We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Surpise!”

Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a Surpise!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Located on the old village square - the hotel looks out onto the gates of the Abbaye. However, to find the car park you now need to visit reception on foot and obtain a map and directions!. The old coaching hotel is built round its own private courtyard, full of flowers, and thus most of the rooms enjoy a quiet environment but do rather overlook each other. Our double aspect room, with own small balcony, was comfortable, thoughtfully furnished and with a good modern bathroom. The restaurant is highly recommended. and value for money, but you might need to book on arrival. Do allow an hour to explore the charming village on foot, and, of course, much more for the Abbaye. The latter, though extensive and interesting, was a little disappointing, due perhaps to its prolonged conversion from a high security prison to a display venue for modern alternative art. That said, the hotel is well placed as a touring base.

Room Tip: With no lift and narrow steep stairs, if you have much luggage you would be wise to ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We enjoyed reading your review, a very complete one ! The village and abbey are well worth exploring too. At reception we sell reduced rate entrance tickets for the abbey and several castles.
Thank you for taking the time to be so accurate about hotel, restaurant and surroundings, best regards, ccmc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    133
    34
    16
    10
See reviews for
45
213
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We could not fault this hotel: good food, lovely rooms, warm welcome, fabulous place and English spoken. There was a secure car park and beautiful walks - and just across the square the Abbey De Fontevraud where Eleanor of Aquitane is buried - all quite stunning. We will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you 'Saz' ! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Having arranged a very expensive trip to the Loire Valley we found ourselves in a pretentious little place, with very dodgy wiring, very loose loo seats, rubbish kitchen equipment and ...well, I could go on.
We went to Fontevraud a few days before our departure date. Being too early for a tour of the abbaye, we had a coffee outside at a small place directly opposite the abbaye. I looked over my shoulder, and there, through a passage way, was a small courtyard. As we waited for our coffee/beer/tea, I noticed a menu. So I went and had a look. Mmm. NIce. As I returned to our table, I turned into the courtyard and there it was! A hotel reception area being thoroughly cleaned. A list of room prices - not expensive. So I went back to our table, and hinted at the possibility of a night here away from the expensive horrors in which we were ensconced. We had lunch there after visiting the abbaye. It was excellent - and not expensive. So we duly booked rooms. After we left behind the 'cute', 'quaint' and 'quirky' horrors of our 'upmarket' holiday home, we went to La Croix Blanche. It was bliss! No dirty tissues in the bathroom waste basket. No dead leaves in the bedroom. And more, and more. It was all immaculate. The bathrooms were excellent. The welcome was excellent. The food, the service ...everything .. excellent. What a lovely way to redress the balance of eleven fairly awful nights in the Loire Valley. (The days were good because we were out and about in Sauternes, Chinon and ...)
I would recommend La Croix Blanche unreservedly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank penelope m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Great, what more can we say but a very sincere 'thank you' for your fantastic comments !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We called in here for a coffee with friends three years ago after visiting the Abbey at Fontevraud so knew the place a bit before we stayed there in June. It is a Logis. The bedroom was clean and bright and we had a lovely meal outside in the courtyard area in the evening sunshine. The staff were efficient and friendly and we enjoyed our stay. You must visit the Abbey if you visit this small village between Saumur and Chinon (both of which are worth a visit).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We are sorry to read that it took you 3 years to come back to Fontevraud (!!) but we are delighted to read that we lived up to the expectations. Your detailed review is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is welcoming and the rooms are clean and light. The swimming pool is a great place to relax at the end of a hot cycle. The only gripe we had is that the restaurant was extremely slow at serving our table (a little faster the second night after a quiet word with reception).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Great review thank you so much!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our second stay at the Croix Blanche. The first was two years ago when we stayed for several days, this time only the one night. It is a great place to stay - the rooms are clean and nicely decorated and all the staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel sits in the centre of this small but interesting town and is an ideal base to explore the area or, as it was for us this time, a stopover on the way further south. It is far nicer than being in many of the larger towns that are home for tourists along the Loire. After a good night's sleep we enjoyed an excellent breakfast. We would have happily stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for your excellent review.
We do hope that on your next stopover you'll be able to stay a bit longer - there is so much to see and do in town and around: arts and crafts, the abbey, wineries, beautiful villages, castles and the troglodyte cave dwellings. Or just relax around our pool with a good book or watch the world go by from our flowered terrace. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It is one of life's joys to sit in a town square and enjoy a drink. That comes to life here. The food is excellent, the service cheerful and the owners very friendly. The rooms are adequate but not big, but that is not a problem. Plenty of parking. The Abbey is the main reason for coming and it is well worth the trip, one English King, Two queens all waiting for you and glorious buildings, the kitchens a work of genius.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lidaymaker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49590, Propriétaire at Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you holidaymaker for your compliments, we do hope to see you again on a future trip to the Loire Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
0.2 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Domaine de Mestre
Le Domaine de Mestre
#3 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
109 reviews
1.5 mi away
Domaine de Roiffe
Domaine de Roiffe
#1 of 1 in Roiffe
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
187 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bussy
Hotel Le Bussy
#2 of 2 in Montsoreau
105 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud

Property: Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Address: 7 Place des Plantagenets | Fontevraud l'Abbaye, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostellerie La Croix Blanche, a charming country house hotel with 23 comfortable, refurbished bed rooms, an outdoor pool, free wifi and car park. Informal atmosphere with excellent welcome and service. Multilingual reception staff. The historic hotel (a coaching inn dating back to 1696) with large flower filled terrace is located in the Loire Valley, France. In the charming UNESCO world heritage town of Fontevraud you'll find the famous abbey of Fontevraud with the effigies of Richard the Lionheart, Eleanor of Aquitaine and king Henry II. The hotel is close to many Loire Valley castles, wineries and interesting tourist sites. Cycle paths of La Loire a Velo and GR3 hiking trail start in the town. One restaurant with two terraces serving bistro cuisine at lunch time; gourmet menu in the evening and for Sunday lunch. Our chef will delight you with the best local produce and seasonal ingredients presented in colourful and stylish dishes. Large selection of Loire Valley wines. Bar-lounge with comfortable club chairs, terrace and fire place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing