We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New at Le Domaine de Mestre´- La Table de Mestre´”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Domaine de Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have stayed at the Domaine de Mestre´ a number of times over the past and 20 years and in spite of minor flaws, have been totally enchanted by the place - the beauty of the setting and its authenticity. We have watched it's evolution and now the very beautiful and elegant restaurant, La Table de Mestre´which opened this spring. In July we had dinner there and today we had lunch there. We sat in one of the two dining rooms with large open windows overlooking a terrace (possible to eat there as well) and garden with 200 year old trees. We were served by a charming and very helpful English speaking hostess. Both our meals were delicious, beautifully presented and an excellent value - 3 course lunch/21 euros. 3 course dinner/29 euros. Most of the vegetables are fresh from their garden - true to its ancient history as the fortified farm for the nearby L'Abbaye de Fontevraud. The cheese is made on site from the milk of their cows!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Islandfeverckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Le Domaine de Mestre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

Our family of 6 stayed at Domaine de Mestre for two days at the end of August 2012. Our intention was to visit the wonderful Abbey of Fontevraud nearby.. We enjoyed our stay very much - our three bedrooms were large and comfortable - more like staying in a country house than a hotel. Breakfast was excellent, as was the one evening meal we had. I would recommend this, particularly if you were looking for a more interesting experience than the standard hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindsayAvebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We, as a party of 8 stayed at Domaine for a two night stopover on a 10 day road trip. Our room had been damaged by rain and the owners begrudgingly moved us to another 'suite' which still had signs of water damage. The owners wanted to charge more money for the 'privilege' which was eventually waived. 'Herman Munster' (the owner) flatly refuses to speak English. White wine is totally alien to him whereas I fully understand vin blanc.
The meal was good, albeit tainted by the air of indifference from the staff. Not a great stay but I am sure it will suit some who look for location rather than atmosphere and quality.

Room Tip: There appear to be two parts to the accommodation. Avoid the far right!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jervo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

After reading and hearing such great reviews, we were disappointed with Domaine de Mestre. The location is beautiful and when we arrived we had such high hopes. However our first room was shabby and had a very small bed. The owners reluctantly moved us to a 'suite' which still had wallpaper peeling off in one room and a very musty smell about it. The language barrier was a real problem here and a lack of empathy with their english guests made things very difficult at times. However the evening meal was very good and it is a great spot for exploring the local area. Shame the hosts weren't more friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We were a party of 8 and on the whole found our stay ok. One room had damp and wallpaper hanging off the wall so we asked for a different room. A recent storm had caused a leak in the roof causing the damage in the room. Another room was found for us . The Other rooms were fine. Lots of antique furniture giving a feel of old world charm .lovely soap shop in the grounds. Communications were difficult at times as the hosts didnt speak any English, thankfully their daughter did, so we muddled through. We stayed 2 nights and had a very good meal the Saturday night but the restaurant is closed on Sunday's . Pleasant surroundings .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobsnobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed in the hotel for one night on the way to the Dordogne and one night on the way back and it was a lovely half way stop. The hotel is full of old fashioned French charm; if you are expecting a sophisticated 21st Century impersonal hotel, you are in the wrong place. The pace is relaxing and the welcome is warm. The rooms are presented in a quaintness all of their own and we slept like the proverbial logs on both occasions. The breakfast was as plentiful and varied as you wanted it to be (the moist fruit cake an interesting offering, but delicious) The evening meal was a little disappointing as we found the slow cooked lamb rather dry and our taste buds not ready for the accompanying quince. The pork terrine starter was very tasty and the strawberry flan pleasant. It was a shame that the restaurant was not open on the first visit on a Thursday but the hotel management was very helpful in recommending the l'Unicorne in the village which was stunning! The wafting aroma of the soaps in the shop in the hotel grounds was powerful and you could easily be led astray into spending a lot of cash! Beautifully positioned for exploring the interesting locality.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Recently my wife and I did a walking tour through the Loire valley (Angers to Chinon). Great countryside, easy walking, friendly locals, great weather, what more could you want. Our 2 day stay at Domaine de Mestre was one of the highlights. Originally a Fantevraud Abbey farm. Some buildings date back to 12th century. It has been in the same family since 1795. It was turned into b&b 27 years ago. It is still a family affair. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, the hosts helpful and friendly. The highlight was the home cooked meal by Madame Dauge. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
376 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
415 reviews
2.9 mi away
Domaine de Roiffe
Domaine de Roiffe
#1 of 1 in Roiffe
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bussy
Hotel Le Bussy
#2 of 2 in Montsoreau
107 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
194 reviews
7.0 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de Mestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de Mestre

Address: Lieu Dit Mestre | BP 4, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Price Range: £84 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historical mansion is the former farm of the Royal Abbey of Fontevraud (from the 13th to the 18th centuries). It combines the charm of a traditional bed and breakfast with the comfort of a family-owned hotel. Located in a lush green setting, our Domain provides an exceptional relaxing peacefulness with first-class catering at its on-site restaurant La Table de Mestre where you can have lunch and dinner. The adjacent shady terrace overlooks the garden all year round. An ideal resort for families: family suites, baby equipment, games, play area... As well as numerous activities in the surrounding region: the tank museum, the Bioparc animal park, the Sleeping Beauty chateau in Usse; you can also stroll, cycle or ride on horseback alongside the Loire. Come and relax at our Domain, located within a radius of 3 to 20 km, you are in the heart of the Loire chateaux: Chinon, Azay le Rideau, Rigny Usse, Villandry, Langeais, Richelieu, Montsoreau, Saumur, Montreuil Bellay, Montgeoffroy... Wine connoisseurs will be delighted by the surrounding appellations: Saumur, Saumur Champigny, Chinon, Bourgueil, Touraine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Domaine de Mestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing