We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean and nice but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel des Dunes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Dunes
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in La-Baule-Escoublac
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location, clean and nice but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

A bit overpriced like everything in La Baule, but all in all a good hotel. Our family room was spacious and clean. I liked the small refrigerator in the room and the good wifi connection. The location is within easy walking distance from the train station, the center and most important of all: the beach. The hotel is decorated in pleasant warm colours. The breakfast buffet is good (I liked especially the fresh baguette bread).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiaLaenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    110
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
46
119
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Nice little hotel. Very nice staff. The rooms aren't too big but good enough for the price you pay. Hotel has a own parking ground. The parking ground is a little bit hard to find since it's in the back in a labyrinth of one direction streets.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sanjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

I spent the Christmas 2011 and New year at this hotel and liked it so much I was determined to return. I did so in January this year and spent four wonderful weeks relaxing and recuperating from a long illness. The hotel was in the process of being very beautifully refurbished and I shall return again to see the result at some point in the not too distant future.

My room was clean, the bed very comfortable and the excellent buffet breakfast served in a spotless dining room. The entire "Des Dunes Team" were all very polite, helpful and friendly AND they spoke English which was very useful when my French failed me. Cannot wait to go back yet again.

Room Tip: There is a lift to every floor, and the rooms at the back, away from the main road, were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

The hotel Des Dunes is ideally situated, being near the station, the market place, the principal shopping district and the beach.
My room was extremely clean, the bed very comfortable and the modern bathroom had been completely refurbished.
The excellent buffet breakfast was served in a very pleasant dining room, also completely refurbished.
The manager and his team were very friendly and helpful. They also spoke English, which was most welcome during my three week stay.
The hotel was recommended to me by a French friend and I have no hesitation whatsoever in passing on that recommendation.

L'hôtel des Dunes est idéalement situé, à côté de la gare, de la place du marché, en plein centre ville de La Baule et proche de la plage.
Ma chambre était impeccable, le lit très confortable et la salle de bain moderne a été completement refaite.
Un excellent petit déjeuner est servi dans une salle à manger très sympathique, et aussi completement refaite.
Le gérant et son equip étaient très accueillants et serviables ce qui rendu mon séjour de trois semaines encore plus agréable.
L'hôtel m'a été recommandé par un ami français et je n'hésiterai pas à le recommander à mon tour également.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are much quieter, but they do not get any sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Unfortunately there are only 2 good things i can say about this hotel...

1) The female receptionist is very helpful, very polite and very understanding.
2) The hotel has a good location in general.

However, myself and my husband booked this hotel for 1 week 29th July - 6th August, we eventually arrived at the hotel at 9.30 pm where the receptionist was waiting for us, she made us a cup of tea and gave us our key.

We took the lift to the top floor where we were met with complete darkness, we had to look to find a lightswitch, "photos to follow." The lighting was so poor it looked like something from a scary movie, the corridoor was long and we were at the end, the decor on the top floor was ridiculous, dull yellow and pasty wallpaper that was more like some kind of table cloth material. We booked a standard double room and saw some photos of the room which looked pleasant and what you would expect for a standard room, however it was disgusting, the wallpaper was coming away from the walls, the decor is appauling, the shower screen was see through and tiny, so when you wanted to dry, your companion can see everything, there were no curtains on the windows except some small voiles just covering the glass, it was a very stuffy hot room so the window had to be left open, it was very noisy till about 3am, if you wanted a lie in you had to pull the shutters down outside the window which you cannot access, if you do pull them down there is literally no air in the room, the bed was pushed up against the wall therfore only allowing one of us to get out of bed efficienty without crawling. I could not stay here, i was in tears considering this was our holiday, we informed the receptionist of our concerns and dis-satisfaction. We had to wait until 2pm for the hotel manager to get out of bed to deal with the issue, where he demanded 300euros for our overnight stay and compensation to him, we were disgusted with this but paid anyway as we needed to get away from the hotel, we subsequently re-booked with Le Concorde hotel which i have given a seperate review for, it was perfect!!!.

The room that was offered was in no way standard it was severly less than standard and a complaint will be made against the hotel and we will try to recieve our money back. The receptionist advised us the hotel was staying open whilst refurbishment was taking place, our room had not yet been refurbed but yet they are still charging full normal prices for the room, in my opinion it needs to close until the refurb has been finished, therefore reducing the amount of complaints recieved regarding this less than standard double room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jannine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed here for 1 night on our way through France. The room was only 55 euros for a night so we could not complain about the price.
The reception staff were polite and helpful and the hotel is situated in the middle of the town. The rooms were very small and very run down and old. The bed was tiny and the carpets were stained and old. I wouldn't personally stay here again but it was value for money. Breakfast was not included and they have got private car parking which is free.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rustonkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldd, Propriétaire at Hotel des Dunes, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Dear Sir,
We do thank you for your comment. You stayed in a standard room. All of them wil be renovated in december 2011. Classic room (extra charge of 10 euros) and superior room (+15euros) are already renovated. Our objective is to keep the hotel very clean and guarantee value for money. The breakfast is very imorpant for us and we ensure very good product on the buffet.
Being the new owner since december 2010, we do appreciate your comments and do my best to meet your expectations, cultivate a certain art of living “à la Bauloise”, and therefore welcoming you again at the Hotel Des Dunes!
Have a nice day,
Emmanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.E.Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Hotel is clean,friendly,and has a lift which was useful for my mother who is elderley.Rooms were spacious,however the plumbing does need an overhaul as slight odour in our room and other family room.
Breakfast was good and owners friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La-Baule-Escoublac hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure La Baule Majestic
Mercure La Baule Majestic
#3 of 24 in La-Baule-Escoublac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Garden And Spa La Baule
BEST WESTERN Hotel Garden And Sp...
#11 of 24 in La-Baule-Escoublac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe La Baule
Hotel Saint Christophe La Baule
#6 of 24 in La-Baule-Escoublac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lutetia
Hotel Lutetia
#8 of 24 in La-Baule-Escoublac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Brittany La Baule-Centre
Best Western Brittany La Baule-C...
#9 of 24 in La-Baule-Escoublac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Royal La Baule
Hotel Barriere Le Royal La Baule
#1 of 24 in La-Baule-Escoublac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Dunes

Property: Hotel des Dunes
Address: 277 av du Mal de Lattre de Tassigny, 44500 La-Baule-Escoublac, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > La-Baule-Escoublac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in La-Baule-Escoublac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Dunes 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of La Baule, close to the very popular market and just minutes from the train station, beach and restaurants, is a beautiful, turn-of-the-century Bauloise accommodation, Hotel Des Dunes. Its 32 rooms including two independent and spacious family rooms offer a warm and inviting break along the Atlantic. Whether the purpose of your stay is relaxation, tourism, sports or gastronomy, our attentive staff will guide you during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Dunes France/La-Baule-Escoublac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing