We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable and Enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Brasserie de la Gare - CLOSED

La Brasserie de la Gare
Price range: US$14 - US$25
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Gare
Red Cliffs, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reliable and Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is one of Anger's old favorites, and rightly so.

A good range, with oysters a speciality.

The service is good, the prices acceptable, with a good selection of local wines.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael3496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngersZen, Propriétaire at La Brasserie de la Gare, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
thank you very much, and we will be very happy to welcome you again
Raphael Courant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    140
    28
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Absolute perfect place to go for a meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Staff are beyond friendly and don't make you feel out of place to ask for help. But they beat you to the opportunity to ask, by giving you suggestions in a friendly manner.
When I asked about mussels in white wine sauce, which wasn't on the menu, I was answered with it being served to me in under 10mins.
Home made desserts, which just tempt you from the display and taste as good as they look.
Unbelievable value for money.
I even left a tip, as I was so impressed by the food & service. Which is unheard of for me. Ask my wife, she'll agree....

We've already booked for lunch before we leave for our return ferry...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Steak was a bit...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Liked :Tasted good , Fast service
Disliked t there where far to much rubbery (fat ) on my steak ... which i hate anyway but had the same problem on 2 different occasions 4 hours apart so must be a french thing

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great French Brasserie & Oyster bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is our favourite restaurant in Angers. Visited this restaurant many times. The staff are very professional making it a great dining experience in lovely surroundings. Oysters are to die for. Wonderful steaks great choice even a set menu, never had a bad meal. Even better when the weather is nice and you dine outside. Have visited on business and with my partner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmigcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A very good dining out option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

A very nice, cozy restaurant offering nice meals and friendly and efficient serrvice. A typical French brasserie loyal to the tradition. Go for the set menu (formule / menu de jour) and prefer the house wine. Friendly and efficient staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngersZen, Propriétaire at La Brasserie de la Gare, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Sir,
Thank you very much for your help,
and we will be very happy to welcome you again at "la brasserie de la gare"
with my best regards
Raphael Courant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Brasserie de la Gare also viewed

Angers, Maine et Loire
 
Angers, Maine et Loire
Angers, Maine et Loire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing