We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such A Delight!!”
Review of Gite La Samsonelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gite La Samsonelle
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Our stay at Gite La Samsonelle at Fontevraud d'Abbaye was such a delight. Such a lovely appointed comfortable accommodation, old world charm creatively renovated for modern living, the building and the superbly laid out gardens and grounds were lovingly maintained and contained all we needed for our stay. Easy to get to and with onsite parking it created a perfect base for our discovery of all that the town and surrounding region offers. So much to see and do - the grand expanse of the Abbey itself, its history is astounding, was right there on our doorstep almost. The markets of Montsoreau; the charm of Saumur and the Ponts across the Loire; the cavalry academy, the mystique of trogoldyte dwellings, the Chatelet at Breze and finding Moulin's amongst the vinyards, all within easy driving of the Gite. The hospitality of the owners, Sylvie and Mark was welcoming and helpful and with enjoyable conversation over aperitifs. We would visit again if passing back this way.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heydonar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2010

This is a well furnished gite in a great location in the centre of the Loire. Great access to nearby villages, but with great facilities in the town. The garden of the gite is lovely - our daughter loved running down to the bottom of the garden and playing in the pool. Great for those who want to visit a few caves to sample the wine. Nearby chateau and zoo also provided great entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winetourist26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

If you want to spend some time at Fontevraud you should try to stay at that house. Sylvie and Marc, the owners, are really nice people. Besides French, they speak English, German and will be glad to help whenever they can. Two lovely cuddely cats are around the house and a little pond with water lilies and some frogs. The garden is beautiful - Sylvie is a real good gardener.
If you wish to see some photos you should visit Sylvie's homepage. Moreover, if you want to see some pictures of the Loire valley and the castles, please feel free to visit www.webshots.com and search for the member unicorn1712 - lots of photos of France are stored there and will give to you impressions of this place of the world

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unicorn1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed in la samsonelle for a week last summer and we were immediately blown away by village setting and location of the gite. The house was very clean and had a lovely homely feel to it. The bathroom and kitchen were of a high quality with great views over the garden from each. The garden was beautiful and we sat outside most nights with our food and wine. A big plus for fontevraud L'abbaye is that it is incredibly well placed for wine tasting and buying, saumur champigny chateau's are literally on the doorstep and chinon and various other great areas are a within comfortable day trip distance. The gite is about 2-300 yards from the village bakery and shop for food drink and the essential morning pastries. Mark and Sylvie were great hosts who made us feel comfortable straight away and provided us with great advice for our stay, in particular sending us to la licorne - a restaurant across the street which served incredibly delicate and delicious food,( if the good weathers in the walled garden). There were no negative points in our opinion and would highly reccomend La samsonelle to couples and families.

ben and joanne mckenna

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandHorace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Gite La Samsonelle is located in a charming village in the heart of the Loire Valley. It has all the amenities you require to have a lovely break away. We especially enjoyed sitting outside in the large and very well maintained garden enjoying the local wines and BBQ's! Gite La Samonelle has a couple of fabulous restaurants within walking distance. In fact one is located directly across the road from the Gite! There are also many other small villages close by along the river which hold local markets and have great 'la caves' and cafes and various points of interest. The Loire Valley is a fantastic place to holiday and deciding to stay in the village of Fontevraud l'Abbaye is a wonderful choice!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyhoskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: il y a 2 chambres ds ce gite. Ce n'est pas un hotel mais une maison
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Severine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EMILIE_CONTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fontevraud-l'Abbaye hotels
0.3 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Domaine de Mestre
Le Domaine de Mestre
#3 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite La Samsonelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite La Samsonelle

Address: 40 rue Robert D Arbrissel, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Price Range: £71 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully restored 2 bedroom 'tuffeau' 4 star-gîte in historic village of Fontevraud L'Abbaye. Landscaped garden with enclosed privacy garden overlooking pond with waterlilies and large inflatable pool. Shops, services and 3 gastronomic restaurants in the village. 3 golf courses nearby. Sylvie, Mark and their children welcome you to an extremely well located and cosy residence, less than 2 minutes walk away from the magnificence of the royal abbey, in the heart of the historic village.The perfect setting in which to relax and share in the joy of life and in the appreciation of historic buildingsCouples or families up to 6 people are welcome for a week, a short break or a couple of nights.We are fluent in English, French and German (even a bit of Spanish) and will do our utmost to welcome you and make you feel at home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing