We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand view away from the hustle and bustle of traffic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
303 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Grand view away from the hustle and bustle of traffic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were travelling to Waitomo the next day and wanted somewhere quiet and comfortable for the family outside of Hamilton. We arrived on a slightly overcast day and the clouds shrouded the hotel as we drove the winding road up.

We had a large family room - warm and comfortable - and the addition of a separate room with a bath tub was great for bathing our grand-daughter. The large family room was huge and had a lovely panoramic view out over the valley.

It was a very quiet time for the hotel when we stayed so I couldn't comment on times the hotel was booked for a conference or function.

The only thing that may be off-putting for those not as fit as us is the climb up the series of stairs - keeps one fit, but may be a challenge for some. We were on the main reception floor - level 2 - so two flights of stairs. However the hotel has solved this problem with a chair lift - which we were told by the lovely receptionist on the day of departure that we could have used it for out suitcases, but we managed without it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the main reception floor - level 2 I think. Whilst there is a chair lift we found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    28
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
60
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Now I am a little biased about this hotel because I didn't have to pay to stay there. Our son & his girlfriend shouted my husband and I a night's stay, with dinner, drinks and breakfast included. However, in saying that, this resort is so worth a review. The hosts are lovely! The rooms are divine, we had the MacIntosh Suite which included a spa bath and separate lounge. The restaurant meals are superb and the views out over Hamilton and surrounding areas is wonderful! If you want a night away from the hustle and bustle then this is the place to stay. You can do some forest walks or just sit on your balcony (weather permitting) and enjoy a glass of wine/bubbles or whatever you fancy. Do as little or as much as you want. The resort was fairly quiet guest wise so that was nice too but I can imagine it could be really busy if a function was being held there.

Room Tip: We were on Level 2 and the views were great...level's 3 or 4 would be great too I think. Maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fieryred33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had driven past the Hillside Hotel many times and often wondered what it was like. Finally in April 2013 we had the opportunity to stay for a night.
The drive up is exciting as you wind up a gravel road past farmland and into the bush. The setting is breathtaking, 200m up in the bush with spectacular views of the Waikato River and the highway far below.
The hotel is unique, it’s spit into many levels with covered walkways and is a bit like a DOC hut on the outside but like a comfortable apartment on the inside.
Our superior king room was large with a separate shower and bath and a very conformable bed and leather couch. The brand new TV was not yet connected to an aerial, but we were able to watch DVDs which were provided free.
The restaurant and bar occupy the top levels of the hotel and are magnificent. There is beautiful artwork, nice seating and we had a view south all the way to the lights of Hamilton. We had dinner, our meals were hearty and the service was excellent, great selection of beer and wine too.
I highly recommend for a quiet (and quite different) night away from Auckland or Hamilton.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martindbnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waiuku, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had a really wonderful stay in this hotel. Very impressive views and whole ensamble of the hotel. It felt like we were on the different planet or at least in a different country! Which is exactly what we were after - get away from the 'usual' views and forget that we were just mere hour by car from the city!!! Highly highly recommended for a 'having a pause and recharge' place. We went with our little daughter - had no problem. Breakfast was awesome - really yummy, fresh and 5start presentation. xx

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenAnna99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

There is no doubt as the hotel comes into view after you long drive up a winding dirt track that it is a remarkable accomplishment: to have the vision and then bring it to life in such a remote location is inspiring. As it happens, we were the only guests that night. That too is understandable. Whatever the esthetics of the location and structure, it is isolated and remote, more sited for a honeymoon then a center of tourism. The isolation leads one to rely on the hotel restauant and the morning and eveng chef (who takes your order) did a wonderful job: my morning "hearty" cbreaqfast was the the mmost woderful bearfast construction I had ever seen or tasted. (Although I was disappointed with the cut of lamb the prior night.)

The best t thing about this hotel would seem to be the view. No doubt it is was a huge panarama, with distant views of the lighted towns in the valley, but for me not esthetic or spiritual. It was nice to see once, but I don't feel a calling to return.

Room Tip: the higher you go the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29grapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

This spectacularly situated hotel is perfectly positioned between Auckland and Hamilton. We were visiting Waitomo Caves the day before we left New Zealand, flying out from Auckland airport. So we wanted somewhere between the two. Perfect. Less than 30 mins to Hamilton, only 90 mins south to the caves, around an hour north to the airport.
OK, it's not your regular hotel chain hotel. I guess you could say it's a little quirky but if you are the type of person that doesn't need everything to be like every other hotel in the world, then give this place a go. We loved spending a couple of nights and would definitely go back. Don't be put off by the reception which needs to be upgraded as it's a bit tired. The rooms are really good. And everybody that works there tries so hard to make your stay comfortable, the rooms are large and all have unbelievable views out over Waikato. The hotel is a little different in that it's built on a hilltop, hence the name. So the rooms are on different levels. Downside is that there is no lift. But there are chairlift things to each floor so if you have very heavy luggage you don't need to lug it. I would say if you have a problem with stairs that may be an issue. But for most people, and my partner has a bad knee, it really wasn't a a problem. The sunset from the observation deck above the bar was amazing. The bar is really stocked too and the food very good.

Room Tip: They all have wonderful views, but the higher floors have better views. But more stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarklavLaptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motueka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Unless you had looked on the web you wouldn't find the gem. Perched high on the hill it overlooks the valley and river, totally spectacular!
Rooms excellent, and compliments to the chef on producing a superb evening meal, shame we were the only ones in the dining room, other guests that night don't know what they had missed. Also a special note on the wine list, very good and sensibly priced. Would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
2.3 mi away
Manor Views
Manor Views
#2 of 3 in Huntly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
14.4 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
13.8 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
5.1 mi away
North End Motel
North End Motel
#3 of 3 in Huntly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
13.5 mi away
Atrium on Ulster
Atrium on Ulster
#3 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: Hillside Station, Taupiri Ranges | access from State Hwy 1, Huntly, Huntly 3771, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Huntly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the city to fresh air and tranquility. Hillside Hotel is a country retreat and eco-lodge, a Qualmark four star boutique hotel with an enviro-gold rating. Nestled amongst native forest on top of the Taupiri Ranges, Hillside offers panoramic views of iconic New Zealand landscape scenery; Every room has a view.On the main tourist route south of Auckland; 1 hour drive from Auckland Airport and just 4km off the highway makes Hillside Hotel an ideal first stop or last stop in New Zealand; lovely stop point on the way to Hobbiton or Waitomo.Situated on Hillside Station -a large working farm with 300 acres of private native rain forest reserve with easy walking trails right from the hotel grounds. Beautiful photography opportunities from anywhere in the hotel.Free Wi-fi and parking; on-site licensed restaurant (reservations essential- may close early if no bookings) and cafes nearby. Rooms are very spacious and open direct to the outside. Rooms are connected by covered walkways and stairs sheltered by native bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing