We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Seafood (way better than at Normandy seaside restaurants)”
Review of La Pecherie

La Pecherie
Ranked #11 of 655 Restaurants in Rouen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Seafood (way better than at Normandy seaside restaurants)”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Went to have a 'fruits de mer' (seafood) platter at noon, together with my wife. After a rather disappointing seafood experience two days earlier at one of the so-called "best restaurants" of Etretat, we decided to try a seafloot platter again. It was top notch quality : a nice and general selection of various treasures the local coastal waters have to offer (langoustines, crab, oysters, "bigourneaux" , etc... ), all incredibly fresh and tasty. Friendly and welcoming service. English spoken. If you are in Rouen and are looking for nice seafood : don't hesitate, try La Pêcherie (probably (much) better than many of its equivalents in the tourist towns near the coast). They are directly supplied, every morning, straight from Fécamp (which hosts a fishing port). One could easily doubt someone's words, but in this case , I didn't : the seafood platter and the freshness of its products spoke for itself ...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 188644Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    116
    27
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We hesitated before gong in. Approaching from the river bank the place seemed very uninspiring as there was no view into the restaurant and no clue as to what we could expect other than the menu on display. Throwing caution to the winds we took the plunge.

Our gamble was rewarded with an excellent meal. Fruits de Mer, delicious fish and an excellent Foie Gras ( not in that order). Friendly and efficient service, relaxed atmosphere. Very reasonable prices. A great find. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilot_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Not to be missed!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Literally just returned to our hotel after eating at this gem of a resturant. After reading the reviews on here we sort out this resturant as we have a love of seafood, as said before is a little hard to find as is of the main strip, however follow the map on here an you will get there no problem. The food is exquisite, best meal we have eaten in france bar non, the staff were amazing and made us feel so welcome, (we were the only English people dining) really explained the menu well and even helped me get into my snails!! Would recommend this place to any one who loves seafood and great service!! Many thanks to the guys there, made my holiday so far!!

Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Everything about this restaurant was fantastic, incredibly helpful staff, very welcoming and the food was spectacular!

I had the Plateau de fruits de mer which was second to none! accompanied by a bottle of Cotes De Gascogne Les 4 - Reserve which was the ideal accompaniment to the large dish!

Highly recommend this restaurant for the amazingly fresh fish.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrob1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“a great find in Rouen”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

At first a bit strange; if you enter from one side it is one type of restaurant and then we climbed a number of stairs to another type; all the same place. But immediately made welcome by young enthusiastic staff who could speak English and explain the excellent menu. All aspects of the meal were great and the wine choice excellent. So good to be able to choose half bottles. this place is a must if you want to enjoy amazing fresh fish.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pecherie also viewed

Rouen, Seine-Maritime
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 
Rouen, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to La Pecherie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing