this, look elsewhere or you may be greatly disappointed an appalled. we stayed one night and it suited my purposes, if i was planning to stay longer or needed it longer, than i would have chosen elsewhere. they have a breakfast upstairs for about 7.5 euros./person we did not use it.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trekkersocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    18
    34
    16
    3
See reviews for
10
24
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

If you really must stay at the Hotel Astrid, be sure you don't have a room on the first floor....
Our room was in front of the stairs, just up from reception & little did we know the horrors that that seemingly insignificant fact would bear upon us during our one night stay.
The problems began around 3am when we were awoken by a rather loud doorbell ringing downstairs. At this particular hotel there is a security door that must be opened by the receptionist after a certain time, & this particular evening, the person in charge of the front desk had vanished. So, for the next 30-40 minutes the doorbell rang almost continuously until the receptionist returned from... wherever. Then, after letting the poor people in (who then began to use the shower in the room above us - paper-thin walls & ceilings didn't help our situation...), he had a phonecall(!) for about one hour. Then after hanging up, he switched on the TV & watched about two hours of Friends reruns (I guess from the canned laughter...), by which point the sun was almost up & we had to hit the road.
So if you're on a budget, this hotel maybe okay, but in three words: Request higher floor.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sephly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

We stayed here for one night on our way from Bordeaux to Calais. We parked in the train station car park which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel and cost about 12 euros for 12 hours. The check in staff were helpful but the room wasn't great. It was very clean but in desperate need of modernising. Even so the room was fine for a one night stay. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from any restaurants but there are probably more restaurants when it is a more touristy season.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights.....the reason to stay here is for the very helpful and friendly staff and convenience to the train station (we returned a rental car here) Rooms are worn and in a real need of updating.....that aside, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and the convenience of walking out the front door....cross a square and taking the train to Paris were worth it to us. It was also an easy stroll into the historic part of the city.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurolady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
99 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

Stayed here for one one in july. Had a single room on fourth floor with window against railway station. Small room but very clean and with flat-tv screen. Quite a good breakfast on the sixth floor.

  • Liked — Great location and clean
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 1globetrotterSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHENS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

The hotel is really close the train station,actually,it's just a small walk opposite the street.If you can tolerate it's totaly basic rooms it's a fine solution for those who don't want to splurge....Funny (weird not haha)bathrooms...If you are looking for something stylish-sorry folks,wrong place.It's just a very simple very basic hotel where you wouldn't feel like staying for long.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlegreekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beausejour
Hotel Beausejour
#27 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#14 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Celine
Hotel Celine
#26 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel de Dieppe
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Dandy
Hotel Le Dandy
#21 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Rouen Alba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astrid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astrid Hotel

Property: Astrid Hotel
Address: 11 Place Bernard Tissot, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Astrid Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Astrid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astrid Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing