We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and great hospitality”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views and great hospitality”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Just south of Huntly to the east of State Highway 1 and high on a mountain top you will find Hillside Hotel. When seen from from State Highway 1 the hotel appears to be draped over the mountain top and the colour of the exterior walls and roofs make the building blend in with the surrounding vegetation. This hotel is perfect for weekend getaways, business meetings, small conferences, weddings and for travellers looking for looking for a hotel that is about an hour's drive from Auckland airport. The spacious guest rooms, restaurant, bar and conference room have incredible views and the owners and staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    28
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
60
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel is fantastic - the owners are lovely and will help you with anything you need - the rooms are large airy and have the most amazing views - no one is above or below you so no noisy neighbours! The restaurant has lovely food and the breakfasts are really tasty. There is a look out room at the very top of the hotel with 360 degree views. There are some great walks around the hotel (we couldn't do as it was pouring with rain and blowing a gale!) There is no real TV reception but this is going to be sorted but with thier extensive DVD collection and the beautiful scenery you don't need TV!

Room Tip: higher the room better the view but all have stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFloopy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Magnificent views of the mountains and waikato river. An ideal place if you going on business or holiday.rooms are very large all with views. The laundry is selfservice and free.the breakfasy omelettes are definately worth the wait. If you in Huntly its stopping or even staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabboozn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

we spent a saturday evening at the hillside hotel to recharge our energy after a few hectic weeks.
what a wonderfull place to do so.you can do as little or as much as you want to.the rooms are very large;clean and comforable.waking up in the morning and seeing the lovely scenery and birds just makes you feel at peace.the evening meal was lovely and the candelight was a delight.thanks to all your staff for top service and friendliness.we will be back.one of our best weekends away.

Room Tip: the higher up your room-the better the outlook!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldy538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Needed to escape the city so went on a few websites and found this Gem. Had an absolute fabulous night away with my husband and boys aged 12 and 14. Views were fantastic as were the staff. Had a lovely meal at the restaurant there and they happily catered for my sons.. We had the family room which was a great size...and well appointed. This is definately a place to go if you need some R and R as to be honest apart from the bush walk there is not alot to do.. but read a good book, play cards, watch a DVD (they have plenty to choose from) Sit on a deck with a nice wine and watch the awesome sunset...so next time you zoom through Huntly as most of us do take a trip off the beaten track for some breath taking views and great hosptiality.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

At the end of a two weeks road trip touring the North Island, devising our itinerary on the run, we were ambling towards Auckland Airport too early, with two nights to pass before our return flight home. Heading into unattractive Huntly township we saw a sign - from unreliable memory, it may have been handpainted - for Hillside Resort. It seemed such an amusing oxymoron that we turned right and crossed the railway track at the dustbomb of a quarry, following the signs for 2 km along an increasingly steep dirt road.

Just short of the very high hilltop we glimpsed the resort and came to a halt in pure astonishment. The place seemed to be growing out of the hill in perfect material and tonal camouflage.

In the reception area, Rosemary greeted us. She is the perfect maitresse d'hotel. In response to our waffly brief for something nice she led us to the Honeymoon Suite. Walking into the suite we were amazed by the chic design and, yes, luxury of the rooms. We were simply awestruck when Fiona opened the plantation blinds to reveal the panoramic views from the living room, bedroom and balcony and bathroom. "We'll take it", my partner and I spoke with one voice.

The ecologically sensitive resort's design is openly dedicated to Frank Lloyd Wright's organic architecture, in harmony with its natural environment. Hillside's masterful design incorporates absolute privacy such that we could enjoy every view from our suite without needing window covering for anything but the regulation of light.

Through the picture window abutting our spa we could see wild black goats playing in the field below. Luxuriating in the warm bubbles frothing around us and an excellent bottle of cold bubbly, we delighted in the serendipity that had drawn us to this earthly manifestation of paradise.

Then, we dined in the restaurant and knew we were in heaven itself.

We stayed at Hillside in February and it has taken me seven months to try and write an adequate description. My descriptive powers are still inadequate but I must give voice to the magic of this hillside haven.

The hotel/ resort is exceptional for its magnificent natural setting and its unique stance within that habitat. It seems to have arisen, complete, as a natural expression of its nurturing environment. The family that created this haven has maintained faithful stewardship of the lands entrusted to them by Maori royalty in a past century.

Our stay at Hillside was uniquely nourishing. We will return.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite was perfect for us. I'm sure every room offers the same feeling of immersio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xville
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This is a wee gem of a hotel, perched on top of the Huntly hills. Panaramoric views and a breath of fresh air. Plenty of space for farm walks and a hill country climb for the energetic.
I've stayed at the Hillside Resort twice now and really enjoyed the warm hospitality. The restaurant serves up delicious meals, especially the beef! Cooked to perfection. Downtown Huntly is not known for it's accommodation, but if you bypass this gem you will have missed a real piece of NZ.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiClassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
2.3 mi away
Manor Views
Manor Views
#3 of 3 in Huntly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
14.4 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
13.8 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
14.9 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
13.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: Hillside Station, Taupiri Ranges | access from State Hwy 1, Huntly, Huntly 3771, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Huntly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the city to fresh air and tranquility. Hillside Hotel is a country retreat and eco-lodge, a Qualmark four star boutique hotel with an enviro-gold rating. Nestled amongst native forest on top of the Taupiri Ranges, Hillside offers panoramic views of iconic New Zealand landscape scenery; Every room has a view.On the main tourist route south of Auckland; 1 hour drive from Auckland Airport and just 4km off the highway makes Hillside Hotel an ideal first stop or last stop in New Zealand; lovely stop point on the way to Hobbiton or Waitomo.Situated on Hillside Station -a large working farm with 300 acres of private native rain forest reserve with easy walking trails right from the hotel grounds. Beautiful photography opportunities from anywhere in the hotel.Free Wi-fi and parking; on-site licensed restaurant (reservations essential- may close early if no bookings) and cafes nearby. Rooms are very spacious and open direct to the outside. Rooms are connected by covered walkways and stairs sheltered by native bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing