We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Stars for Ambiance and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Vieille Porte

La Vieille Porte
Ranked #2 of 312 Restaurants in Le Mans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Clinton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“5 Stars for Ambiance and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We went to this restaurant during the Drivers Parade during the 24 hours of Le Mans. The proprietor was present and greeted us herself. The food was very good. It was a blend of French country and haute Cuisine. I would recommend this restaurant. The value was VERY good for the quality of the food and service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rivers026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    153
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressed husband...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

He likes his canard and this was a good one. I had a salade au fromage and thought I'd died and gone to heaven on deep fried bits of goats cheese....Our 4 and 2 year old children were tired and a bit unruly but was all handled well. In a lovely part of the old town.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MummyOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth searching for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Wonderful small restaurant in the old town area. Old building on a cobbled street surrounded by more of the same - very picturesque. The restaurant has a number of rooms so although it can hold lots of diners it feels small and cosy. Food was excellent and all that I had hoped for from French cuisine. Menus in english and english speaking staff were available. Good value and great food and wine.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This restaurant is worth looking out for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

This restaurant was recommended by the receptionist of our hotel on the first night of 2 week tour of France. Tucked away on 12 Rue de Vielle Porte, Le Mans in the really pretty old part of the town. We made our way on a cool September evening quite late on and were concerned we may not get a seat. This lovely little restaurant with stone walls and wide timbers was full of locals, who kept on coming in quite late, looking for a table and eventually had to be turned away. Execellent local French food, cooked and served by diligent staff who made you feel welcome and coped well with my lmited French vocabulary. Very reasonably priced. Main food and veg served in little le creuset dishes. My wife and I spent the next 2 weeks eating in restaurants all over France and found the cosyness and qulaity hard to beat. Proper unprentious French cuisine and much sort out by the locals..

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Planner73_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vieille Porte also viewed

 

Been to La Vieille Porte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing