We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, great service, impeccable, cozy. Downside: Noisy”
Review of Hotel des Carmes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Carmes
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Rouen
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Spent a night with family in two triple rooms. Great service -just remember to phone if arriving past 8pm. We were lucky and found a parking spot right in front of the hotel, otherwise you have to walk three blocks to the hotel de ville parking garage, which is nice because you go through beautiful streets and then find the breathtaking cathedral.
We took the breakfast there and it was a good idea, the service was excellent, excellent value.
Only complain is the noise in the street. Next door there's a bar that put loud music until 11pm, then I heard people walking on the street throughout the night, some of them maybe half drunk, shouting and goofing. I can't say I had a good night sleep. One member of the family complained also that her bed was not 100% flat so she kept rolling.
Bathrooms are modern with lots of hot water and great water pressure (you don't always find that). Overall I'd recommend it, just try to get a room that doesn't face the street or take ear plugs.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2009

This hotel is laid back and definitely a two star. Its a bit run down, but its clean and the bathrooms are nice. The location is fantastic. Its hard to get to by car, but its really fun to drive around the old medieval streets of Rouen. Its in the old section of town, with very little parking around the hotel, but you can park nearby at the Hotel de Ville parking garage about 3 blocks away and they will validate parking for a reduction in price of parking. The rooms are small, but some have a double and a twin, so it worked for our family. Its a bit noisy--no A/C as is typical with most french hotels, and the beds are well, definitely 2 star! That being said, its a fine place to stay for one night, and the price is good for a city hotel. The town is wonderful--the cathedral is a must see. And the market in the Place de Vieux Marche (by the Joan of Arc monument/Church) is beautiful. The people are friendly in this town--its a great place to spend a day.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank playquartets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Just one caveat...don't arrive between noon and 4:00 p.m. because no one is there to check you in and you'll have to wait....That being said we waited at the bar on the Place des Carmes and had a great time...

This place is a find! Get ready for charming, rustic, and rough around the edges (in a good way). The rooms vary (my parents' room was palatial, as was my sister's, but mine alas was quite small); I didn't care though because the whole place has that "je ne sais quoi" that makes it special. The owners did everything right...right down to scotches before dinner to a fantastic breakfast every morning with croissants, bread, home made jams, coffee and juice.

One night my parents didn't want to go out for dinner so I ordered take out. The owner of the hotel, Monsieur Dorin, had no problem with us spreading out in the breakfast area like it was our own restaurant.

The rooms are spic-and-span clean and the bathrooms are ample. Our bed was very comfortable.

This place is a must...it's too great and too cheap to pass up! Enjoy! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micmor212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We arrived by train to Rouen, and walked to the hotel in about 15-20mins.
The hotel has lovely charming rooms, and we had a large modern bathroom.
The hotel in great for walking around Rouen, there are a wealth of shops, restaurants and attractions around. Strongly recommend trad french restaurant one street north on the corner above a pharmacy (entrance is up some stairs).
Did not try breakfast in hotel, as plenty of bakeries and coffee shops around. The breakfast room is also in the large foyer so little bit of strange set up. Owners helpful and spoke good english. All in alll very enjoyable, and could even reach Monet's gardens easily by train too.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theatricalangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Located in the heart of the old city. Right besides the cathedrals and all major monuments.
We spent a night there during our trip in France and it was great. Very clean, nice little breakfast, friendly management staff.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Very convenient parking at the Hotel de Ville. Only costs 5Euros per night if you get your ticked stamped at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMDVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

A lovely hotel with a great location very central with a very quaint family atmosphere. Excellently managed by a very hospitable french bilingual couple with a lovely breakfast also

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tipperaryjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2008

We stayed here for one night en route from Paris to Bayeux. The owner speaks good English and is extremely helpful. The location is perfect - you can walk to everything in the Rouen historic area from here, and the hotel has an arrangement with the underground car park just 3 minutes walk away. On leaving, you take a stamped slip from the hotel and benefit from a reduction on the car parking fee. The hotel looks out onto Place des Carmes, a charming outlook. The room we had was on the first floor looking onto the Place. The room was small, with 2 French windows, and the bathroom quite spacious (for a small hotel). Everything was in good condition. Breakfast is an extra cost and is served by the owner in the foyer/breakfast area, or outside if weather is warm enough. It consisted of coffee, pastries, yoghurt, juice etc. Overall, we were happy with our stay there - for these reasons: location; friendliness and helpfulness of the owner, the price (extremely reasonable), parking and the very pleasing outlook from our room. Rouen is an interesting city, the cathedral with its displays about World War 2 is particularly interesting.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vicolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Vieux Carre
Le Vieux Carre
#12 of 50 in Rouen
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#19 of 50 in Rouen
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Dandy
Hotel Le Dandy
#25 of 50 in Rouen
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inter Hotel Notre Dame
Inter Hotel Notre Dame
#29 of 50 in Rouen
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Morand
Hotel Morand
#23 of 50 in Rouen
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Carmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Carmes

Address: 33 Place des Carmes, 76000, Rouen, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Rouen
Price Range: £51 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Carmes 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel des Carmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Carmes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing