We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B stay”
Review of Le Clos Jouvenet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rouen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Clos Jouvenet
Ranked #4 of 28 Rouen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. This is the wonderful B&B and Catherine is the perfect hostess. I don't have any new information beyond what has already been submitted, but I second all the positive comments. A wonderful time visiting Rouen!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank jondutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from France. We toured northern France - WWI battlefields and Normandy. Not wanting to be moving everyday, we booked four nights at a great bed and breakfast, Le Clos Jouvenet, in Rouen as our home base in Normandy. The B&B owner is a lovely lady (with a very friendly cat). She provided us with maps and recommended a number of restaurants. We rented the St. Joseph room with a wonderful of view Rouen. There was also a very nice sitting room down the hall, where we could relax and put our feet up. Breakfast was very good - we did not want to leave.

The B&B was easy to locate and parking was available on site. The walk to Rouen centre was reasonable (< 20 minutes) and we enjoyed the many sites, restaurants and shops that Rouen has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We began our 2 week vacation to Normandy in this jewel of a home. The house, rooms and furnishings are understated, beautiful and inviting. The garden is stunning. The photos on the website do not do this place justice....it is much more lovely! The house is located beyond the main tourist attractions, but it is a manageable walk, and if one is tired, there is always the metro as well as taxis. Our host Catherine could not have been nicer. She is a warm and intelligent person who made us feel very welcome. She had many ideas of sites to see and excellent restaurant recommendations. This was such a wonderful way to begin our vacation, and I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Over a number of years we have stayed in many chambres d'hote in France, often very good, but I can confidently say this beats them all. If I were permitted to give it six stars I would!

Le Clos Jouvenet is a very appealing traditional house in a beautiful garden in an attractive quiet area of Rouen overlooking the city. The house is beautifully furnished with attractive bedrooms and our bathroom had top quality fittings, yet there was a warm relaxed atmosphere, even in dismal weather.

What made it special, however, was the hosts, M. and Mme de Witte. We were made to feel really welcome from the moment of our arrival. Catherine met us where we had arrived by car in the road at the back in the rain and directed my rather tricky reversal into their garden. Once we had put our things in our room she sat us down with drinks and gave us excellent advice on things to see, shopping and restaurants in Rouen. We really slept well and the breakfast was lovely.

The only slight problem is that for us, in our 70's, it is about half an hour's walk from the Vieux Marche, uphill on the way back. Catherine gave us details of buses, etc, but on the second evening, after we had walked a lot, M. de Witte volunteered to drive us to the restaurant in the Vieux Marche, saying he had to meet someone at the station. Service! Incidentally, we ate in three restaurants recommended, two of which they booked for us, and all were excellent.

This was a delightful stay, and if we are in the Rouen area again, we would not dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Le Clos Jouvenet for 4 nights while we explored Rouen, Normandy and the Somme. Catherine was a truly exceptional host who really went above and beyond offering recommendations of restaurants and sights to visit. Nothing was a problem for her, even when we left extremely early on morning to go to the war fields. Breakfast was delicious with a different selection every morning. The house and rooms are impeccable and beautifully decorated - no wonder they have featured in many magazines.
If your only going to stay in one B&B in France, make it this one. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in Le Verger - very large room and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lyndsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had a great 2 day stay in June 2013 at Catherine DeWitt's lovely B&B. The home is a 15 minute walk- only hard to find the very first time- from the historic center. Very quiet property, beautiful, and she and her husband are gracious hosts. She was very helpful with sights and restaurants in town, and allowed us plenty of solitude as well. The breakfast was fantastic- beautiful breads, fresh OJ, tasty jams and excellent coffee. I highly recommend this jewel of a B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa13741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a little trouble finding Le Clos Jouvenet because of the narrow one way streets and our mapping program. However, once we found it, and Catherine directed us (backwards) down their driveway, we quickly figured out that we had landed in a fabulous place. The gardens that greet you are magnificent, even on a rainy day in April. The house itself is beautiful, well maintained and beautifully decorated. Catherine showed us a couple of different rooms (we were the only guests there on our first night) and let us pick which one we wanted. We chose the largest one with a king sized bed and a beautiful large bathroom. I loved the decorating, colors and the way everything coordinated. After we settled in, Catherine invited us for an afternoon drink of local cider and we enjoyed a great chat. She gave us recommendations of restaurants and even made our reservation for that evening's dinner. She was so helpful with advice about touring as well. For example, she recommended the local roads instead of the highway to Giverny, which turned out to be a good choice. The house is on a hill and it's a walk into Rouen, but we enjoy walking and appreciated a good walk after all of the wonderful French food and wine we consumed! In the mornings, we enjoyed a great breakfast in the sun porch overlooking the beautiful garden, where Spring was just starting to appear. Catherine (who is Belgian and speaks perfect English) has been in the hospitality/travel business for her career and it showed in every corner of that house. The details and special touches made our stay fantastic. Le Clos Jouvenet was the best B&B we stayed in during our 7 weeks in France!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kayteeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Vieux Carre
Le Vieux Carre
#12 of 50 in Rouen
179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#19 of 50 in Rouen
379 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chambres d'Hotes La Maison
7.1 mi away
La Gourmandine
La Gourmandine
#3 of 28 in Rouen
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Jouvenet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Jouvenet

Address: 42 rue Hyacinthe Langlois, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Rouen
Price Range: £77 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heaven of peace a few minutes from the Cathedral of Rouen. Four elegant rooms in a nineteenth century town house set in a delightful garden amidst tranquil surroundings. Parking on the grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Clos Jouvenet Hotel Rouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing