We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, but jaded.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Carmes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel des Carmes
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Iden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming, but jaded.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This a two star hotel so don't expect too much. It hasn't been decorated for a very long time and it could really do with it. A small example - the number of our room was written on the door in pencil! The room was clean but tiny and the bathroom was even tinier. We were at the back of the hotel so no view, but it was quiet. oh, and the pillows were awful - we had a couple of cushions in the car and they came in very handy. The bar opposite was great and you are right in the heart of Rouen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front. I think they're much bigger and better fitted out. Take your own p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    47
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
22
65
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, IL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were very tired when we arrived. It was really difficult to find the hotel. We had to have someone get in our car and show us where the hotel is located. We stayed in the annex in an apartment building down the street from the hotel. The room was spacious, clean and quiet (even though we overlooked the small square). The bed was very comfortable. The. location was central and we enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel. We thought this was a good value in Rouen.

Room Tip: Please note that there is no swimming pool or fitness center. I would recommend the rooms in the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baseball111997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Nice big room, clean and welcoming, with tall double door windows onto a quiet street. Very central for shops, with a cafe bar 2 doors along for tea and Affligen. Helpful, friendly owner, even boiled the kettle to fill our flask twice for us. Bed was seriously comfy, excellent shower, french tv channels. Very close to parking, Zara, all shops on your doorstep. Dog friendly, although make sure you find the park to take your dog to in the morning: it's a 4 minute walk, but well hidden. Rouen doesn't really do grassy patches. Will definitely choose this hotel again when we visit Rouen - lovely and interesting city.

Room Tip: Room 1 overlooks the street, with large windows (with rails), and was quiet. If you can park out fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShagratBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Charming best describes it. Small with nicely renovated rooms, great breakfast with homemade products, central, not too loud outside at night etc.

Would go there again, especially as they promised to make WiFi also work in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_in_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Hotel des Carmes is well located in a quite pedestrian only street with nice views over a typical french street scene through the large windows in our apartment.
We arrived a little before 4pm only to find that the hotel didn't open until 4. Wasn't a problem as it gave us time to unwind and have a coffee at a cafe on the square next door to the hotel.
Owner arrived punctually at 4pm, apologising for having us wait.
The room was good, plenty of room for us to organise ourselves for our two day stay and the bathroom with bath! was very functional.
Our only real problem was with the free wifi. It only allowed one person at a time access. We did not need to use it a lot but it was inconvenient to have to wait for your turn.
Owner was particularly friendly and of great assistance with our many queries. His recommendation for dinner was perfect.
Perfect hotel for our needs, good, functional and friendly. We look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Usas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We spent two nights at this friendly hotel. The Owner greeted us warmly and made us feel right at home. The room was comfortable and the location was good for exploring Rouen on foot. Nice restaurants near by. We explored Normandy for a couple of days before moving on. The wife of the owner has her paintings and sculptures decorating the loby. Breakfast, extra cost, was very nice and the coffee was great. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the street. Not noisy at all. I guess all rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

First of all.....its impossible to drive to.....the GPS will just take you round in circles. If you look on Street View and see cars.....don't be deceived they have special permission to be there.

There room was tired in the extreme.....the wallpaper in the room....I had to look twice....it looked like the paper had been torn off the walls but that was the rather odd design. Scruffy finish to the room but bed and bathroom were clean. People walking around outside making a racket until 4am then at 6am the street cleaning machine starts.

Yes it is in a good position for the old town.....but I would not describe the manager I saw as "friendly" he was just doing his job - did not go out of his way at all.

Parking.....this IS an issue ! I strongly suggest you park at the open Square carpark at the junction of Rue Armand Carrell and Rue d' Amiens and walk straight up Rue d'Amiens and Rue de la Chaine which then leads into the street where you will find the hotel which is actually just around the corner from Rue des Carmes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichCotswoldChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rouen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Dandy
Hotel Le Dandy
#21 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Vieux Carre
Le Vieux Carre
#15 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#19 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De L'Europe
Hotel De L'Europe
#10 of 51 in Rouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#22 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Carmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Carmes

Property: Hotel des Carmes
Address: 33 Place des Carmes, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Carmes 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Carmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Carmes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing