We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and convenient accommodation: love it”
Review of Manor Views

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manor Views
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
“quiet and convenient accommodation: love it”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A very comfortable stay and have been here for about 6 weeks now and what a fabulous place and the views are awesome. Thank you Joanne and Brent, always able to accommodate my needs and always looking out for me, very caring. My room is serviced daily and don't have to clean my dishes, there are spare blankets as I don't like using the electric blanket!!! I have a fabulous sleep, have a car park and only 10 minutes walk to work and sometimes it's not even worth starting the car! The property is nice and clean, I can make my own breakfast and dinner because the cupboard is stocked with cooking and eating utensils. Theres free national calls which is good to contact my family especially my mum and free use of Wifi too so I can contact my sons and friends too. My partner and boys can visit too and stay with no extra cost as well... I would recommend the Manor Views to others, a fantastic place to stay. Thank you Joanne and Brent and looking forward to the conservatory room in the coming month

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngatokoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaManorViews, Owner at Manor Views, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Many apologies for the lateness in this response! Many thanks for your kinds words. Glad you really enjoyed your stay with us so much and the neighbourhood so much, that you've moved in next door!! Happy New Year to you both in your new home! :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    33
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
54
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were literally stopping over in Huntly for one night and wanted a cheap room with a bed. We stayed in the "backpacker' room, which is basically a room with a tv a wardrobe and a double bed. Exactly what we needed for just $60. Toilet is down the hall and could be shared - but noone else was staying there when we were. Shower facilities were downstairs and also shared. Tea and Coffee facilities were also available. The hotel itself has much fancier rooms 4.5 stars at a reasonable price if you want something with a bit more luxury. Parking was easy and the owners friendly. It is best to book with the owners directly via phone or email as that way you know exactly what you're getting and the owners don't have to pay commission to websites. Thanks for an easy stay :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaManorViews, Owner at Manor Views, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The positives: met at the door by Joanna and had the history of the motel explained to us, also shown photos of our room before and after refurbishment. Free, conveniently close, parking. Beautiful grounds.

However, the negatives: I was still suffering from the rock hard bed 3 days later. The romantic, private, candlelit dinner was not exactly private, was over priced and over-salted, the candle was a nearly-dead tea candle in the bottom of a grubby glass thing. We were "encouraged" to pay up at the end of the meal rather than leave it for the morning. The room had dimmer-controlled lighting throughout but even at its brightest I had to hold things under a lamp to be able to read them. The two chandeliers each had a bulb missing. The bathroom had a heated towel rail (yay!! as it was the mddie of winter), just a pity it wasn't even wired in. The double shower had next to no pressure and ran scalding hot one minute and then freezing cold the next. We couldn't get out of it fast enough. One of the jets in the spa bath wasn't working so it was almost like sitting in a normal bath.

And to top it all off - we were in the middle of our breakfast at 9.00 the next morning when Joanna rang us to tell us just to pack up and vacate, not to go into the common lounge area (where I really wanted to take some more photos of the authentic old hospital fittings) because they had a big tour group coming in and they were fully booked for the day. I would have thought if checkout was 10.00 that we would be allowed access to the lounge area until that time? I went outside to take some photos after breakfast and during that time Brent stuck his head in the door of our room and told my husband the same thing... big tour group coming in, don't go through to the lounge, just vacate. Now we know why they wanted our meal payment the night before. Maybe they didn't mean it that way, but we felt like "we've got your money now you can leave, sooner the better coz we need your room for this important tour group". Sorry guys, you're nice enough, friendly enough, but that's the impression we were left with.

Needless to say we won't be returning. I note that most of your other reviews are good so maybe you were just having a bad day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AucklandMeringue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaManorViews, Owner at Manor Views, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
We are disappointed that you did not directly approach us with your concerns during your stay, despite our interactions on several occasions. Most of your complaints could've been fixed on the spot if we had of known at the time ie we had spare light bulbs, we have a soft topper that we can put on top of beds if they request, however it is surprising about the bed as it is an expensive chiropractic mattress with a pillow top. Our dilemma is everybody has different tastes in mattresses, and others have thought the same mattress was too soft, so it's difficult to please everybody (unfortunately for us).

As for the dinner, you knew the prices days before when we emailed you the menu for your selections, and you did choose the most expensive items from each category, including 3 entrees. So we are rather surprised at your comments - If price was an issue, there were lots of other cheaper options on the menu. We did 8 romantic candlelit dinners that night in various parts of the building so that each of the 8 couples overlooked the views. I don't know of any restaurant in NZ that would be able to provide that service for that amount of people in that way. This meant that we were walking up to 50m each way between the various dining areas that night, so that couples could have as much privacy as possible. This was instead of putting everybody in our big dining area, as you would get in a normal restaurant, and would have been more practical for us. This also meant we had to employ extra staff to help with the waitressing that night to cover the time taken to walk the distances to serve the meals and drinks etc. From your perspective you would've seen only one other couple sharing a large conservatory (being 7m long) with you, with a divider between you and romantic background music playing so that you had privacy from each other. Had you have said that you wanted to dine alone, we could have arranged for that quite easily. At no point during all of the service during that evening did you do anything but rave about how you were enjoying the meal etc, so we believed we were providing the fine service that we intended.

My apologies for not letting you know sooner I had meant to let you know when settling the bill at night because the large group that had stayed all weekend were having a meeting in the Guest Lounge, starting at 9.30am on the Sunday, and we were merely letting you know so that you wouldn't get embarrassed by walking in on them, and that you therefore wouldn't be able to get through to find us when you were ready to checkout. So apologies if we did not make that clear to you. There was never a rush for you to vacate because the cleaner couldn't get through the Guest Lounge either to your room until after lunch once the other group had vacated anyway, so you even could have had a late checkout if you'd wanted, had you have talked to us at the time.

As a result of all this however, when we're extremely busy, we'll need to take extra care that we are not misunderstood, and clarify that guests are happy before they leave, when we still have a chance to clarify things.

We hope that you will give us the benefit of the doubt, and come again. Just remind us to put a soft topper on your mattress :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed overnight at Manor Views and found the accommodation excellent for our purposes. We were a party of 7 adults and as all the double bedrooms had ensuites there was no lineup for the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and the property was nice and clean. We cooked breakfast the next morning and the large kitchen stocked with cooking utensils made it easy. We highly recommend this accommodation to others.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaManorViews, Owner at Manor Views, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We were met at the door and shown to our room. The room was basic but comfortable and clean. The staff gave us a tour of the building, which is an old maternity hospital. Very quiet location and owners really friendly. Accidently left something in the room and Joanna arranged to get it back to us within days. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaManorViews, Owner at Manor Views, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thanks very much, and we hope you choose to stay again next time you're passing through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed at Manor Views for a couple of times. Joanna & Brent are friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and with good views. The food is fantastic and the service is very good too. Definitely will go back and also recommend friends to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaManorViews, Owner at Manor Views, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words, and we look forward to being of service next time you come
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We did not know on booking at the last minute that this was an old hospital. The smell of hospital grade disinfectant was overpowering. Internet payments were extortionate so we went down the road to McDonald's for free Internet . Very DIY renovations. Our room had a view of some old ruins which were described as the gardeners old quarters . On reflection we should have slept in the car at auckland airport

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaManorViews, Owner at Manor Views, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Did they really stay here? We are sad on the rare occasion that people do not approach us directly about their concerns. The old maternity hospital closed down in 1996, so there has been no hospital grade disinfectant used since then, and the cleaning products we use have either lavendar or citrus smells, specifically chosen because they are not overpowering.Our building is not like a normal hospital, it was very community oriented and we get people through every week that turn up to just reminisce and remember their fond memories here, and book in family functions etc. For that reason we've kept a lot of the historic features that we point out as we give people free tours through. We have a large amount of regular tradespeople staying here for projects in the area, some of which request that room because it is nice and cosy. Every tradesperson we've had here have commented on the superb tradesmanship throughout the building. However they did book the cheapest room in the building, which is obviously not furnished to the same high quality as our luxury suites which have double spa baths and double showers. Our wifi internet is free for emails, and only $5 a day for downloading data and can be used anywhere on the property including the Gazebo or Conservatory overlooking the views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
2.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#1 of 3 in Huntly
95 reviews
24.3 mi away
Tuakau Hotel
Tuakau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
142 reviews
2.9 mi away
North End Motel
North End Motel
#2 of 3 in Huntly
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Essex Arms
Essex Arms
#2 of 2 in Huntly
19 reviews
18.1 mi away
Argent Motor Lodge
Argent Motor Lodge
#1 of 63 in Hamilton
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Views? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Views

Property: Manor Views
Address: 24 Upland Road | Waterview Heights, Huntly 3700, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Huntly
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manor Views 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor Views "a place to unwind" - we are delighted to be able to offer such a peaceful and relaxing environment for your business hideaway or private getaway. We are only 40mins from Manukau in Auckland and 20mins from The Base in Hamilton. We overlook 3 lakes and the river. Come and rejuvenate and relax in one of our suites which are complete with Double Spa Baths, Double Showers, Big screen TV's, DVD players as well as being self contained. Each of our self contained suites are 4 and a half star rated. Standard rooms also available. We are the gateway to Waikato, Coromandel, Rotorua, Taupo, and Waitomo. We have just applied for our Enviro Award - watch this space! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manor Views reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing