We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View was great, but not worth the stairs.”
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“View was great, but not worth the stairs.”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Overall it was ok. It’s WAY, WAY out of the way! The car was absolutely COVERED in dirt by the time we got there.

Pros – The view was nice. The room was very large and decorated well. They had free wi-fi.

Cons – Stairs, stairs and MORE STAIRS! OMG.. they never ended and there is no elevator! For that reason alone I would not stay here again. Hauling bags up all those stairs is just not worth it. Then you get everything up there, you are hot and sweaty and there is no A/C either! Or even screens on the windows.. so if you open the window the bugs come flocking in.
There was only one guy working in the entire place and there are no restaurants anywhere nearby… you basically have to eat there. We were the only people in the entire hotel so we called and ordered dinner ahead of time, went up 20 min later and it was still another 20 to 30 minutes before our food was done. The food was average at best. For breakfast they wanted $25(NZ) per person! We skipped that!
They did do a nice job decorating, and it is obvious they are trying.. but it’s just not that great. The carpet is not nice. There are obvious signs of wear and tear that could be touched up but are not. There were a lot of bugs (probably from the window being left open with no screens). There were 6 full sized towels but only 1 hand towel and 1 wash cloth provided. The sink is in the main room, the shower room and toilet was on the right of that, and then there was another room with just a tub on the other side.

I don’t think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbar434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    28
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
60
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bulls, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This place was so magical and peaceful. The view was amazing, the rooms very nice and clean. The conference room was very spacious and the staff were very accommodating. The meals that we had were amazing and every morning waking up to the atmosphere and smiles of the staff was amazing. Close enough to shops yet far away enough to feel like you were in a whole other planet.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cass327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manukau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My wife and I had been under a bit of stress at work and we decided we both needed time out to relax. I knew this hotel existed purely by seeing it perched high up on a hill while travelling state highway one many times and decided to visit their website and tripadvisor to check it out.

Tripadvisor reviewers had nothing but good things to say about the place so I made a booking. I booked one of their three 1 bedroom suites (Mackintosh Suite) which is on the lower level of three - two other suites exist and are at the same end of the complex on the next two levels above. Our suite did look over the carpark but the view beyond was beautiful and a 200 degree panorama. I think one car moved about in the carpark for a minute or so while we were there so no problem. This place is not open to the public for dining or the bar, hotel guests only so it is very peaceful! The higher suites look over the roof of the other suites beneath them but still see the same magnificent view of the countryside. The view to the right (east) is right out to Mount Te Aroha and the Kaimai Ranges - to the west is the undulating Waikato countryside and a partial view of one of the many lakes west of the main highway, several hundred vertical feet below the hotel.

The restaurant and conference centre are on the top of the hotel complex and the views from the restaurant are special. At night we saw the lights of Hamilton glowing clearly to the south. There is an observation room above the restaurant with binoculars provided and the view is even better!

The Mackintosh suite we stayed in was beautiful inside and very spacious. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Our "Romance" package included a bottle of bubbles (in the fridge on arrival), a three course dinner and breakfast the next morning. All this and the beautiful suite was $375 NZ and really worth it. We had some drinks in the delightful house bar before our dinner and there was a nice artificial fire going with native bush outside the windows.
The three course meal was one of the finest I have ever had - smoked eel risotto with loads of flavour for an entree, the best eye fillet main I can remember and we both had a feijoa tart tartin with a beautiful sticky sauce and homemade ice-cream for dessert. Nothing could be faulted.
The waitress was very pleasant and I met the chef earlier and he was a really good bloke.

The breakfast lived up to expectations as well. We were told that a blueberry crepe with fresh cream was good but we both had the delicious "hearty" cooked breaky instead. We saw someone else having the crepes as we left and it looked nothing short of magnificent!

The next morning I went for a walk which started from the access road (Rangi's Track) below the hotel. This is a 4wd farm road but it passes through really nice native bush and open areas giving pleasant views. I walked it in July and it was surprisingly good underfoot but obviously no problem away from winter months. I only walked the first 2km of it each way.

All in all, it was a memorable stay and we will be back, especially since this peaceful spot is only an hour's drive south of Auckland where we live.

Thanks Hillside Hotel for a memorable weekend away!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This place was great for someone who is wanting to get away from noise and a busy life. View is great once your at the top.
No TV reception so make sure if you have kids you grab some movies from the office on your way in.
Room was so big and very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10AKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were travelling to Waitomo the next day and wanted somewhere quiet and comfortable for the family outside of Hamilton. We arrived on a slightly overcast day and the clouds shrouded the hotel as we drove the winding road up.

We had a large family room - warm and comfortable - and the addition of a separate room with a bath tub was great for bathing our grand-daughter. The large family room was huge and had a lovely panoramic view out over the valley.

It was a very quiet time for the hotel when we stayed so I couldn't comment on times the hotel was booked for a conference or function.

The only thing that may be off-putting for those not as fit as us is the climb up the series of stairs - keeps one fit, but may be a challenge for some. We were on the main reception floor - level 2 - so two flights of stairs. However the hotel has solved this problem with a chair lift - which we were told by the lovely receptionist on the day of departure that we could have used it for out suitcases, but we managed without it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the main reception floor - level 2 I think. Whilst there is a chair lift we found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Now I am a little biased about this hotel because I didn't have to pay to stay there. Our son & his girlfriend shouted my husband and I a night's stay, with dinner, drinks and breakfast included. However, in saying that, this resort is so worth a review. The hosts are lovely! The rooms are divine, we had the MacIntosh Suite which included a spa bath and separate lounge. The restaurant meals are superb and the views out over Hamilton and surrounding areas is wonderful! If you want a night away from the hustle and bustle then this is the place to stay. You can do some forest walks or just sit on your balcony (weather permitting) and enjoy a glass of wine/bubbles or whatever you fancy. Do as little or as much as you want. The resort was fairly quiet guest wise so that was nice too but I can imagine it could be really busy if a function was being held there.

Room Tip: We were on Level 2 and the views were great...level's 3 or 4 would be great too I think. Maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fieryred33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had driven past the Hillside Hotel many times and often wondered what it was like. Finally in April 2013 we had the opportunity to stay for a night.
The drive up is exciting as you wind up a gravel road past farmland and into the bush. The setting is breathtaking, 200m up in the bush with spectacular views of the Waikato River and the highway far below.
The hotel is unique, it’s spit into many levels with covered walkways and is a bit like a DOC hut on the outside but like a comfortable apartment on the inside.
Our superior king room was large with a separate shower and bath and a very conformable bed and leather couch. The brand new TV was not yet connected to an aerial, but we were able to watch DVDs which were provided free.
The restaurant and bar occupy the top levels of the hotel and are magnificent. There is beautiful artwork, nice seating and we had a view south all the way to the lights of Hamilton. We had dinner, our meals were hearty and the service was excellent, great selection of beer and wine too.
I highly recommend for a quiet (and quite different) night away from Auckland or Hamilton.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martindbnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
2.3 mi away
Manor Views
Manor Views
#3 of 3 in Huntly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
14.4 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
13.8 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
14.9 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
13.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: Hillside Station, Taupiri Ranges | access from State Hwy 1, Huntly, Huntly 3771, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Huntly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the city to fresh air and tranquility. Hillside Hotel is a country retreat and eco-lodge, a Qualmark four star boutique hotel with an enviro-gold rating. Nestled amongst native forest on top of the Taupiri Ranges, Hillside offers panoramic views of iconic New Zealand landscape scenery; Every room has a view.On the main tourist route south of Auckland; 1 hour drive from Auckland Airport and just 4km off the highway makes Hillside Hotel an ideal first stop or last stop in New Zealand; lovely stop point on the way to Hobbiton or Waitomo.Situated on Hillside Station -a large working farm with 300 acres of private native rain forest reserve with easy walking trails right from the hotel grounds. Beautiful photography opportunities from anywhere in the hotel.Free Wi-fi and parking; on-site licensed restaurant (reservations essential- may close early if no bookings) and cafes nearby. Rooms are very spacious and open direct to the outside. Rooms are connected by covered walkways and stairs sheltered by native bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing