We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A pristine barn conversion in a tranquil rural...”
other travellers have booked this property
sunny days to relax in the grounds and enjoy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
sunny days to relax in the grounds and enjoy
luxury bedroom four post bed and roll top bath garden and lake views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
sunny days to relax in the grounds and enjoy
luxury bedroom four post bed and roll top bath garden and lake views
one of the resident cars only 20 minutes from the famous track and Le Mans center
somewhere to relax and enjoy the tranquility
the lake from one of the luxury bedrooms
garden is full of wildlife and some unusual caricatures in the lake make occasional visits !!
cottage can sometimes be booked as a package with the gite
main house with separate wing for additional guests
heated pool for your use only,indoor games room with children's play area
the gite fully restored by local artisans to a very high standard
come and fish for specimen carp in our private lake or maybe take a swim
just for you
pool is heated from May to October and is for the use of our guests only
the main house with separate four poster bedroom
gardens to enjoy
10 sq M wet room suitable for handicapped wheelchair access
permanent residents !!
kitchen seats 12
plenty of room to entertain
a choice of beds
all Egyptian cotton and the towels too
some of the secluded garden leading to 27 acres of wonderful countryside
this can be a separate gite if required for two people or part of the 6 bedroom gite
second kitchen can be split into 2 person separate accomadation
another bedroom upstairs joining the lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Le Mans, Sarthe, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Selwonk13
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A pristine barn conversion in a tranquil rural setting”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

‘Les Haises’ has three good bedrooms, a nice bathroom and a spacious kitchen. There is a living room with a TV/ DVD player which is also very pleasant (if a little more formal than cosy). Everything is spotless and seems virtually brand new. Steve the (English) owner lives opposite in a 'picture postcard' cottage which has an annexe comprising a bedroom (massive four poster bed) and bathroom. Steve is a really friendly and interesting guy who goes out of his way to make his guests feel comfortable and at home. He was keen to be discrete and unobtrusive, but we persuaded him to share (quite) a few bottles of wine with us. He kindly let my wife and I use the annexe leaving the main gite to our eighteen year old daughter and her two friends to party the nights away.
We had unbelievable weather for the whole of our stay so the fantastic private swimming pool and the barbeque became the focal points of our lazy days. Steve had just recently purchased a full size table tennis table which we also made good use of. Right next to the accommodation is a pond, surrounded by trees and full of fish (that will take bread from your hand) where we would sit under the trees and read. Our dog loved the space and the shady spots around the pond. She wandered around independently, dipped in the pond to cool off (and chase ducks) and holidayed free of charge…. which is unusual in our experience.

The local village of Coulans-Sur-Gee is an easy bike ride or a 25 minute walk along quiet lanes. It has a boulangerie, butcher / shop, bar tabac, post office and lunchtime restaurant, but is a very sleepy spot. Le Mans (twinned with Bolton!?! ) is only a 15 minute drive away.
It's not the most exciting French city you'll ever visit but has all the amenities you'd expect of a provincial city and the bonus of a well preserved medieval quarter with a number of restaurants. The village of Loue (same distance in the opposite direction) is a pretty place and has a supermarket, bank, bars and restaurants (if not the wide choice offered by Le Mans). A twenty five minute drive north is Sille Plage, a pleasant, man-made beach on a large, warm lake with boats and bikes to hire and bars and eateries.
Les Haises is perfectly placed for visiting the Le Mans 24hr race if you book it early enough (probably years early) and is also on the northern edge of the Loire Valley…. but not in the midst of it so it’s a bit of a drive to the tourist honeypots. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, unless you particularly want to visit the premier league chateaux or you like crowds, and there are plenty of local tourist attractions we’d have sought out if the weather hadn’t been so hot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality of the accommodation, the setting and friendly,helpful owner
Liked least: We found nothing to complain about.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Deb,Den and Sophie and the girls !! and Lucky too.Thank you so much for your review.I am pleased that your stay was a pleasant one and you enjoyed the tranquility of Les Haies. My project this winter is to convert the remaining rooms into a large sitting room,additional bathroom and another double bedroom to be able to receive larger groups and make the stay even more comfortable for my guests, I have finally got the Wi Fi sorted in the cottage and even English TV !!
The addition of the Donkeys has made quite an impact especially for the family groups and i will continue to develop the House based on guest feedback. Your company as a family was very much appreciated and I have been very privileged to meet such genuine friends,the memories of your stay and "your hospitality" makes the hard work very much worthwhile ( and the wine was also very enjoyable )
Your review will help others to make decisions on Les Haies with your broad advice on the area and my home and i genuinely hope you will return at some point in the future to allow me to meet you again. Your family really did bring so much joy thank you Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the perfect place to enjoy la Sarthe”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

i'm french and a former "Sarthois", and we had a so pleasant stay at Steve's gite 4 month ago that this worth the effort to write in english to tell all the good we think of his place.

the property is really quiet and comfortable, and Steve is really the host guest that i have seen for a long time. if you are an car enthusiast keep a little time to talk with him, it's really interesting ;)

we really plan to come back during our next trip to see our friends sarthe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the place, the host !
Liked least: nothing i think
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Dear David i have just read your review and appreciate your kind words.Les Haies is so important to me for the guests to enjoy as "their home" and i am constantly touched with such positive guest comments,i am sure there are many things to improve but it is people like you and your family that bring such happiness to the cottage which i sincerely want to share for families to enjoy "merci" and look forward to greeting you again Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george n
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
“Tranquility Base”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the time you enter the pristine property your blood pressure immediately drops and you realize that you have reached paradise in the French countryside. Our host Steve,who is a fantastic British gentleman in every respect, was there to not only show our group every aspect of his small estate but opened his home to our every need. We were there for the 24 hour endurance race and found every need met beyond expectations. Ironically we discovered that we were torn between attending the race and trying to spend more time at les haies. Without reserve I as well our group have no hesitation on returning if not making any excuse to return to our new european home and it we own it all to it's owner and host Steve. As 5000 miles seperate us from our new friend my only regret is that we do not live closer to "Tranquility Base" as so many others do. A beautiful facet of life was experienced by our visit as I'm sure all who cross the threshold at les haies. We are grateful to have experienced such hospitality and to make everlasting fond memories that will endure. A journey well worth the effort.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owner/host & physical property itself
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2015
Dear guests thank you so much for reviewing Les Haies. I am delighted that you enjoyed the property so much and your trip from America to France for the 24 hour race was so memorable.I hope that a return journey will be possible next year as i also enjoyed your company and the experience of your trip.Your kind words are very much appreciated as is your friendship.Please do keep in touch with my very kind regards Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishGu...
Paris
2 reviews
“A beautiful and charming place to stay, a haven of tranquility just a short journey from Le Mans.”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed here overnight in June 2015, during the run-up to the 24 Hours of Le Mans with a friend.
We actually met Steve at a car event in Le Mans and were touched and delighted by his hospitality, charming personality, and generosity.
We were invited back to his beautiful gite and were immediately made to feel welcome and at home. The property is absolutely stunning and is literally picture-perfect. Charming, olde-world and packed with history, Steve really has made a haven of tranquility to stay in.
Nothing is too much effort or trouble and waking up to coffee and a superb breakfast after a lovely night's sleep was the icing on the cake.
A holiday rental like this is only as good as the owner, and this is where Steve succeeds. You'll be guaranteed a pleasant stay with a hospitable, charming and welcoming host.
We look forward to next year already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property, packed full of history, with charming surroundings including a pleasant lake, welcomed by a lovely owner.
Liked least: Genuinely no downsides to think of! You'd need to come by car as it's probably not walkable from the circuit but definitely worth the short car journey.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Dear both thank you for reviewing Les Haies and your very kind words.I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and look forward to greeting you again next year.We do try very hard to exceed customer expectations by adding those little touches but the setting and tranquility really helps achieve this on its own.... we are merely custodians the guests bring our home alive,with my kindest regards Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and grounds
Liked least: having to leave.......
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 May 2015
Dear guest thank you for reviewing Les Haies near LeMans.I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and also appreciate your booking for next year.We do work very hard to enhance our customer satisfaction and the comments you have made reflect this.We always appreciate your views ,even the negative ones can be turned in to positives as we are aware that each valued guest has differing needs and requirements.We look forward to welcoming you back here next year and assure you of our continued commitment to exceed your expectations. with kind regards Steve Dummett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
boucaultm...
Le Mans, France
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camille F
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing