We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Domaine de Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2008

My teenage son and I stayed for one night.It has a peaceful country setting with no city noises to disturb sleep.The room was spacious , spotlessly clean and the decoration, including the bathroom, looked new.Homemade soap was particularly good.The dining room was beautiful and we enjoyed our dinner and breakfast there.Couldn't fault the owners or their warm welcome.Only sorry that we only stayed one night.I would definitely recommend le Domaine de Mestre.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Australiafrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    26
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
39
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We ( three couples stayed there for 3 nights ) agree with everthing in the previous review by JoolsDarling - Lovely rooms each with a different fabric 'wallpaper' and the family 'salon' for us to use as a sitting room, courtyard etc.
The family who run / own it couldt have been more helpful - advice on hiring bikes ( the cycle routes of the Loire go past the door) and eating out ( do try 'Le Delice' in nearby Fontevraud village - its a great traditional french bar + restaurant - difficult to find these days with all the 'gastronomique' places!)
and very reasonable - 70 for a double room.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank antrobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

This is a perfect country B & B. The Domaine is set back from the road, with a beautiful courtyard full of roses and heavy with the scent of handmade soaps from the adjacent soapmakers'. Our children loved playing with the two kittens in the yard and borrowing games from the living room to play either in the yard or upstairs in our rooms. I say rooms, because the cheapest family room (110 or 120 Euros, I've forgotten already!) had separate twin and double rooms, plus a couple of nice armchairs and a small table where we parents could enjoy a nice glass of wine after the children had gone to bed.
We ate here both nights. The food was good and homely, and our lovely hostess put us and our children at ease throughout. I've rarely felt so welcomed and happy in a restaurant.
The owner gave the children extra small portions to share when she noticed their tiny appetites and even took some money off the bill because of this. She made them a bouquet of jelly sweets for the table, which they loved.
This morning, one week later, I asked them to smell the soap I'd bought there and asked them what it made them think of. They answered,"The Hotel with the 'Princess and the Pea' beds, and Kitkat and Ginger (their names for the kittens). You can't buy memories like that!
This is a perfect place from which to explore the chateaux of the Loire as well as the towns of Chinon and Saumur.

  • Liked — warm welcome for children
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoolsDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North-East England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2007

We went here without having first read the TripAdvisor review when the hotel we have used before (le Bussy in Montsoreau) was full. Mestre gets a good review in the green Michelin Guide, and many things about it are brilliant.

Let's do them first. Location and ambience are excellent. Beautiful rooms (we stayed 2 nights and because they were full had to move to a different room on night 2 - no problem, both were excellent). Beautifully furnished and appointed. Pleasant courtyard. Dinner was excellent (though as with most French Table d'Hotes there was no choice) and superb value with use of produce (veal and vegetables) from their own farm. Wine was of limited choice (red, rose or white!) but of reasonable quality and sensibly priced. The best fromage frais in France for breakfast - again home made.

So what was wrong? Back to the breakfast - when everything else is so beautiful, why serve the (frankly awful) fruit juice in tiny plastic cups. That I just cannot understand. And monsieur - well I wouldn't exactly call him rude but he was not what you would call a friendly fellow. He can cook though!!

The key question - would we go back there? Yes. Definitely.

  • Liked — Quality of the rooms
  • Disliked — The owner's lack of grace
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ds47uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2005

We stayed three days and nights and were very pleased to have ignored the bad review on this site. We were met at the gate by name, though it was our first visit and made to feel welcome for our entire stay.
Our room was large, finely and confortably furnished. Breakfast was the best we were served in any of our trips to France: Fromage blanc & dried fruit, fresh fruit, juice, croissants and baguette, butter, condiments and as much café au lait as we wanted.
The soap store is a gem, with high quality products beautifully presented, though expensive (if one is used to Walmart and supermarket products).
All in all, a true joy: the best chambre d'hôte in which we have had the pleasure to stay in France.
By the way, the dog is a pussycat and too old to chase anything, and I can't imagine our hosts reacting with anything less than politesse unless excessively crudely provoked. And, yes, our room had a key and our privacy was rigorously respeced.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JLicharson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 October 2005

This place is a gem. Wonderful ambience, warm welcome, fantastic food, charming and comfortable rooms, perfect location. This is not a hotel, but a chambre d'hote, i.e. you are staying in someone's home, and don't expect it to be run like a formal hotel. It's an ancient former convent, with delightful flowery courtyards The dinner was Michelin-star quality, at less than average restauraant prices cooked and served by the two owners, with vegetables from their own potager opposite the dining room. The little shop sells the beautiful and totallly natural soaps (some are like works of art!) the family have produced there for centuries, and the daughter who runs it is incredibly knowledgeable about the processes and the art of creating perfumes. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2005

Stay clear of this hotel. We received a very cold welcome, indeed had trouble finding a reception room at all, were given no key to the room, and were scolded and talked down to in reprimand for wanting to lock our room while in town for dinner.. This, at the end of our two week journey in France, staying at beautiful places and treated to the best of hospitality. After such poor treatment, we decided not to stay, and left with screams of French obscenties, calling us studpid and ugly,and they got the dog out! How shameful. Beware. Although we too believe in the honesty of everyone, we still like to leave our belongings secure and be able to lock the door while we are asleep. They find that stupid, but I must say, they kept their soap store tightly secured after open hours.
We would highly, highly recommend staying at the Hotel of the Royal Abbaye in the town---wonderful restaurant, pretty room and very quiet and clean for $79 E which includes a tour of this huge ancient site which housed over 800 nuns in its day and is the site of the buriel of Henry II, Eleanor of Acquitaine, and Richard the Lion Hearted. I am glad we left it. Definitely not worth 60E.

Helpful?
5 Thank lystl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whisky49, Propriétaire at Le Domaine de Mestre, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Sir,
We have never had such a strong complaint and we were very upset to feel we had been so unwelcoming and misunderstanding to your needs.
Could some of this have been down to a language barrier ?
Time's have changed and now each room has a key and the dog is vegetarian !!
Salutation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
1.5 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Domaine de Roiffe
Domaine de Roiffe
#1 of 1 in Roiffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bussy
Hotel Le Bussy
#2 of 2 in Montsoreau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de Mestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de Mestre

Property: Le Domaine de Mestre
Address: Lieu Dit Mestre | BP 4, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historical mansion is the former farm of the Royal Abbey of Fontevraud (from the 13th to the 18th centuries). It combines the charm of a traditional bed and breakfast with the comfort of a family-owned hotel. Located in a lush green setting, our Domain provides an exceptional relaxing peacefulness with first-class catering at its on-site restaurant La Table de Mestre where you can have lunch and dinner. The adjacent shady terrace overlooks the garden all year round. An ideal resort for families: family suites, baby equipment, games, play area... As well as numerous activities in the surrounding region: the tank museum, the Bioparc animal park, the Sleeping Beauty chateau in Usse; you can also stroll, cycle or ride on horseback alongside the Loire. Come and relax at our Domain, located within a radius of 3 to 20 km, you are in the heart of the Loire chateaux: Chinon, Azay le Rideau, Rigny Usse, Villandry, Langeais, Richelieu, Montsoreau, Saumur, Montreuil Bellay, Montgeoffroy... Wine connoisseurs will be delighted by the surrounding appellations: Saumur, Saumur Champigny, Chinon, Bourgueil, Touraine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Domaine de Mestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing