We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, OK hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Angers Centre Gare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Angers Centre Gare
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Angers
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, OK hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a fairly standard hotel - reasonably new and clean and nice, without being great. The big benefit is the central location in beautiful Angers. The reception staff seemed somewhat blasé compared to what we saw elsewhere in France, but friendly and helpful enough. Nice place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 751Jasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    259
    77
    16
    5
See reviews for
68
152
53
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great hotel and so well located.
The superior rooms are a little bigger which we prefer.
Hotel staff and so friendly and the restaurant at the front of the hotel is excellent.
Parking is available under the hotel at no extra charge.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms have a bit more space to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresab7529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My partner and I stayed in Mercure Angers Centre Foch for 4 nights when I attended a conference in Angers in early July. The hotel location was good, right in the centre, and easy to walk to most places. The nearest parking costed 14.50 euro a day. The car park was about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. It was not too far to walk to, but far enough to be annoying when you got lots of luggages.
During the first two days of our stay, we noticed that we both got bitten a lot. Since the bites were everywhere (on the legs, arms, back, neck...), we believed that we must have been bitten at night in the hotel. On our third night of stay, after some online research, we followed the instruction and unfortunately found a bed bug in our bed. The receptionist seemed genuinely shocked when we reported this, and she immediately arranged another room for us. We were ungraded to a better room (from no coffee machine and no fridge to a coffee machine and a fridge, and from 2 paper cups only to 2 ceramic cups plus 2 paper cups...hooray!). In the following morning, the manager came to our old room (room 118, in case you want to know) with a claimed expert (we insisted that they needed to call a pest control company to check the room, but we were not convinced that the person was actually from a pest control company). Unfortunately, we found a habitat of bed bugs in the bed base. The hotel then offered to wash all of our clothes in order to remove the bed bugs and eggs, since our luggages had been in the room for over 72 hours at that point. Once we gave them our clothes, we headed out to do whatever we had to do on that day. When we came back to the hotel in the late evening (this was our last night of stay, Saturday night), our clothes were nowhere to be seen. We had to ring the reception, but were initially told that our laundry would be ready by Monday morning. It was quite shocking, as we were scheduled to leave the hotel on Sunday. After explaining that to the reception, they then promised to deliver our clothes to our room on Sunday morning. The laundry did arrive the next morning, but it was still a little damp (maybe because they had to rush it).
Following the online instruction about bed bugs, we emptied our suitcases and bags to shake them in the bathroom in order to check if any bed bug went into our luggages. Annoyingly, we found 2 more bed bugs from our bags. There might or might not be more bed bugs in our bags, but we did not want to risk it. Determined not to bring any bed bug home, we told the hotel that we could not possibly keep using our bags. The hotel could not get us some replacement suitcases and bags, as it was a Sunday when no shop was open. The hotel promised to reimburse the cost of the replacement bags. Despite feeling extremely annoyed and stressed, we had to continue our trip with our belongings in about 15 sealed plastic bags. (I felt like a homeless person when I carried the plastic bags to the car!)
When we got home, we washed all our clothes again in 60 degrees and cleaned things that cannot go into the washing machine with steam. Apart from that, we had to use a insect fumer in the car, which made the car sting for a couple of days.What a nightmare.
Overall, it was a terrible experience due to the bed bugs. We did not feel that the hotel manager believed us when we reported the bed bugs in our room in the first place. When we emailed the hotel regarding how they can sort out the cost of getting the replacement bags, there was no reply. After 4 days of no response, we rang the hotel, but the reception did not seem to understand what we were talking about and just promised to get the manager to call us back. Shockingly, there was no phone call from them.
The existence of bed bugs does not refer to poor cleaning. Any hotel guest can bring bed bugs in, and the bed bugs can hide in the bed base or other places. However, we are very disappointed about how the hotel deals with situation. During the stressful stay, we were pretty much on our won. We never received a formal apology or assistance (apart from the the laundry that returned damp). Hence, we do not feel that they really care about their customers. We would not stay there ever again, and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ycpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida Keys
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

And that warmth and helpfulness continued the entire stay. Location is superb! Right on the tram line, Great restaurant attached, shopping and sightseeing within 2 blocks !! Underground car park nearby. Clean, equipped, could not have asked for anything more for this European 4 star hotel. Again, lovely ladies that staffed the front desk were the best ANYWHERE !! Merci

Room Tip: Spend a few days, there is much to see and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elynngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We had a very pleasant overnight stay in this hotel in two interconnecting rooms making up a family suite, for a good price. All very clean and comfortable and the reception staff were charming and thoughtful.

It is made very clear from the website that the hotel has no car park, but that public car parks are available nearby. I must admit that I had assumed that there would be some sort of pull in for the car in front of the hotel so we could stop momentarily, go in, drop our bags and get directions to the parking. There was not, and the location on a busy dual lane main street - with trams running down the centre too - meant that even the quickest dash to the front desk would not be quick enough. (From the look of it, this hotel is a converted office building, hence this lack of a standard hotel facility) We did find an underground car park about 500m away, so all was eventually well but it made for a bit of a high stress arrival.

We were on our way south for a family holiday and our car was loaded up with baggage, which we didn't want to leave on show over night, so this meant hauling rather more than an overnight bag from the car park to the hotel.

That said, this is not hidden on the website so I just reiterate the point here. Otherwise, this is a perfectly good place to stay for a visit to Angers and very handy for the pedestrianized streets of the central city, but if you are wanting to have your car close by then consider a more out of town hotel.

Without a car, I would be more than happy to return

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank protowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Count me a fan of Mercure hotels. They may not have tons of personality, but often, they're centrally located (as this one is), well-staffed, and incredibly reliable. The room for two was very spacious, for France (rooms for one are smaller). This is the second time I've stayed here and I think it's just great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank FRANCOPHILEFROMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angers hotels
Ralliement
Mercure Angers Centre
Mercure Angers Centre
#5 of 33 in Angers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Hotel 21 Foch
#1 of 33 in Angers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ralliement
Hotel du Mail
Hotel du Mail
#8 of 33 in Angers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Angers Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Angers Centre Gare

Property: Mercure Angers Centre Gare
Address: 18 boulevard du Marechal Foch, 49100, Angers, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Angers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Angers Centre Gare 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set 10 minutes’ walk from the city centre and 5 minutes’ walk from the train station, the All Seasons Angers Centre Gare has it all, and offers all-inclusive rates.The modern and cosy rooms can accommodate solo travellers, romantic getaways and families. They are fitted with excellent bedding with anti-stress pillows and duvets, and 26-inch flat-screen TV. high-speed free Wi-Fi access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Angers Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing