We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique Hotel in Art Deco Style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Charleston
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Le Mans
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel in Art Deco Style”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Visited Le Mans for a couple of days and found this hotel near the centre. It has a good location and within walking distance of the Old Town (Medieval) with it's historic church. The main square is good for shopping and restaurants/bars. Le Mans has an efficient tram service which takes you within a 15 min walk of the famous race track and museum which we visited. The hotel staff are very welcoming with good English. The small underground car park is charged at 7 Euro's but is not suitable for larger cars. WiFi was difficult to log onto but as we only stayed a couple of nights we didn't worry, I'm sure the staff would have helped out if needed. Excellent comprehensive Continental style breakfast with the ability to boil an egg if you wished.The hotel has a Citroen 2CV which can be rented for local tours, to give a real flavour of France.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwtmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    122
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
115
14
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Breaking a long journey south, I picked this hotel for location, good reviews, and the secure parking, as we had lots of stuff in the car. After a drive round Le Mans in the dark and the rain, we called the hotel for directions and were there in about 2 minutes. The receptionist was very helpful and we were soon in our room - no view, but I don't think anyone goes to Le Mans for the view. Good selection of channels on the TV, very clean room, comfy bed. We were sent off to an excellent restaurant (with a cracking house cocktail) about 5 minutes' walk away.
Good breakfast to send us on our way - interesting 'boil your own egg' machine is cool!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlette, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

stayed 2 nites in july 2013. lovely small hotel. what a fantastic surprise. well decorated spotlessly clean rooms, bed was very comfortable, our large room faced a courtyard at rear of hotel. courtyard has no view but tables/chairs/umberellas for a cool drink before dinner. we had a large vehicle but after the first assisted entry we had no problems to enter/exit or park vehicle. bonus to have under cover parking. walking distance to cathedral/city. staff were very helpful. good variety for breakfast. certainly exceeded our expectation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moores101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Le Charleston as a stopover between Normandy and the Loire Valley.
Driving into Le Mans was a bit of a letdown as it is a larger city, not very picturesque and I began to worry about the area. The hotel is on a street near the train station and across from a school. The parking garage cost about $8 and it was a very tight fit, even for our little Fiat rental. The stairs were a minor incovenience, a sort of double spiral staircase which was interesting to do with the luggage, but we managed. The room was clean, smallish, but perfectly adequate for one night. The bathroom was modern and clean, but my tall husband always has to perform some gymnastic feats in the small stall showers- fun for me to watch, but not so much fun for him. The young desk clerk gave us a dinner recommendation, which turned out to be fantastic- about a 15 minute walk.
All-in-all a good stopover and a good value- we did not spend the 11 Euro per person for lunch, but found a nearby patisserie to get coffee and fantastic pastries.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliFeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain M, Owner at Hotel Le Charleston, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hello,

I would like to thank you for your nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in ou hotel.
It is true that the garage entrance is quite tight. Most of the time we guide our clients to park their car and doing so, even big car go in. I apologize if we didnt't propose you to help you.
Best regards,

Sylvain MILLON
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hotel Le Charleston was clean, bright and very neat,we stayed one night 18th September, lady on reception was very helpful, rooms clean and neat, very good selection for breakfast, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife found this hotel for the 24hr motorcycle endurance race in September of this year (2013) as our usual hotel was unavailable, The two star hotel rating falls short in my opinion and the hotel is worthy of three stars for decor and cleanliness alone.
On arrival we found the hotel easily as it is clearly signposted from the Train Station. We were also aware of its location as it is not far from our usual accommodation. We had pre booked motorcycle parking in the underground car park, this is a must if you are travelling by car as there is limited on street parking.
The hotel reception and receptionist was pleasant and spoke good English. Check in was swift and efficient. Our room was positioned on the first floor and overlooked the street outside and worryingly an infants upstairs classroom, We were particularly conscious about closing the shutters to maintain our privacy.
Our room was a triple as this was all that was available for our stay. Thankfully our room was larger than a standard room as the double bed was not particularly large. My wife and I chose to utilize both beds for the best comfort. If we had to share the bed, it would have proved inadequate for a good nights sleep.
We experienced a lot of road/traffic noise around 5am and the occasion locals arguing outside on the street, this can not be attributed to the hotel but meant that it did disturb our rest.
The bathroom was very small and was difficult to move around, it was definitely 1 person at a time. My wife having long hair, found the in room hairdryer next to useless.
Breakfast was very good, with a small but comprehensive selection of continental cheese and meats along with boiled eggs, a bargain at something like 7 euros per person.
The outside seating area was very welcoming for our large party of 12, unfortunately, the hotel does not server drinks after 10pm which is very early for people on holiday. The hotel receptionist makes sure that the are is clear by 10pm to make sure that the courtyard facing rooms are not disturbed by revelers. I can only suggest that a facility for serving drinks inside would improve the overall experience.

All in all a good experience, we would probably stay at our first choice hotel next time, but would definitely return if there was no availability.

7 out of 10

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain M, Owner at Hotel Le Charleston, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hello M. JONES

I would like to thank you for your detailed review. You and your friends had a very time during the 24H Motorcycle.
I agree with you when you say that 10pm is quite early to close the bar. You understood that it was in order to avoid disturbance in the patio. Now we do serve drinks after 10pm but only inside.
If you come back next year, I will be glad to welcome you again. For your information, we do have double rooms larger that the one you had and with a queen size bed. Don't hesitate to ask.

Best regards,
Sylvain MILLON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stopped off at Le Mans en route to the Loire, and were very glad we did. The old town (which is about 20 minutes walk away from Le Charleston) is stunning.

Our room here was perfect for the three of us - me, my partner and our 12 year old son (who had a proper bed rather than the sofa bed you often get in triple rooms). Breakfast was good. There's a pretty little courtyard and the whole place is nicely decorated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BathOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Mans hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Le Mans Centre
Ibis Le Mans Centre
#2 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Le Mans Centre
Mercure Le Mans Centre
#3 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Concordia Hotel
Concordia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
#8 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Le Mans Centre
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Le Mans Est
Kyriad Le Mans Est
#4 of 41 in Le Mans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Charleston

Property: Hotel Le Charleston
Address: 18 rue Gastelier, 72000, Le Mans, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Le Mans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing