We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Nearby Hotels
Fontevraud L'Hotel(Fontevraud-l'Abbaye)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Domaine de Mestre(Fontevraud-l'Abbaye)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
183
145
37
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
145
37
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloire valleyconvenient place to staywater supplyhotel courtyardmedieval villagedemi pensionstayed one nightexcellent hotelwi fiunique locationshort breakcycling holidaysuperior roompretty hoteltwo nightsswimming poolgood size
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It is one of life's joys to sit in a town square and enjoy a drink. That comes to life here. The food is excellent, the service cheerful and the owners very friendly. The rooms are adequate but not big, but that is not a problem. Plenty of parking. The Abbey is the main reason for coming and it is well worth the trip, one English King, Two queens all waiting for you and glorious buildings, the kitchens a work of genius.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0lidaymaker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you holidaymaker for your compliments, we do hope to see you again on a future trip to the Loire Valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you are going to eat at Le Plantagenet (excellent restaurant) and tour the Abbey (interesting) you might want to stay at Hostellerie La Croix Blanche. On its own, the location is remote and in need of a town! The room has a pretty window and pleasant view. The bed for two was two narrow beds pushed together - not my idea of a bed for a couple. There is no safe in the room and the room keys are kept in a basket on the counter at check-in. There isn't always someone at the desk. The location is sleepy and seems safe but when I am traveling I really like my property to be guarded for my peace of mind. We did not try the hotel breakfast because it was priced almost double what we found elsewhere. We were able to get croissants and coffee at the bakery just outside the hotel. Parking was easy to manage and free, much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and 80% satisfaction for the restaurant and hotel.

Twin room: all our rooms are different so it would have been easy to change rooms had only you indicated this at the beginning of your stay.

Security: in a private message we have explained our security measures - be assured your key, room and belongings are perfectly safe at all times. However we do not wish to publicly explain all the security measures in place, as you can appreciate...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel with some friends to celebrate a65 birthday,hotel really good,staff excellent and very helpful as we're the owners always wanted to know if everything was ok and did we enjoy our day.rooms well equipped but no coffee / tea facilities in the rooms. Breakfast good but coffee was very disappointing otherwise all good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolfPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear golfers, thank you for posting this review on our page. We were delighted to have you with us again!
Good news about the coffee machine at breakfast : the new machine has arrived.
Freshly ground coffee, expresso, cappucino and café au lait available at breakfast now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We just spent a really enjoyable 4 day stay at La Croix Blanche to celebrate the New Year. The dinner on New Years Eve was to 'die for' whilst not cheap ( on this evening you wouldn't expect it to be ) and the selection of local wines accompanying each course were superb

This is not a luxury hotel but our rooms were spacious warm and spotlessly clean. The staff and proprietors were very friendly and attentive.

The only downside was the weather was pretty poor, and on New Year's Day we had expected to do some 'chateau visiting ' but I suppose not surprisingly they were all closed for the day, which did leave us 'scratching our heads' what to do.

This is our 4th visit and we will certainly be returning, hopefully in the summer when all the flowers are in bloom

Michaeu

Room Tip: Some rooms have recently been upgraded - ask for one of these
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEPTotnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear mr and mrs P, we were delighted to have you back again! The New Year's Eve dinner dance is definitely a special event, the French celebrate it in a big way as you have come to understand! Therefore many tourist sites were closed during the day, sorry about that.
We look forward to welcoming you again and show you all the renovation we are making this month. Happy 2014! Christophe & Mieke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

When I imagined the visit to Fontevraud-l'Abbaye I hoped for a pleasant stay at a nice hotel. Well, THIS hotel far exceeded my hopes!!
Charming, with a kind and accommodating staff. Updated throughout and yet still exudes old world ambiance.

Super convenient with lovely meals literally steps from my room. 2 in house restaurants. Boulangerie on the block. And the Abbaye just across the plaza.

My room and bed were bright and fresh with crisp linens. Overlooking a beautifully floral courtyard. Easy to
transport the imagination back to the 12th Century. And in luxurious comfort.
Wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Try to overlook the courtyard.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisetteKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear guest LisetteK,
on behalf of the team I would like to thank you for your kind remarks which motivates us all !
We hope we can welcome youo back some time next year.
Fontevraud has turned into a pretty town with many facilities ! And more to come within the next few months!!
best regards, mc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews