We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet historic retreat”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quiet historic retreat”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Easy to find with good private parking. A warm courteous welcome [in english!] - quickly became part of the hotel family, receiving useful information about this historic Abbey 'village' and surroundings.

Perfect cuisine - wines pricey, but OK by the glass. - but good to sample before searching for them at source by the case to take home!

Wonderful good value continental breakfast in refreshing surroundings.

We had a delightful stay and will return.

Room Tip: We understand the rooms in the main hotel are traditional in decor. We chose a modern suite in the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Trevor G, Thank you for your five star review ! Yes you are right, we have rooms with a modern decor and 3 rooms with a traditional decor. As from this week 4 new rooms are on offer too: superior rooms with a special theme and a beautiful bath room. You can choose from a 'hunting' scene, a French style room, a 'United Kingdom' room, and a room inspired by the local abbey.
We are delighted to read that you bought some of the wines you tried in our restaurant - we are pleased that they lived up to your expectations. A bientôt !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    133
    34
    16
    10
See reviews for
45
213
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We are two sisters who have traveled all over France for many years. Very often we stay in Logis de France hotels and La Croix Blanche is most certainly, one of the most pleasurable we have experienced. The staff is very professional and very accomodating.(and a real plus, most speak English). The hotel itself is lovely with tons of charm but also comfortable and VERY clean. It's was also nice to have their two restaurants available after a long day of driving around the Loire. Their breakfast coffee machine produced a weak brew and without hesitation, the breakfast server went down to the espresso machine in the bar and returned with "real" coffee, all done with a smile. We would highly recommend this logis and would stay there again if ever in the area!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear sisters (as we came to know you!),
What's better than guests who really feel 'at home' in a hotel ?!
Your compliments are much appreciated !
Thank you from all the staff at La Croix Blanche.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The hotel is beautifully located , right accross from L'Abbaye and is warm comfortable and very welcoming . The owners and all the staff were very helpful . The Breakfast room ( and the breakfasts ! ) were a delight. The room was good and comfortable . We ate ih the Plantagenate restaurant for 2 of our 3 nights stay and the food was excellent , imaginative and delicious .

Room Tip: Choose a room in the older part of the hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martini6175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Gérant at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review which we shared with the team. The chef is delighted that you appreciated his new menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We spent one night in this logis during our re-visit to that area of France. We were offered a top price room at 140euros, which they reduced to 120euros as it was already evening when we arrived and we were prepared to leave. There were two sparsley furnished rooms. A small sitting room connected by a short flight of steps aqt one corner to a small double bedroom, with a bathroom up the furthest corner of the sitting room. There was a small, very dangerous melomine ramp instead of a step from just outside the bathroom into the fsitting room. Totally unnecessary as it was a room not suitable for wheelchairs. The bathroom was very dirty. There were pubic hairs and yellow dirt round the floor area beside the toilet and the toilet bowl was black with dirt. The floor tiles were cracked. The bath took an age to fill and had tiles missing above the tap area. The large main window between the bathroom and bedroom overlooked the main reception area below but only had a net curtain which meant that at night, with lights on in the room, we were exposed when going between bathroom and bedroom area. Lighting was poor and only one light worked in the sitting area. We ate in the Bistro attached to the logis as there was a private party in the main dining room. Lighting was poor, it was a cold room, music was Frank Sinatra, which was not appropriate but we were informed it could not be changed. Service was surly and poor. Food was good. As this is the only place to stay in this lovely village I would recommend people to stay in Saumour, where choice of accommodation is good , with a visit to l'Abbaye de Fontevraud during the day.

Room Tip: Examine the rooms in detail before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear mr and mrs C, Obviously the details you mentioned in your review are unacceptable and these have been discussed with housekeeping staff straightaway - we were horrified when we read your review. This is not our usual standard of cleaning and maintenance - many Tripadvisor reviews praise our rooms and the high level of cleaning we are so proud of; you can read these in many of the other reviews.
We are pleased to say that total refurbishment of this room has actually started the day after your stay and will be ready next month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the night of New Year's Eve 2012. We were there for just one night. Our room was very nice but a bit basic. The decor was a bit dark and the oak beams added to that (but that's just a personal preference of course). The room was very cold but they did provide a heater when we asked and it did warm up. The heating seemed a bit inadequate for the time of year without it. We had gone primarily for the NYE dinner which we could not fault. The food and the service were very good. The staff attentive and there was a DJ and dancing which was very good. I personally thought that the breakfast was a bit lacklustre at best. Lukewarm coffee provided in vaccuum flasks seemed to smack of not really making an effort to be honest (particulalry in a country that really values good coffee!). There were cold meats and cheese and lovely fresh baguettes with home made jame though which ws very good. It seemed a bit overpriced at 12.50 euros each though. The reception staff were very good and the welcome was great too. Overall a good little hotel but it lacked the little touches that could make it great.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda202016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for rating us a 'good French hotel'.
One of the advantages of our historic 'independant' hotel:
do not hesitate to ask to see rooms with different decors and colourschemes - all our rooms are different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagos
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We spent 2 nights here for a history extravaganza for my wifes birthday. We arrived at the hotel and had a choice of 2 rooms, we chose the more modern part. Room was spacious and ok, the food was delicious, would recommend the mussels. You are restricted as not too much to see or do in town but ideal for 1 or 2 night break

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zanzinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
I do apologise for the delay in my reply.
Thank you for the compliments. New activities / visits have been develloped in town since you stayed with us, as well as a beautiful town square with fountain, right opposite the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The excellent receptionist staff set the standard for our memorable 6 night stay. We were offered a choice of rooms in this little gem of a hotel. We chose a small suite in the ancient part of the building and had a wonderful view of the delightful courtyard and we'd certainly ask for this room again. The food in the restaurant was very good. The service was generally very good. We really enjoyed the "Diner gastronomique" on 29 September 2012; this special event was held in conjunction with a local vineyard and the superb menu, service and wines were truly exceptional. The location was ideal, as the hotel is situated in the centre of the village and is just yards from the Abbey entrance. The hotel provides an ideal base for exploring this lovely area of France.

Room Tip: We had a lovely, small suite overlooking the courtyard,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Gérant at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Thank you for your compliments upon check-out, your thank you email upon arriving home and now this nice review on Tripadvisor. We take great pride in making guests feel at home and are delighted that your weeks' stay lived up to your expectations, or even more !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
384 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Le Domaine de Mestre
#3 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
109 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Domaine de Roiffe
#1 of 1 in Roiffe
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
187 reviews
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Le Bussy
#2 of 2 in Montsoreau
105 reviews
8.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud

Property: Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Address: 7 Place des Plantagenets | Fontevraud l'Abbaye, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostellerie La Croix Blanche, a charming country house hotel with 23 comfortable, refurbished bed rooms, an outdoor pool, free wifi and car park. Informal atmosphere with excellent welcome and service. Multilingual reception staff. The historic hotel (a coaching inn dating back to 1696) with large flower filled terrace is located in the Loire Valley, France. In the charming UNESCO world heritage town of Fontevraud you'll find the famous abbey of Fontevraud with the effigies of Richard the Lionheart, Eleanor of Aquitaine and king Henry II. The hotel is close to many Loire Valley castles, wineries and interesting tourist sites. Cycle paths of La Loire a Velo and GR3 hiking trail start in the town. One restaurant with two terraces serving bistro cuisine at lunch time; gourmet menu in the evening and for Sunday lunch. Our chef will delight you with the best local produce and seasonal ingredients presented in colourful and stylish dishes. Large selection of Loire Valley wines. Bar-lounge with comfortable club chairs, terrace and fire place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing