We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Field days” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Field days”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nice friendly staff and big room although a bit dated. Couldn't quite understand why they rang you to see if you wanted dinner in the restaurant other than the chef is not resident. Great views, a lot of stairs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    28
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
60
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Last weekend I was lucky enough to return to Hillside for a weekend escape. Greeted warmly by the hosts (who also own the Hotel) we were thrilled to have been upgraded to a suite. As well as being spacious and comfortable (and with a fabulous spa bath) this room also had the most amazing views across the Waikato basis.
We had taken the nature walk which was an easy 90 minutes return of track, also with amazing views of the lakes as a reward at the end. The sunset across the water, seen from the suites balcony just topped it off.
We ate in the restaurant, and once again the meals were outstanding. Local produce and a really interesting wine list added to the experience. I'm usually underwhelmed by ''hotel food'' and this is the exception. We all enjoyed wonderful entrees and main meals (and the chocolate marquise pudding was divine.)

If you're looking for something a bit different, an escape from the city but without compromising the comfort and style a city hotel offers, then I would highly recommend Hillside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The ride up to the hotel has you wondering if your headed in the right direction, but once you get up there, you won't wan to come down. The rooms are nice. Wifi is spotty. They do offer books and DVDs up at the front office. Upstaris is a wonderful lil pub, restaurant and loft to relax in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have just arrived, it is beautiful!
4kms up a treed mountain - The views are like being on top of the world, the room is very spacious with lovely decor, leather couches, & beautiful fresh rainwater to bathe in & drink after a hot day of travelling in the car. - This is an absolutely heavenly place, high up in the sky & surrounded by native bush - We have stayed at Hillside twice before this visit, there is a great bar/eatery upstairs, very comfy beds, great bush walks - Perfect for a quiet peaceful getaway -Would absolutely recommend!
Sandi & Scott

Room Tip: All rooms have a view, and are very peaceful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Co Minh City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We were all 4 stunned by the amazing views, the friendly and personable staff and the spaciousness and cleanliness of the room. This is an absolutely fabulous place to stay - I can't recommend this place highly enough!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sippiehiemstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
158 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just one hour south of Auckland, if you're a bit of a nature buff I'd much rather stay here than anywhere further north. The views are fantastic, though the website is rather misleading - it shows all the treed views but none of the other sightlines, but you can see for miles and it's lovely just to look down across the valleys.

Once you get away from the views the actual hotel itself was a lovely surprise. Quite often hotels in such prime positions will skimp on other parts, letting the location paper over the cracks, but the room was very nicely furnished, very comfortable and very very large. They charge for portacots, which is a bit unusual, but we factored that in and the rates were still cheap for such a location. The drive up to the hotel is a bit of a trek (long, steep, corrugated dirt road), so just be aware of that especially in a rental car.

If you're going to get in late (after 5pm or 6pm) make sure you let them know because it will let them smooth the checkin process. If you don't, you'll have to call someone and then they'll send down a guy from the restaurant to open up your room which can take a little while as they're also serving up there. We just noted the difference between us (who let them know) and a family that arrived at the same time (who didn't).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlanods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just spent one night at the Hillside Hotel after 10 years of procastinating about staying there. Do not know why we waited so long and will definitely be back within the next 10 years!! Driving up the road was exciting in itself, making your way up the stairs and into your room and there before you are the most exquisite views, the room was huge and the facilities more than adequate. We dined in the restaurant where we had a delicious meal, myself the Red onion and Kikorangi blue tart tatin and salad, and my husband devoured the Hillside Beef, accompanied by a great Gisborne Chardonnay. On completion of the meal we wandered up another set of stairs to the lookout room where we were bedazzled by the views and enjoyed our dessert and watched the sunset. If you are looking for 5 star posh with lots to do then this isn't it but if you are looking for a getaway with great food and views to die for this is your place. Definitely worth a look.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
2.3 mi away
Manor Views
Manor Views
#2 of 3 in Huntly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
14.4 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
5.1 mi away
North End Motel
North End Motel
#3 of 3 in Huntly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.6 mi away
Essex Arms
Essex Arms
#2 of 2 in Huntly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Property: Hillside Hotel
Address: Hillside Station, Taupiri Ranges | access from State Hwy 1, Huntly, Huntly 3771, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Huntly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the city to fresh air and tranquility. Hillside Hotel is a country retreat and eco-lodge, a Qualmark four star boutique hotel with an enviro-gold rating. Nestled amongst native forest on top of the Taupiri Ranges, Hillside offers panoramic views of iconic New Zealand landscape scenery; Every room has a view.On the main tourist route south of Auckland; 1 hour drive from Auckland Airport and just 4km off the highway makes Hillside Hotel an ideal first stop or last stop in New Zealand; lovely stop point on the way to Hobbiton or Waitomo.Situated on Hillside Station -a large working farm with 300 acres of private native rain forest reserve with easy walking trails right from the hotel grounds. Beautiful photography opportunities from anywhere in the hotel.Free Wi-fi and parking; on-site licensed restaurant (reservations essential- may close early if no bookings) and cafes nearby. Rooms are very spacious and open direct to the outside. Rooms are connected by covered walkways and stairs sheltered by native bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing