We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have been lucky enough to travel from North to South in France for about 30 years, between 2 to 4 times each year, usually having one night’s stop each way, and trying all sorts of hotels. This year, because of an interest in the history, we changed our route slightly and aimed to stay in Fontevraud. Fortunately, we chose La Croix Blanche. This hotel is in an excellent position and we were delighted with the lovely interior and surroundings. There are all facilities anyone could need, including a pool, and everything is beautifully cared for. From the moment we arrived every member of staff was charming and helpful. And then there was the food. This was delightful; all courses were created from seasonal ingredients and were absolutely delicious; it was superb and the restaurant was an attractive and relaxing place to be. The experience at this hotel was one of the highlights of our trip and we will certainly make a point to use the “new” route south and La Croix Blanche in Fontevraud again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Powis53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Words are not enough to thank you for your comments on our hotel. The team as well as Christophe and Mieke look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

A lovely boutique hotel in a wonderful little town. A great spot for a couple of days stay. 2nd floor rooms were rather compact with nowhere to hang clothes, other than a hook on the wall and a very small bathroom. We were travelling with a group and the couples were placed in the smaller rooms, whereas the single travellers were accommodated in the much larger 1st floor rooms. The breakfast choice was rather limited compared to similar hotels we have used in the past.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pearceperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the town with renovated square. As you were travelling in a group we didn't know of individual room preferences. Indeed the double rooms on the second floor are smaller due to the slopey roof; however in the same category and price range we have twin rooms on the first floor. these rooms were set for twin occupancy but last minute cancellations turned some twin rooms into single-occupancy rooms on the first floor. We enjoyed having your motor bike group here - thank you for coming !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

As we were driving around France I chose this Hotel because it had private parking and had been given good reviews. What a fabulous surprise this little gem is. Firstly we were greeted by Marion, who spoke perfect English and was very professional yet very friendly, she even gave us a bottle of wine at the end of our 4 night visit.Firstly the room, it was huge, with a beautiful view out onto the village square, and to the left, of Fontevraud Abbey. The room was very quiet and spotlessly clean.Breakfast wasnt included in the price of the room but we ate the buffet there every morning for 12 euro each. Nice choice and fresh food. The Brassiere is very nice. I had the ballotine of chicken with jambon and sage in a tomato and red pepper sauce which was very nice, but the hightlight was the deboned, crispy pigs trotter that my husband had... divine!! Can't wait to come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room 23, it is at the front of the hotel but very quiet, has 2 large windows that open out o...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneyshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Many Australians, New Zealanders, Canadians and Americans enjoy our Classic rooms with many historic features. We were pleased that we were able to upgrade you to one of these rooms free of charge. Thank you for considering your stay in our hotel as one of your highlights! Marion sends her regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel a number of years ago and decided, as we were back in the area and celebrating our Wedding Anniversary, that we would have lunch in the hotel restaurant (Le Plantagenet). The service was first class and the food excellent. The chef's use of herbs was interesting which added very much to the enjoyment of the dishes. I would certainly recommend that you give this restaurant a try or, if you are looking for a less formal setting, try their Brasserie where the food is also enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ScottishTourist46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear mr and mrs G., we were delighted to welcome you back. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the area. You have been coming here well before WE bought the hotel. Looking forward to receiving the photos of the hotel in the 1990's!
See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Easy to find with good private parking. A warm courteous welcome [in english!] - quickly became part of the hotel family, receiving useful information about this historic Abbey 'village' and surroundings.

Perfect cuisine - wines pricey, but OK by the glass. - but good to sample before searching for them at source by the case to take home!

Wonderful good value continental breakfast in refreshing surroundings.

We had a delightful stay and will return.

Room Tip: We understand the rooms in the main hotel are traditional in decor. We chose a modern suite in the c...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevor g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Trevor G, Thank you for your five star review ! Yes you are right, we have rooms with a modern decor and 3 rooms with a traditional decor. As from this week 4 new rooms are on offer too: superior rooms with a special theme and a beautiful bath room. You can choose from a 'hunting' scene, a French style room, a 'United Kingdom' room, and a room inspired by the local abbey.
We are delighted to read that you bought some of the wines you tried in our restaurant - we are pleased that they lived up to your expectations. A bientôt !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We are two sisters who have traveled all over France for many years. Very often we stay in Logis de France hotels and La Croix Blanche is most certainly, one of the most pleasurable we have experienced. The staff is very professional and very accomodating.(and a real plus, most speak English). The hotel itself is lovely with tons of charm but also comfortable and VERY clean. It's was also nice to have their two restaurants available after a long day of driving around the Loire. Their breakfast coffee machine produced a weak brew and without hesitation, the breakfast server went down to the espresso machine in the bar and returned with "real" coffee, all done with a smile. We would highly recommend this logis and would stay there again if ever in the area!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear sisters (as we came to know you!),
What's better than guests who really feel 'at home' in a hotel ?!
Your compliments are much appreciated !
Thank you from all the staff at La Croix Blanche.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The hotel is beautifully located , right accross from L'Abbaye and is warm comfortable and very welcoming . The owners and all the staff were very helpful . The Breakfast room ( and the breakfasts ! ) were a delight. The room was good and comfortable . We ate ih the Plantagenate restaurant for 2 of our 3 nights stay and the food was excellent , imaginative and delicious .

Room Tip: Choose a room in the older part of the hotel .
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martini6175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Gérant at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review which we shared with the team. The chef is delighted that you appreciated his new menu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
0.2 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
415 reviews
1.5 mi away
Domaine de Roiffe
Domaine de Roiffe
#1 of 1 in Roiffe
220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Domaine de Mestre
Le Domaine de Mestre
#3 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
194 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bussy
Hotel Le Bussy
#2 of 2 in Montsoreau
107 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud

Address: 7 Place des Plantagenets | Fontevraud l'Abbaye, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Price Range: £59 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostellerie La Croix Blanche, a charming country house hotel with 23 comfortable, refurbished bed rooms, an outdoor pool, free wifi and car park. Informal atmosphere with excellent welcome and service. Multilingual reception staff. The historic hotel (a coaching inn dating back to 1696) with large flower filled terrace is located in the Loire Valley, France. In the charming UNESCO world heritage town of Fontevraud you'll find the famous abbey of Fontevraud with the effigies of Richard the Lionheart, Eleanor of Aquitaine and king Henry II. The hotel is close to many Loire Valley castles, wineries and interesting tourist sites. Cycle paths of La Loire a Velo and GR3 hiking trail start in the town. One restaurant with two terraces serving bistro cuisine at lunch time; gourmet menu in the evening and for Sunday lunch. Our chef will delight you with the best local produce and seasonal ingredients presented in colourful and stylish dishes. Large selection of Loire Valley wines. Bar-lounge with comfortable club chairs, terrace and fire place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing