We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Charleston
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Le Mans
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We travelled from the Pyrenees to La Mans on our way to Calais. Booked this Hotel on the internet, read the reviews, and am pleased to say my fellow reviewers were spot on. This hotel was charming. The rooms were spotless, very modern, and supplied tea & coffee something which you rarely get in France. The staff were extremely helpful. We asked about eating out, and we were given a map plus a print out of the local restaurants situated in the old and new town. We were also informed about the tram that run along the top of the road this takes you there for a couple of euros. We had the continental breakfast, again very reasonable. All this plus secure car parking. Would highly recommend it to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking courtyard, as the front of the hotel is opposite a school, and they start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    120
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
45
114
14
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at the Charleston last saturday, very welcoming & helpful owner, covered underground secure parking. Very well appointed rooms, good breakfast area. No restaurant but plenty of choice within a ten minute stroll through the mainly pedestrianised streets, or you can use the frequent tram.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurencemitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My sister and I stayed here in May 2014. Friendly welcome, very nice room especially bathroom, nice touches like tea and coffee, terrasse, don't know why this hotel is only 2*. Two mins from station and supermarket but a fair walk or few tram stops from town centre.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lulabel177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Visited Le Mans for a couple of days and found this hotel near the centre. It has a good location and within walking distance of the Old Town (Medieval) with it's historic church. The main square is good for shopping and restaurants/bars. Le Mans has an efficient tram service which takes you within a 15 min walk of the famous race track and museum which we visited. The hotel staff are very welcoming with good English. The small underground car park is charged at 7 Euro's but is not suitable for larger cars. WiFi was difficult to log onto but as we only stayed a couple of nights we didn't worry, I'm sure the staff would have helped out if needed. Excellent comprehensive Continental style breakfast with the ability to boil an egg if you wished.The hotel has a Citroen 2CV which can be rented for local tours, to give a real flavour of France.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwtmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Breaking a long journey south, I picked this hotel for location, good reviews, and the secure parking, as we had lots of stuff in the car. After a drive round Le Mans in the dark and the rain, we called the hotel for directions and were there in about 2 minutes. The receptionist was very helpful and we were soon in our room - no view, but I don't think anyone goes to Le Mans for the view. Good selection of channels on the TV, very clean room, comfy bed. We were sent off to an excellent restaurant (with a cracking house cocktail) about 5 minutes' walk away.
Good breakfast to send us on our way - interesting 'boil your own egg' machine is cool!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlette, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

stayed 2 nites in july 2013. lovely small hotel. what a fantastic surprise. well decorated spotlessly clean rooms, bed was very comfortable, our large room faced a courtyard at rear of hotel. courtyard has no view but tables/chairs/umberellas for a cool drink before dinner. we had a large vehicle but after the first assisted entry we had no problems to enter/exit or park vehicle. bonus to have under cover parking. walking distance to cathedral/city. staff were very helpful. good variety for breakfast. certainly exceeded our expectation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moores101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Le Charleston as a stopover between Normandy and the Loire Valley.
Driving into Le Mans was a bit of a letdown as it is a larger city, not very picturesque and I began to worry about the area. The hotel is on a street near the train station and across from a school. The parking garage cost about $8 and it was a very tight fit, even for our little Fiat rental. The stairs were a minor incovenience, a sort of double spiral staircase which was interesting to do with the luggage, but we managed. The room was clean, smallish, but perfectly adequate for one night. The bathroom was modern and clean, but my tall husband always has to perform some gymnastic feats in the small stall showers- fun for me to watch, but not so much fun for him. The young desk clerk gave us a dinner recommendation, which turned out to be fantastic- about a 15 minute walk.
All-in-all a good stopover and a good value- we did not spend the 11 Euro per person for lunch, but found a nearby patisserie to get coffee and fantastic pastries.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliFeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain M, Owner at Hotel Le Charleston, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hello,

I would like to thank you for your nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in ou hotel.
It is true that the garage entrance is quite tight. Most of the time we guide our clients to park their car and doing so, even big car go in. I apologize if we didnt't propose you to help you.
Best regards,

Sylvain MILLON
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Mans hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Le Mans Centre
Ibis Le Mans Centre
#1 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Le Mans Centre
Mercure Le Mans Centre
#6 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Concordia Hotel
Concordia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
#7 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Le Mans Centre
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Le Mans Est
Kyriad Le Mans Est
#3 of 41 in Le Mans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Charleston

Property: Hotel Le Charleston
Address: 18 rue Gastelier, 72000, Le Mans, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Le Mans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing