We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The complete package - excellent accomodation with pleasant knowledgeable hosts.with”
Review of Gite La Samsonelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gite La Samsonelle
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We spent a wonderful three weeks at La Samsonelle. Our hosts Sylvie and Mark both are fluent in English and French. They were welcoming and knowledgeable without being obtrusive. The gite contained a comprehensive set of brochures, maps, walking and velo guides. Sylvite and Mark also arranged a cooking class for us which was a real highlight. Sylvie also took us on a guided tour of the famous Abbaye Royale in the town. Despite having seen many abbeys, churches etc, Sylvie's tour made the abbey and it's connection to the town come alive for us. Although built in the old style the gite is very modern with a modern kitchen containing a washer/dryer, a modern bathroom and two bedrooms with good beds which sleeps six comfortably. For young families there are lots of toys and games and a travel cot. The town is lively without being touristy with restaurants, tearooms, boulangeries, specialty shops of local delicacies and a small epicerie. We have stayed in a number of gites in France and this was by far the best. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank R0ckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Gite La Samsonelle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

We spent 6 very relaxing days at La Samsonelle in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye. Sylvie is an excellent hostess. The apartment is well equipped, clean, very quiet and the garden is most peaceful.

We received a lot of helpful information from our hosts. We arrived on a rainy day and very delighted to find our apartment warm and cosy.

We enjoyed walking to the bakery in the mornings to get fresh Croissants and Baguette. There are a couple of recommendable restaurants in the village and a lot of sights to visit in the surrounding villages.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GS-MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We have stayed in this gite back in August 2009 - I keep meaning to write all my TripAdvisor reviews but life gets in way. Still, I hope it is worth confirming what others say.

The gite was very nicely decorated, with lovely garden and it was meticulously clean (such a relief when one comes across that). Sylvie and Mark were very lovely and helpful hosts. The village is very cute, Abby (two minutes away from the gite) is a must and all Loire attractions are "on the doorstep". And champagne is all around you and affordable too :)

I would avoid the restaurant across the road (La Licorne) - way too expensive for what it really was - I felt it was completely out of touch with what is going on in the world of food today- really stuffy and pretentious without the backing of superb food it should be serving for the price. I see now on that the ownership has changed since - so maybe it is better now.

Still, that has nothing to do with Gite La Samsonelle - which I thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrijanaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This gite is brilliant. Clean , well appointed, comfortable. Really good kitchen and fantastic bathroom. Beautiful quiet garden with small pool. So near the little town centre and abbey but an oasis of calm. Family owners so helpful. Ideal base for all the Loire including Saumur. Good hypermarket nearby . Not far from Tours for TGV to Paris in an hour (can easily hire bikes whne you get there! Thank you Sylvie and family for a wonderful holiday.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank wheels02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Our stay at Gite La Samsonelle at Fontevraud d'Abbaye was such a delight. Such a lovely appointed comfortable accommodation, old world charm creatively renovated for modern living, the building and the superbly laid out gardens and grounds were lovingly maintained and contained all we needed for our stay. Easy to get to and with onsite parking it created a perfect base for our discovery of all that the town and surrounding region offers. So much to see and do - the grand expanse of the Abbey itself, its history is astounding, was right there on our doorstep almost. The markets of Montsoreau; the charm of Saumur and the Ponts across the Loire; the cavalry academy, the mystique of trogoldyte dwellings, the Chatelet at Breze and finding Moulin's amongst the vinyards, all within easy driving of the Gite. The hospitality of the owners, Sylvie and Mark was welcoming and helpful and with enjoyable conversation over aperitifs. We would visit again if passing back this way.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heydonar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This is a well furnished gite in a great location in the centre of the Loire. Great access to nearby villages, but with great facilities in the town. The garden of the gite is lovely - our daughter loved running down to the bottom of the garden and playing in the pool. Great for those who want to visit a few caves to sample the wine. Nearby chateau and zoo also provided great entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winetourist26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

If you want to spend some time at Fontevraud you should try to stay at that house. Sylvie and Marc, the owners, are really nice people. Besides French, they speak English, German and will be glad to help whenever they can. Two lovely cuddely cats are around the house and a little pond with water lilies and some frogs. The garden is beautiful - Sylvie is a real good gardener.
If you wish to see some photos you should visit Sylvie's homepage. Moreover, if you want to see some pictures of the Loire valley and the castles, please feel free to visit www.webshots.com and search for the member unicorn1712 - lots of photos of France are stored there and will give to you impressions of this place of the world

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unicorn1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
0.3 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
376 reviews
1.5 mi away
Domaine de Roiffe
Domaine de Roiffe
#1 of 1 in Roiffe
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Domaine de Mestre
Le Domaine de Mestre
#3 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
112 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gite La Samsonelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite La Samsonelle

Address: 40 rue Robert D Arbrissel, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Price Range: £70 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully restored 2 bedroom 'tuffeau' 4 star-gîte in historic village of Fontevraud L'Abbaye. Landscaped garden with enclosed privacy garden overlooking pond with waterlilies and large inflatable pool. Shops, services and 3 gastronomic restaurants in the village. 3 golf courses nearby. Sylvie, Mark and their children welcome you to an extremely well located and cosy residence, less than 2 minutes walk away from the magnificence of the royal abbey, in the heart of the historic village.The perfect setting in which to relax and share in the joy of life and in the appreciation of historic buildingsCouples or families up to 6 people are welcome for a week, a short break or a couple of nights.We are fluent in English, French and German (even a bit of Spanish) and will do our utmost to welcome you and make you feel at home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing