We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, smart hotel in great City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Angers Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Angers Centre
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Angers
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Central, smart hotel in great City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Having stayed in Mercure hotels previously we know what to expect and this hotel is typical Mercure. Our standard room was very stylish and large with a view towards the city and a gpod shower room. The centre of Angers which is a great city is a 10 minute walk away. We disn't eat in the hotel restaurant or had breakfast as we think 17 euros is too much for breakfast. But other wise this hotel is well priced, well placed and good vfm. As an aside if you want to eat great pizza in Angers go to Pizza Napoli, the pizzas are delicious and the wine is well priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JobellsYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    227
    59
    16
    6
See reviews for
68
168
31
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Hotel is well located town centre within 10 mins walk - breakfast was good and plentiful car park was expensive at Euro 9.50 per night enjoyable stay staff were helpful and generally friendly. Room was good size and cleaned well everyday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

The Mercure Angers Centre, next door to the Angers Congres (convention center) and the lovely Jardin des Plantes, is well located, depending on your travel plans. The location was perfect for us as we visited Angers to attend a wedding at the Mairie (City Hall) just down the Avenue Foch. Other pluses: a very good breakfast buffet and, if you have time, a delightful walk in the gardens. It is probably worth paying extra (as we did) for a "privilege" room, slightly larger, and with a view of the gardens. For us overall, however, the hotel was a disappointment. We are very WI-FI oriented, on-line much of the time. The hotel's WI-FI did not work at all and staff (we sought help from reception and also the bar) was unable to help. We ended up paying $ 75 in charges to Boingo for our 3 days at the Mercure. Perhaps European guests who are Orange users would not have this problem. Also, one would expect a hotel in this price range to have an iron and ironing board in each room. Not here. We needed to iron a shirt for the wedding. Reception apologetically (and quite humorously) explained that the Mercure Centre had one ironing board but no iron at all ("someone took it."). My husband had to buy a shirt -- actually 3 of them before finding one that fit -- at the outdoor market on the Avenue Foch on Saturday morning. A humorous adventure but one we could easily have done without.

Room Tip: Consider paying extra for a "privilege" room for a little more space and view of the Jardi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oxnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Hotel was a normal Mercure set up for the Business traveller, so food and drink quite pricey. Rooms were fine as were other facilities. Restaurant had wonderful views (look for naked lady) but the dinner menu was limited. Angers like most of Northern France seems to be closed in first 2 weeks August so choice of restaurants very limited. Ask on recption for good choices. All staff spoke good English. Air con & WiFi good. Love the newspaper synopsis every morning. Keys and lifts always worked c.f. Mercure Bordeaux

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Our room (standard) was very nice. The bathroom was beautiful, recently renovated, great lighting and a shower just as I would love to install in my home.
View to the square interesting and soundproofed!!
Staff friendly and helpful.
Breakfast impressive and varied. Good quality choices.
The garden park next door is well worth a stroll. Somebody loves to make bouquet of flowers in planting.
Nice to have parking away from the streets, but be careful when you slalom between the concrete pillars.
Angers is a beautiful town and we are VERY picky with our hotels

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angers hotels
Hotel 21 Foch
#1 of 33 in Angers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ralliement
Hotel du Mail
Hotel du Mail
#8 of 33 in Angers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Angers Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Angers Centre

Property: Mercure Angers Centre
Address: 1 Place Pierre Mendes France, 49100, Angers, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers > Ralliement
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Angers
#4 Family Hotel in Angers
#4 Luxury Hotel in Angers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Angers Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built above the Convention Centre, the hotel boasts the lush green surrounds of the Jardin des Plantes, right in the centre of Angers. Along with an easy going atmosphere, the Mercure Angers Centre 3 star hotel features a restaurant overlooking the Jardin des Plantes, a bar and meeting facilities able to host up to 60 people. Four tourist excursions are also on offer, Les Bonnes Escapades. Facilities for guests with limited mobility and parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Angers Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Angers Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing