We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Nearby Hotels
Fontevraud L'Hotel(Fontevraud-l'Abbaye)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Domaine de Mestre(Fontevraud-l'Abbaye)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Le Bussy(Montsoreau)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manoir de la Giraudiere(Beaumont-en-Veron)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Anne d'Anjou(Saumur)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
183
145
37
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
145
37
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloire valleyconvenient place to staywater supplyhotel courtyardmedieval villagedemi pensionstayed one nightexcellent hotelwi fiunique locationshort breakcycling holidaysuperior roompretty hoteltwo nightsswimming poolgood size
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013

After four visits, our opinion of La Croix Blanche has not changed-it is first class.The welcome
from Christophe and Mieke Chabanat and their staff was delightful and rewarding. The themed bedroom was a great surprise and the food and service excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. The hot weather made the poolside a perfect place to spend some time with easy access to the hotel and brasserie. We certainly intend to return.

Room Tip: Try one of the themed rooms.
Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear mr and mrs S., you have been coming to the hotel ever since we took over in 2005. Your loyalty in itself is a great compliment! You have been with us on several 'landmark' occasions, often by chance, but this makes your visits to the hotel extra special to us too - you have been able to see the progress and appreciate the changes we have made over time. Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your wife's 75th birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have been lucky enough to travel from North to South in France for about 30 years, between 2 to 4 times each year, usually having one night’s stop each way, and trying all sorts of hotels. This year, because of an interest in the history, we changed our route slightly and aimed to stay in Fontevraud. Fortunately, we chose La Croix Blanche. This hotel is in an excellent position and we were delighted with the lovely interior and surroundings. There are all facilities anyone could need, including a pool, and everything is beautifully cared for. From the moment we arrived every member of staff was charming and helpful. And then there was the food. This was delightful; all courses were created from seasonal ingredients and were absolutely delicious; it was superb and the restaurant was an attractive and relaxing place to be. The experience at this hotel was one of the highlights of our trip and we will certainly make a point to use the “new” route south and La Croix Blanche in Fontevraud again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Powis53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Words are not enough to thank you for your comments on our hotel. The team as well as Christophe and Mieke look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A lovely boutique hotel in a wonderful little town. A great spot for a couple of days stay. 2nd floor rooms were rather compact with nowhere to hang clothes, other than a hook on the wall and a very small bathroom. We were travelling with a group and the couples were placed in the smaller rooms, whereas the single travellers were accommodated in the much larger 1st floor rooms. The breakfast choice was rather limited compared to similar hotels we have used in the past.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pearceperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the town with renovated square. As you were travelling in a group we didn't know of individual room preferences. Indeed the double rooms on the second floor are smaller due to the slopey roof; however in the same category and price range we have twin rooms on the first floor. these rooms were set for twin occupancy but last minute cancellations turned some twin rooms into single-occupancy rooms on the first floor. We enjoyed having your motor bike group here - thank you for coming !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

As we were driving around France I chose this Hotel because it had private parking and had been given good reviews. What a fabulous surprise this little gem is. Firstly we were greeted by Marion, who spoke perfect English and was very professional yet very friendly, she even gave us a bottle of wine at the end of our 4 night visit.Firstly the room, it was huge, with a beautiful view out onto the village square, and to the left, of Fontevraud Abbey. The room was very quiet and spotlessly clean.Breakfast wasnt included in the price of the room but we ate the buffet there every morning for 12 euro each. Nice choice and fresh food. The Brassiere is very nice. I had the ballotine of chicken with jambon and sage in a tomato and red pepper sauce which was very nice, but the hightlight was the deboned, crispy pigs trotter that my husband had... divine!! Can't wait to come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room 23, it is at the front of the hotel but very quiet, has 2 large windows that open out onto the village square. It is also a very big room with a queen size bed, a fireplace, and lounge area and separate toilet and bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneyshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Many Australians, New Zealanders, Canadians and Americans enjoy our Classic rooms with many historic features. We were pleased that we were able to upgrade you to one of these rooms free of charge. Thank you for considering your stay in our hotel as one of your highlights! Marion sends her regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel a number of years ago and decided, as we were back in the area and celebrating our Wedding Anniversary, that we would have lunch in the hotel restaurant (Le Plantagenet). The service was first class and the food excellent. The chef's use of herbs was interesting which added very much to the enjoyment of the dishes. I would certainly recommend that you give this restaurant a try or, if you are looking for a less formal setting, try their Brasserie where the food is also enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ScottishTourist46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear mr and mrs G., we were delighted to welcome you back. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the area. You have been coming here well before WE bought the hotel. Looking forward to receiving the photos of the hotel in the 1990's!
See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews